Showing posts with label Guest Appearances. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Guest Appearances. Show all posts

Thursday, February 3, 2022

Iona’s Dave Bainbridge Releases 4th Solo Album “To The Far Away”

Despite all the traumas and uncertainties of 2020, it turned out to be a very busy year for Dave Bainbridge. As well as producing the epic 17 CD “Book of Iona” box set celebrating the 30th Anniversary of Iona, Dave contributed in various degrees to new albums by Kimmo Porsti, Cronofonia, Downes Braide Association, Lifesigns, Nick Fletcher, Glass Hammer, Celtish and Strawbs. However, in between all this activity Dave was also taking time out to put together the concept and music for his 4th solo album, “To The Far Away.”

Iona fans might recognize the title as a quote from the lyrics of the song “Edge of the World” from “Beyond These Shores” and there are definitely parallels in the themes of the two albums. “Shores” recounts the ancient story of St Brendan’s epic voyage across the Atlantic ocean, whilst “To The Far Away” tells a more contemporary story of lovers on opposite sides of the Atlantic ocean, separated for many months by the global pandemic. Both albums, however, end on a note of optimism. Brendan finally returns safely home, whilst our contemporary lovers are finally reunited after an epic trip across the same ocean.

The album’s 71 plus minutes of music draws upon the Celtic, progressive, rock and classical influences that have permeated Dave’s music since he started composing at the age of eleven and which he honed during his years with Iona and through his previous solo and many collaborative releases. Featuring his usual array of keyboards, guitars and assorted acoustic instruments, Dave also assembled a fantastic group of supporting musicians to bring the project to life:
Sally Minnear (Lord of the Dance / Celestial Fire) - Vocals  
Iain Hornal (Jeff Lynn’s ELO, 10CC, Three Friends, solo artist) - Vocals
Troy Donockley (Iona / Nightwish / The Enid / Maddy Prior) - Uilleann Pipes, Whistles, Voices Jon Poole (Cardiacs / Lifesigns) - Bass Guitars
Frank van Essen (Iona / Martin Garrix) - Drums, Violins & Violas
Jonas Pap (Epica, Cronofonia) - Cello
Nigel Cameron (Celtish) - Whistles
Julie Cameron-Hall (Celtish) - Violin
Martin Nolan (Iona) - Whistles  

Dave collaborated with acclaimed Canadian/Irish poet Lynn Caldwell on the album’s lyrics. “I’d read some of Lynn’s work and immediately felt that she would be the person to help me organize and bring an emotional focus to my thematic and lyrical ideas for the project. It was a hunch that paid off and I’m absolutely thrilled with what she came up with. Lynn, her husband Martin Nolan and friend Una Ní Cheallaigh were also able to put together the haunting Irish Gaelic lyrics, sung by Sally, which I’d wanted to include on several tracks.”  

Dave continues: “As with many artists and composers I know, 2020 was a bittersweet year. The complete shutdown of venues left us without places to play and income, but also paradoxically gave us the time and space to write, record and bring to fruition projects we may not have otherwise got around to finishing. For me it was especially bittersweet as I was due to be married at the end of March 2020 to Sharon, my fiance from Baltimore, on Cruise to the Edge, with my friends Neal Morse officiating and John Young (Asia/ Scorpions/Lifesigns) as best man. Not only was that plan put on hold, the abrupt shutdown of flights into the USA meant that Sharon and I were torn apart for 8 1/2 months. The thematic ideas behind ‘To The Far Away’ encompass thoughts, feelings and ideas I experienced, largely when I was doing my daily runs and walks on the rural country lane on which I spent so much time between March and October 2020.”

“As the music for this album evolved, I realized that the main emphasis was firmly on melody. Melodic lines and riffs that will hopefully stay with the listener, reflecting the emotions and sense of place in which I was immersed, as the seasons moved through spring, to summer and finally the rich colors of autumn under the vast skies of the Lincolnshire landscape. In some ways this is probably my most personal album to date and I hope that, as well as capturing some of the heartache of the time, it also leaves the listener with a sense of hope and optimism, that in the end, love will triumph.”

Despite being released late in 2021, “To The Far Away” still sneaked into a number of Best of 2021 Polls: No. 1 Best Album, Album of the Month, Cover Feature, iO Pages Magazine (Netherlands) No. 2 Best Album of 2021 Progressive Rock Central
No. 2 Best Album of 2021 Esther’s Rock Blog
No. 2 Best Album of 2021 Scotland Rocks Radio
No. 6 Best Album of 2021 Amarok Magazine (France)
No. 13 Best Album of 2021 Sonic Perspectives
Album of the Month Radio Xymphonia
In addition, Dave was voted 3rd in Prog Magazine Readers Poll Best Guitarist of 2021

Here’s what the press has raved about Dave Bainbridge’s “To The Far Away”:

In my opinion, this is his best work ever! I hear great, uplifting, melodies, wonderful playing and excellent singing.” - Paul Rijkens iO Pages

Absolute sonic perfection!!!” - Chris MacIntosh WCWP Radio New York

If you remember the band 'Iona' you will love this album. It's a masterpiece of Celtic Prog Rock.” - Nigel Cameron - Celtish

To The Far Away, just might be, well - the best thing he’s ever done – and with his years of output that’s saying a lot… A brilliant balance of vocal and instrumental tracks, To The Far Away will thrill and delight fans of both Celtic and ‘traditional’ prog-rock, and anyone open to more adventurous realms of music in general…If you’re a fan of Iona, Dave Bainbridge’s solo work, Celtic prog, classic prog-rock – whatever!  You need this.” - Bert Saraco - tollbooth.org

“‘To the Far Away’ is a wonderful journey of the mind, full of captivating music throughout. This album is one of the best albums of 2021. It is definitely in the top ten progressive rock albums of the year…Please get this album, relax and enjoy the journey. Every song is captivating and full of the kind of music that made Iona famous.” - Professor Mark, Progressive Rock Central  

To get straight to the point, the music is of great, if not exceptional, class…the melodies Bainbridge presents us on this album are of very great, I repeat, very great beauty…It seems as if Dave has found the balance between say Celestial Fire (the symphonic) and the Celtic influences...There are not only great guitar solos on this record, but also wonderful keyboard moments...the more you play ‘To The Far Away,’ the better it gets. I could go on and on, but I think it is clear that lovers of atmospheric symphonic music have a pearl in their hands with this album. This is hashtag #heavenly.” - Jacco Stijkel - www.progwereld.org

Dave Bainbridge “To The Far Away” was released on Dave’s Open Sky Records label & distributed by Gonzo Multimedia, the album is available in 5 formats:
*DIGITAL DOWNLOAD 24 bit wav files
*SINGLE CD
*2CD WITH BONUS DISK featuring over an hour’s worth of alternate mixes, demos and previously unreleased tracks recorded exclusively for this release
*2CD AS ABOVE, SIGNED BY DAVE
*LIMITED EDITION DELUXE PHOTO BOOK featuring the 2CD version, accompanying A4 size hardback book of 123 of Dave’s evocative landscape photos, 6 postcards of Dave’s photos & a signed and numbered certificate.

To purchase: www.musicglue.com/iona

For more information: www.davebainbridgemusic.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, January 19, 2022

Art-Rock Ensemble Time Horizon To Release Third Album “Power of Three” Feat. Guest Appearance By Saga’s Michael Sadler

Time Horizon is a Northern California-based melodic art-rock influenced band with two highly acclaimed previously released albums the band has returned with a third album titled “Power of Three” on the Melodic Revolution Records label and is ready for distribution. The album is now available for pre-order in both CD & Digital formats and will be released in early 2022 with Vinyl to follow.

In early Spring, Time Horizon gave fans a sneak peek into “Power of Three” with the release of their first single; “Living for a Better Day” featuring a special guest appearance by legendary SAGA frontman Michael Sadler on vocals.

The band has added two permanent members to the roster since the release of Transitions in 2015, namely David Bradley Mau and Michael Gregory. Their contribution to the music can be heard in the evolving sound that is Time Horizon.

Founding members Ralph Otteson and Bruce Gaetke had brought on Allen White and Dave Miller to be able to tour the first release “Living Water”. Those two ended up staying for the next project “Transitions” and now again with “Power of Three”.

Power of Three line up:
David Bradley Mau: Lead vocals, supporting Keys
Ralph Otteson: Keyboards, Piano, Hammond Organ, and support vocals
Bruce Gaetke: Drums, support vocals, and lead vocals for “Razors Edge”
Allen White: Electric fretted and fretless bass guitars
@Dave Miller: Electric and acoustic guitars
@Michael Gregory: electric lead guitar and acoustic guitars.


Time Horizon Online:
Website: https://www.timehorizonmusic.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TimeHorizon/
Bandcamp: https://timehorizon.bandcamp.com/
Melodic Revolution: https://mrrmusic.com/project/time-horizon/

Melodic Revolution Records Online:
Website: https://mrrmusic.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MelodicRevolutionRecords/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/MelodicRevolutionRecordsMusic
Twiter: https://twitter.com/MusicIsOurVoice
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/melodicrevolutionrecords/

Album art Ed Unitsky

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, January 18, 2022

Prog Ensemble Vast Conduit To Release Debut Album “Always Be There” February 16, 2022

Prog ensemble Vast Conduit featuring keyboardist/vocalist Bill Jenkins, best known for his work with Enchant and Thought Chamber, will be releasing their debut album “Always Be There” on February 16, 2022.

This album is dedicated to the notion of doing whatever we can to build and cherish all parent/child relationships, regardless of circumstance. There are so many different ways these can suffer – death, divorce, illness, self-centeredness, etc. – yet they are so vital to our happiness and well-being. Every moment we have to support each other and make each other's lives better is precious.

Says Bill, “The songs ‘Always Be There’ and also ‘Early Eclipse’ convey the main message of the album. The release date is the 40th anniversary of my father’s passing, which set in motion a path through life and philosophy described by the songs on the album. I had the basic song ideas in place for almost all of these songs sitting around for years and it was simply time to finally make it all happen.”

The Fates conspired and a fortuitous set of circumstances created a vast conduit, galvanizing what might have otherwise been a run-of-the-mill progressive rock project with an abundance of musical talent and prowess. Keyboardist Bill Jenkins (Enchant, Thought Chamber), musing over some material near to heart, enlisted the talents of these amazing musicians to bring that material to light: Adding everything from scorching leads to subtle emoting is virtuosic guitarist Michael Harris (Arch Rival, Thought Chamber, Darkology, Michael Harris Tranz-Fusion). Laying the foundation with solid grooves and making odd time signatures seem effortless and feel natural is drummer Will Jenkins (Ghost and the City, Great Wall). The venerable Jeff Plant solidifies that foundation with electric and fretless bass (also from Thought Chamber and whose pedigree otherwise is too long to list here and whose amazing bass playing simply speaks for itself). Adding just the right amount of smoke and fire off his rosined bow is violinist Jim Hurley (who has performed with the likes of Ritchie Blackmore, Trans Siberian Orchestra, Ancient Future, and Queen Ida’s Grammy-winning Bon Temps Zydeco Band, among many others). Rounding out the list are the satiny vocals of Friel (a truly rare gem of vocal talent to have somehow, somewhere, out of the blue, been found for this project).

With the players in place, a cross-country recording project began, finishing with Vast Conduit’s initial studio album release “Always Be There” - a centrally themed album that explores several musical genres. Although progressive rock in nature, when pressed for a singular genre, Michael jokingly suggested “smooth prog.” After the requisite laughter, the recognition of how apropos of a description it was settled in, and laughter shifted to nods of approval as it was fully embraced by the band.

The album started as just an EP project, and recording of 3 of the songs with demo vocals started several years ago. Then covid happened and opened up the opportunity and availability to expand it to a full album.

Along with the core ensemble, the album features some guest artists. Having known the California Guitar Trio guys for some time, and loving their sound, Bill had always hoped to get them involved in a song. Bert Lams agreed to add his acoustic guitar to “Early Eclipse,” and helped in adjusting the arrangement to work even better with the addition of his parts.

Bill’s brother Tom Abraira plays the lead on trumpet on the track “Philly Etymology.” There were two spots for a female voice on this album. Says Bill, “I heard Manon’s singing in High Hopes Acapella, and invited her to sing the female part in ‘Barrier.’ Having worked with Betsy Walter previously, I already had an earlier demo of ‘Early Eclipse’ with her voice in it and used her part from under the solo in that song and it fit perfectly.”

Finally, there was an old recording of the instrumental idea that became “Wesley Save Us” that had Jessica Jenkins’ voice when they were a toddler. “With Jess’s voice being my association with that song for so many years, and given the theme of the album, working a few of those samples in just had to happen.”

Work has already begun on writing for the next album. After the release, the band will look into opportunities for live performances. In closing Bill has this to say, “If our listeners enjoy the music even half as much as we enjoyed creating it, that would be amazing!”

Watch the trailer for Vast Conduit’s “Always Be There”: 

Track List:
1. Barrier 6:22 B. Jenkins, S. Spring (with lyrics)
2. Soul Tuck 5:10 B. Jenkins (instrumental)
3. Always Be There 5:49 B. Jenkins (with lyrics)
4. Endless Days 6:40 B. Jenkins, D. Ott (with lyrics)
5. Too Busy 5:45 B. Jenkins (instrumental)
6. Odessa 5:56 B. Jenkins (with lyrics)
7. 500 Miles 4:44 B. Jenkins, B. Walter (with lyrics)
8. Philly Etymology 5:39 B. Jenkins (instrumental)
9. Early Eclipse 6:59 B. Jenkins (with lyrics)
10. Of A Feather 5:01 B. Jenkins (instrumental)
11. Wesley Save Us 4:31 B. Jenkins (with lyrics)

Band Members:
Friel: Vocals
Bill Jenkins: Keys, backing vocals
Will Jenkins: Drums
Michael Harris: Guitars
Jeff Plant: Bass
Jim Hurley: Violin

Guest Artists:
Tom Abraira - Trumpet on “Philly Etymology”
Bert Lams - Acoustic Guitar on “Early Eclipse”
Manon Roem -Vocals on “Barrier”  
Betsy Walter - Vocals on “Early Eclipse”
Recorded at: The Zircon Cube, The Beige Area, and Psycho Sound East Mixed by: Bill Jenkins and Will Jenkins
Produced by: Bill Jenkins and Will Jenkins
Mastered by: Michael Romanowski at Coast Mastering, Berkeley CA
Artwork by: Jessica Jenkins

To purchase:
https://vastconduit.bandcamp.com/releases
https://www.vastconduit.com

For more information:
www.vastconduit.com
www.facebook.com/VastConduit/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, January 10, 2022

Eclectic Music Duo The Gong Farmers Release New Album “Guano Junction”

Featuring Mark Graham and Andrew Keeling (Robert Fripp, David Cross, Tim Bowness) with Guests David Jackson (Van der Graaf Generator), Alex Che (Modern Eon, Che), Cliff Hewitt (Modern Eon, Apollo 440) and others!

The Gong Farmers are principally two musicians, Mark Graham (vocals, synths and guitar) and Andrew Keeling (classical guitar, piano, organ and flute), along with friends and colleagues. Formed in 2018 following a visit to an Irish Castle, the band name was suggested by reading about the activities of the medieval gong farmers.

From 2020 to 2021 the band worked on a second album, “Guano Junction”. Continuing both the connective thematic elements and themes of love and loss found on the first album, “Ship of Fools”, released in 2019, “Guano Junction” explores darker areas of musical and human experience. Alongside Mark Graham and Andrew Keeling (Robert Fripp, David Cross, Tim Bowness) it features David Jackson (Van der Graaf Generator), Alex Che (Modern Eon, Che), Cliff Hewitt (Modern Eon, Apollo 440), Noko (Apollo 440), Martin Walker (Nth Ascension, Thruaglas Darkly), Brian Taylor (This Is Awkward, Thruaglas Darkly), Ricardo Odriozola (Judge Smith), Dutch percussionist Rene Van Commenee and guitarist Ben Keeling.

As far as the meaning behind the Gong Farmers new album, Andrew Keeling has this to say, “There is little actually visible but, as in ‘Ship of Fools,’ there are allusions to love and loss lying just beneath the surface. The title was conceived by Mark mainly in response to Sue Keeling’s cover painting.” Mark Graham also commented, “The title came in a flash. It’s perfect for a band of disparate and physically distanced musicians bringing all kinds of musical influences and trading as the Gong Farmers.”

“Guano Junction” came from songs and pieces which had lain dormant for some period of time. For example, before leaving the UK for Ireland, Andrew wrote and recorded several small-scale classical guitar loops and piano pieces. Unlike some of his longer classical pieces, these small-scale pieces were difficult to place because, in effect, they were sonic sketches for something unknown. When Mark suggested that they might consider a second album, these pieces were some of the first to be utilized.

Says Andrew, “Mark usually writes the songs and I concentrate on the pieces but, unlike ‘Ship of Fools’, here there was an inversion. Also, we were most fortunate to have input from friends. Alex Che and Cliff Hewitt – both formerly with Modern Eon – did a huge amount to make the album what it is. Noko 440 wrote a splendid string arrangement for ‘Pip, Squeak and Wilfred’ – a song inspired by Mark’s chance discovery of his father’s war medals – and David Jackson, who’d played on ‘Ship of Fools’, provided fine sax playing. My former band colleagues from Thruaglas Darkly, Martin Walker and Brian Taylor, gave their time selflessly and Ricardo Odriozola, Rene Van Commenee and my grandson, Ben Keeling, wrote and played on other pieces. As previously implied, nor is it just Mark and I who are the writers: we encourage all those collaborating at any one time to have a free hand in the writing process.” In the end, the duo had more songs/music than they used.

In closing Andrew has this to say about the album, “Beyond the general concepts of love and loss, each listener is likely to project their own meaning onto the music. Besides, each song concerns itself with a different subject.” Mark adds, “I’d like to thank listeners for their time and attention and I hope our music rewards repeated listening and finds a place in their hearts.”

Mark is currently writing new songs with a view to recording demos to present to the others for a possible third album.

Videos
“Dark Skies” - https://youtu.be/KRfohysX-gM
“Drive” - https://youtu.be/V9gupqpkbhk
“Vista de Toledo” - https://youtu.be/LcppI6xEl3M
“Strangeland” - https://youtu.be/eDZ8p7Au2vw

Fluid and literate music, conjuring orchestral textures from small-group formats…it’s forging own definition of a strangeland of (the band’s) own design. Scarily impressive, Gong Farmers are heads ahead of most.” (RnR Magazine)

A beautifully put-together and subtly varied album.” (Roots & Fusion)

Release date: December, 2021

To purchase CD:
spaceward.co.uk/product-page/guano-junction-the-gong-farmers
burningshed.com/the-gong-farmers_guano-junction_cd

To purchase Downloads:
gong-farmers.co.uk/guano-junction
thegongfarmers.bandcamp.com/album/guano-junction  

Website, FB pages, social media links:
gong-farmers.co.uk
facebook.com/GongFarmers  
andrewkeeling.co.uk
facebook.com/Andrew-Keeling-Music-373118492715410
facebook.com/UnquietEarth

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, August 3, 2021

Guthrie Govan To Be Featured Guest Artist On Prog Ensemble Potter’s Daughter’s Explosive New Full-Length Album “Close to Nearby” To Be Released On September 30, 2021!

The album will be available digitally and on CD. Limited-edition vinyl with accompanying Art Book will be released later this Fall!

Prog ensemble Potter's Daughter will be releasing their second full-length album “Close to Nearby” featuring guest guitarist, Guthrie Govan, on September 30, 2021!  Also appearing on the album is the legendary drummer, Simon Phillips! The album will be available digitally and on CD, with limited-edition vinyl and accompanying Art Book being released later this Fall!

The album features 8 tracks, 3 virtuosic instrumentals and 5 captivating vocal songs. All compositions arranged and produced by Jan Christiana.

1. One (Ginastera)
2. Rosewind (DPV + JC)
3. Night Sky/Into the Dream (DPV + JC, lyrics by DPV and Ronda Dubiel)
4. The Mask (DPV +JC)
5. 5 (DPV + JC)
6. Midnight (DPV + JC, based on the poem by Edgar Allen Poe)
7. VII (Julia Schwartz)
8. Hold (DPV + JC, lyrics by Ronda Dubiel and DPV)

Potter’s Daughter (MRR) was formed in NYC while Dyanne was studying classical piano performance at the Manhattan School of Music. The group performed regularly in NYC, as well as in northeastern PA. Potter’s Daughter has been featured on radio, TV, and in national and international magazines and blogs. Potter’s Daughter released their debut album, “The Blind Side,” in August 2018. In 2019 they released two singles; “Blood and Water,” featuring Annie Haslam (Renaissance) as guest artist, and the holiday single, “This Winter’s Child,” which was composed for the MRR Holiday album.

In March 2020 they went on tour with MRR labelmate Joe Deninzon & Stratospheerius, and Dark Beauty. They were also invited to participate in several online festivals, including The Uncancelled Music Festival (April), The WorldWide Prog and Rock Virtual Festival (May), and the ProgStock Presents Festival. (August).

In October 2020, Potter’s Daughter released their Covid Quarantine EP, “Casually Containing Rage.” The single from the EP, “We Could Be,” was released as a video, directed by filmmaker Serena Kunzler.

In December 2020, Potter’s Daughter was featured in the Limelight section of Prog Magazine, and in the same edition, voted #2 in the Reader’s Poll Unsigned Band Category.

In February 2021, Potter’s Daughter enjoyed the privilege of participating in the debut release (Pyrrha’s Song) for Nick Katona’s “Troubleshooting Pandora’s Box,” together with drummer Jimmy Keegan.

In April 2021, Potter’s Daughter’s music video, “We Could Be,” was chosen as a finalist to compete in the annual American Golden Picture International Film Festival.

They are scheduled to close the prestigious music festival, ProgStock (NJ), on Oct. 3rd, and open the music festival, Prog on the Ranch, (FL) October 30th.

Now, with the addition of virtuoso guitarist Guthrie Govan adding his fire to the mix, they plan to release their heaviest work to date. The Artwork for the album cover was created especially for this project by the master artist, Armand Cabrera.

Jan and Dyanne are evidently partial to doing interesting and unique things in their music so I was very happy to contribute to the record – it was a lot of fun!” – Guthrie Govan (guitarist currently playing with The Aristocrats and Hans Zimmer)


Photo by Victor Peters

Say Dyanne and Jan of Potter’s Daughter, “There really is no one who plays guitar like Guthrie - truly a pinch-me moment to have him play on our record. He more than deserves his spot in the pantheon of the all-time Greats!”

It has been an absolute pleasure to play on your music. Very challenging and ever so much fun.” - Simon Phillips (drummer with Protocol, Toto, Hiromi, Mike Oldfield, The Who, Jeff Beck etc)

“…just beautiful...I love your voice, and chord progressions are sublime” - Jon Anderson (lead singer of progressive rock band, Yes)

On first hearing of Blood and Water I was struck by its unusual and haunting melody and Dyanne's exquisite voice. To be a part of it was truly a wonderful experience.” -  Annie Haslam (Lead singer of progressive rock band, Renaissance)

For more information:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PottersDaughterBand/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/pottersdaughterband
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/PottersDtrBand

Purchasing:
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2qsUdKn
Bandcamp: https://bit.ly/2Mqk1PM
iTunes: https://apple.co/2P1hTQm
Spotify: https://spoti.fi/35O57uo

YouTube: 

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, March 22, 2021

Alberto Rigoni’s “For The Love Of Bass” Features All-Star Bass Player Line-up

Out on April 2nd - preorder available!

Featuring Nathan East, Leland Sklar, Michael Manring, Tony Franklin, Doug Wimbish, Adam Nitti, Lars Lehmann, Cody Wright, Mohini Dey, David Pastorius

Alberto Rigoni's “For The Love of Bass,” simply put, it’s bass heaven.

After the success of his latest prog rock album “Odd Times,” Italian bassist & composer Alberto Rigoni (BAD As, Natural Born Machine, The Italians, Vivaldi Metal Project), now releases his 10th solo album. As the title suggests, the instrumentation is exclusively electric bass, spanning ambient, fusion, jazz and new age styles.

“It has been really challenging but the special guests contributed some gorgeous playing and we are all proud of the result,” says Alberto. “For The Love of Bass” is an all-star bassists album featuring some of the best players anywhere: Nathan East, Leland Sklar, Michael Manring, Tony Franklin, Doug Wimbish, Adam Nitti, Lars Lehmann, Cody Wright, Mohini Dey, David Pastorius,

Are you ready to face a new bass experience?!

Watch Alberto Rigoni's new video for “Masked Souls” feat. Nathan East & Michael Manring: 



To purchase Alberto Rigoni's “For The Love of Bass” (Digipack CD & Digital): http://albertorigoni.bandcamp.com

Other distributors: Disk Union (Japan), MVD (USA), Burning Shed (UK), Plastic Head (UK), Digital Platforms (Apple Music, Spotify etc.)

Tracklist:
1. Drops of Memories (feat. Tony Franklin)
2. In the Loop (feat. David Pastorius)
3. Dreamers (feat. Michael Manring)
4. Alone in the Dark (feat. Doug Wimbish)
5. Paranoia (feat. Cody Wright)
6. The Maze (feat. Mohini Dey)
7. Masked Souls (feat. Nathan East & Michael Manring)
8. Social Distortion (feat. Adam Nitti)
9. Mad World bass cover (feat. Leland Sklar)
10. Killers (feat. Lars Lehmann)
11. Misirlou bass cover (feat. Lars Lehmann)
12. Lost (feat. Adam Nitti)

Biography

Born in 1981, Alberto Rigoni is an Italian bass player and composer, internationally known for his career as a solo artist and as a member of the metal band BAD As, The Italians, Natural Born Machines  Lady & THE BASS,  co-producer of the Vivaldi Metal Project and member of progressive rock band TwinSpirits (no more active).

Between 2008 and 2020 Alberto has released worldwide 9 solo album (Something Different, Rebirth, Three Wise Monkeys, Overloaded, BASSORAMA, Duality, EvoRevolution, Prog Injection, Odd Times), spanning from progressive rock metal to fusion. His albums also featured legendary musicians such as Kevin Moore (ex Dream Theater), Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree, King Crimson), Marco Minnemann (the Aristocrats), Göran Edman (ex Yngwie Malmsteen), Michael Manring and many others.

Alberto has been featured on the cover of magazines such as Bass Magazine (Japan), Bass Musician Magazine (USA), Bajos Y Bajistas (Spain), Basistas (Poland), TOP BASS (Poland). Moreover, in March 2015 the prestigious Bass Guitar Magazine (UK) released Alberto’s CD anthology called “Into THE BASS.”

Alberto has also recorded for several international artists such as Italian pop singer Alexia and he is also playing bass for Canadian rock singer and songwriter Kim Bingham (ex-Nelly Furtado) and The Italians, sharing stages with artists such as Alan Parson, Suzanne Vega, Jørn Lande, Paul Gilbert, Vinnie Moore and others.

In 2016 founded a new metal band called BADASS (now called BAD As) which released three albums (More Pain More Gain, Midnight Curse and Crucified Society.

On December 15th 2017, Rigoni together with bassist Jeff Hughell (Six Feet Under) released a new studio project called Bassists Alliance. The first album “Crush” featured top notch bassists such as Michael Manring, Adam Nitti, Steve di Giorgio, Colin Edwin, Mark Mitchell, Scott Reeder, Dmitry Lisenko, Brandino BassMaster, Ryan Martini, Leonid Maksimov, Tony Grey.

In 2019 founded a new AOR band called “Natural Born Machine” featuring famous Pink Cream 69 singer David Readman. Their debut album “Human” was released on February 19th 2021 by Pride and Joy Music.

Currently he is also collaborating with famous producer Hiro Furuya (Elton John, Eric Clapton, etc.) as session bassist.

His tenth album “For The Love of Bass” feat. all star bassists such as Nathan East, Lee Sklar, Michael Manring, Doug Wimbish and many others will be released on April 2nd 2021.


For more information:
http://www.albertorigoni.net
http://www.facebook.com/albertorigonimusic
http://albertorigoni.bandcamp.com
http://www.youtube.com/albertorigoni
http://www.twitter.com/albertorigoni
http://www.vivaldimetalproject.com
http://www.badas.rocks
http://www.theitaliansband.com
http://bassistsallianceproject.bandcamp.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, March 8, 2021

Mike Tiano to Release Tuneful Prog Album “Creétisvan” Featuring Billy Sherwood, David Sancious, Randy George and More – March 12

Mixed by Steve Smith (Supertramp, Heart, Cheap Trick)

Mike Tiano is known for his bringing Yes into the Internet age. After helming one of the first online fanzines Notes From the Edge Mike created their official web site YesWorld, and for well over a decade was their web site manager.

Mike is also a musician and songwriter in his own right, now releasing “Creétisvan” which he characterizes as his life’s work and is informally calling the album his “audiobiography”. As he explains, “This album is culled from many of my best compositions, written throughout my adulthood. I’ve rarely performed these, and had only recently produced them.”

What is evident is Mike’s being inspired by the likes of the Beatles, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, Rush, and of course Yes. “The tunes are in the vein of early progressive rock: lots of heart along with catchy melodies, recurring themes, sonic instrumental flights, shifting dynamics, and the kind of tuneful content which is sorely missing in today’s popular musical scene. Many who miss ‘classic’ rock in general will find much to enjoy here.” Mike’s influences are apparent throughout the album, including the Zeppelin-esque “Automaton”; the Yes-like “Triad”; the Beatles-inspired “(Because) You Win”; the surprising Buffalo Springfield vibe of “A Natural”; and Mike’s prog influences in general on the epic “Emerge Triumphant”, which features a live orchestra.

Every track was written and arranged by Mike, who is lead vocalist and handles the lion’s share of the guitar work. While he also produced ten of the twelve tracks the remaining two were handled by Yes member Billy Sherwood on “Different Drummer” while the instrumental “Dance of the Little Guys” is the work of Randy George, bassist for the Neal Morse Band. Both musicians perform on those respective songs.

Other accomplished musicians gracing “Creétisvan” include David Sancious (Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band, Jon Anderson’s album “Animation”); keyboard wizard and orchestrator Jonathan Sindelman (Keith Emerson Band, The Magic Band/Captain Beefheart); guitarist Steve McKnight (Cry Wolf, GayC/DC); keyboardist Rick Daugherty (the reformed Flash); vocalist Joanne Perica; and a host of notable Seattle-area talents.

Mike attributes the album’s “exquisite mix” to Grammy winner Steve Smith. Steve began his career as assistant engineer on Stevie Wonder’s “Songs in the Key of Life” and was a member of legendary Beatles engineer Geoff Emerick’s production team for Supertramp’s “Even in the Quietest Moments”, where Steve participated on the hit “Give a Little Bit”. Steve would go on to apply his talents on projects for Heart, Cheap Trick, Donna Summer, Garth Brooks, and video game orchestrations for Michael Giacchino to name a very few.

But what the heck is Creétisvan? When he was young Mike aspired to be a cartoonist; in his late teens and early 20s he created spacey cartoon collages. To title this style of art he used a word unique to his own history—one that you won’t find in a dictionary (yet). Mike would use “Creetisvan” (no accent over the second ‘e’) for that art and later for his musical performances, and when he decided to retain it for the title of the album he added that accent to include the word “create”—denoting his devotion to artistry and creativity. Bringing his artistic journey full circle some of the original artwork he created as a young adult will be found on the inside cover.

Here's what’s being said about Mike Tiano’s “Creétisvan”:

Mike Tiano’s project is adventurous, sonically rich and both enjoyable and refreshing.” – Lee Abrams

Mike has crafted an album that is true to his progressive rock influences as well as pop sensibilities in the style of the Beatles.”  – Randy George (The Neal Morse Band)

“‘Creétisvan’ is a lovely, creative album that pulls at my heartstrings with a revitalized British rock sound, very much in the mold of the later Beatles and earlier progressive rock. Tiano’s voice takes me back to Peter Gabriel’s in the earlier Genesis albums, and the sonic landscape is lush and dreamy. The album is a wonderful work, a rich vein where musical miners will hit the motherlode and be splendidly rewarded.” – Bill Martin: Philosopher, musician, author (‘Music of Yes’ & many others)

“‘Creétisvan’ harkens back to that creative time period of the late 1960s, early 1970s: impactful with certain amounts of melodic content permeated throughout. It’s very authentic.” – Steve Smith, Grammy-Winning Recording Engineer

This is the kind of music that we need right now.” – Colin (Person on the Seattle street)

About Mike Tiano: After living in L.A. for most of his life Mike moved to the Seattle area in the late 1980s to pursue a career in technology, and to begin recording his songs in earnest. Mike would join Microsoft where he remained for nearly twenty years in various roles, including primary Test Engineer for two brand-new features in Windows 95: the Taskbar and the Start Menu. In 1993 Mike became editor for Notes From the Edge, publishing innumerous interviews with Yes members. After convincing Yes to launch their official site Mike created its original schema, and as Site Manager oversaw the official band and various member sites. Mike provided the liner notes for four of the Yes remasters from Rhino, and is currently a contributor to the online media journal Something Else! Reviews.

To order: https://amazon.com/s?k=Cre%C3%A9tisvan&ref=nb_sb_noss_2

For more information:
Official site: http://miketiano.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/miketianomusic/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/musictiano
About Steve Smith: http://www.stevesmithrecording.com/live-studio-recordings
Mike Tiano’s Writing Portfolio: http://miketiano.com/portfolio

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, February 26, 2021

Jane Getter Premonition To Release New Album “Anomalia” Featuring Chad Wackerman, Adam Holzman, Alex Skolnik, Stu Hamm & Vernon Reid March 26, 2021

THE NEW STUDIO ALBUM FROM THE AWARD-WINNING GUITARIST, VOCALIST & COMPOSER

FEATURING CHAD WACKERMAN (FRANK ZAPPA), ADAM HOLZMAN (MILES DAVIS, STEVEN WILSON), ALEX SKOLNIK (TESTAMENT), STU HAMM PLUS SPECIAL GUEST VERNON REID

Esoteric Antenna is delighted to announce the release of the superb new studio album by JANE GETTER PREMONITION, “Anomalia.” Jane’s band has carved out a niche at the intersection of jazz, rock, metal, and singer-songwriter styles with her masterful playing and complex and dynamic compositions and has dazzled audiences internationally on stage.

Citing musical influences such as Mahavishnu Orchestra, King Crimson, Porcupine Tree, Jeff Beck, Allan Holdsworth, and Wes Montgomery, Jane has played with many luminaries in the worlds of jazz and rock and formed her band JANE GETTER PREMONITION to present her sophisticated compositions on record and on stage.

Assembling musicians Adam Holzman (Miles Davis, Steven Wilson), Alex Skolnick (Testament), Chad Wackerman (Frank Zappa), plus Mark Egan (Pat Metheny), Gene Lake (David Sanborn), Stu Hamm (Joe Satrianni), special guests Vernon Reid and singers Randy McStine and Chanda Rule, the album “Anomalia” is the stunning result of a series of magical recording sessions and is her finest work to date.

Adorned with a striking cover image by artist Lasse Hoile, Anomalia is a fine work by a fine and truly progressive musician and her band.

Track Listing:

1. KRYPTONE
2. LESSONS LEARNED
3. DISSEMBLER
4. ALIEN REFUGEE
5. STILL HERE
6. ANSWERS
7. QUEEN OF SPIES
8. DISAPPEAR
9. SAFE HOUSE

To pre-order: https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/jane-getter-premonition-anomalia/

Jane Getter official website: http://janegetter.com/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Saturday, December 12, 2020

Guitar Virtuoso Marcelo Paganini to Release Album “Identity Crisis” Featuring Billy Sherwood, Rachel Flowers, Lenny White, Chad Wackerman and Others!

Featuring special guests Billy Sherwood (YES/ASIA), Adam Holzman (Steve Wilson Band), Rachel Flowers, Lenny White (Return to Forever), Chad Wackerman (Frank Zappa Band), Jan Dumée (Focus), Marc Madoré, Karla Downey, Jamison Smeltz, Damilton Viana, Esdras Ferreira and Adriano Campagnani (Beto Guedes Band)

“Identity Crisis” is the new guitar virtuoso Marcelo Paganini prog rock jazz fusion album to be released on his birthday December 11, 2020. The album features special guests Billy Sherwood (YES/ASIA), Adam Holzman (Steve Wilson Band), Rachel Flowers, Lenny White (Return to Forever), Chad Wackerman (Frank Zappa Band), Jan Dumée (Focus), Marc Madoré, Karla Downey, Jamison Smeltz, Damilton Viana, Esdras Ferreira and Adriano Campagnani (Beto Guedes Band). 5 out of 6 songs of the album were mixed and mastered by Gudjon Sveinsson in Iceland. The single “Circus is empty” was mixed by Daniel Boivin in France and mastered by Maor Appelbaum in LA, California, USA.

“When Allan Holdsworth passed away all of a sudden it was up to me and the others to keep guitar composition and playing moving forward. ‘Do your own thing’ he said every time we met. Now Eddie Van Halen passed away as well and we realize how hard it will be,” remembers Marcelo Paganini about his intentions when he started this project. “I changed the tuning of the guitar so I could not repeat anything I knew before. I decided to only use in the whole album, except for acoustic 12 string intros, the black guitar X-Ing Ibanez, no vibrato bar, bare bones. And to record just one guitar per track, to be able to play it live and sound like the album, or better. When live concerts will come back.”

The music on “Identity Crisis” mixes up the best influences from classic prog rock, with unexpected contemporary harmonic solutions and melodic turns. The songs can break loose by surprise in furious jazz fusion improvisations. As impressive as the casting in the album can be, and it is, the incredible alchemy that happened between Marcelo Paganini and Rachel Flowers in 4 out of 6 songs,  at the 11th hour, was a game changer in the intensity of that musical language. Mr Bowler Music Agency in the Netherlands is booking Marcelo Paganini Band featuring Rachel Flowers.

TRACK LIST:
Bacteria
Circus is empty
Soul much further away
Learn to love to wait
Tangerine way
Captain's face

Released December 11, 2020

To purchase: https://marcelopaganini.bandcamp.com/

For more information:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Marcelo-Paganini-13255032254/
YouTube; https://www.youtube.com/user/MarcelloPaganini
INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/marcelopaganini.ic/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Booking: Mr Bowler Music Agency
Sumatrastraat 19a
5215AX s-Hertogenbosch
The Netherlands
arne@mrbowlermusicagency.nl  Phone: +31652881212

Friday, August 28, 2020

Guitar Virtuoso Marcelo Paganini to Release Prog Rock-Jazz-Fusion Single “Circus Is Empty” From New Album feat. Billy Sherwood, Adam Holzman, Chad Wackerman & Others


French-Brazilian guitar virtuoso Marcelo Paganini is releasing his new prog rock-jazz-fusion single called “Circus Is Empty” on 28th August 2020. Written, arranged and performed by Marcelo on guitar and keyboards, the track features Billy Sherwood (Yes/Asia) on vocals, Adam Holzman (Steve Wilson Band/Miles Davis) on solo keyboards, Chad Wackerman (Frank Zappa/Alan Holdsworth) on drums, and Adriano Campagnani (Beto Guedes Band) on bass. Daniel Boivin mixed and Maor Appelbaum did the mastering.

“I was daydreaming, thinking that after ARW (Anderson, Rabin, Wakeman) maybe it’s time for PSH (Paganini, Sherwood, Holzman)!” jokes Paganini from the studio of his old stone house in Catalunia, Spain. “It’s unbelievable that some of the best talents on the planet all agreed to participate – the whole Universe conspired to make it happen! All my steps led me to this old house in the woods.”

“Circus Is Empty” is the song people didn’t know they were waiting for. It blends the urgency of 2020 vibes and sounds with classic prog elements and furious jazz-fusion improvisation. The title is a tribute to Shakespeare’s The Tempest - “Hell is empty, and all the devils are here.” “Crazy times, the circus is empty and all the clowns are in power,” says Paganini. “There is a call to vote, if it wasn’t important they would not be trying so hard to discourage people.”

Marcelo faced an uphill task moving his studio from Normandy, France to Catalunia, Spain. Closed borders, an old laptop which struggled in the Spanish heat, a 300-year-old house which floods in the rain, and an album to finish. “It was 40 degrees outside, not that I could go outside while there was still work to do inside. Not to mention all gigs stopping overnight! It became so much that I had to ask my friends for help, but it taught me who my real friends are, and that I have the best friends around. Then I had to let some good old friends go too, I was too much trouble in too little time for them.”

His persistence has paid off though. “Identity Crisis”, which includes “Circus is Empty”, is due for release on all platforms, with an exclusive vinyl version on his Bandcamp page, on December 11th to mark his 56th birthday. “If the world is still spinning by then!” he laughs.



“I am trying to prove to myself that my last compositions are as good as the first ones... The prog scene is full of artists that wrote their best material many Dark Sides of the Keith Moon ago! Me too by the way, but seriously… Folks are you keeping your best songs for when they will offer a better deal? They won’t, so it is better to release your best material right now while we are all still around! Or else it may end in the trash can.”

“Why ‘Identity Crisis’? Who the Hell is this Marcelo Paganini guy anyway?” he asks. “I am trying to figure that out, for now I don’t even know what food to eat without getting sick... Let’s say for now that Marcelo Paganini is a French-Brazilian guy from New York City, with an Italian stage name, living secluded in the woods up the hill in Catalunia, Spain, that thinks he is a real Spitfire Dragon from Outer Space who crash landed on Earth some time ago...”

Billy Sherwood sings lead on the whole album, and on two tracks along with special guests Marcelo Paganini performed with on Cruise to the Edge 2015: Karla Downey and Jamison Smeltz. Jamison also provided a searing sax solo on the final track “Captain’s Face”, which was written for producer Larry Morand, who invited him to attend the 2015 Cruise To The Edge, about his life changing experience. “Of course I’d love to come back to Cruise To The Edge in 2022,” says Paganini. “It would be great to play live with this band at least once, Billy Sherwood and Adam Holzman are already on board, I bet Captain Prog Larry can make it happen!”

Among other surprise guests, legendary jazz Drummer Lenny White (Return To Forever/Miles Davis) recorded two songs for the album, including “Learn To Love To Wait” which also features Billy Sherwood on bass and Adam Holzman on keys. “I only played guitar on that one,” laughs Paganini. “With so many legends from other bands it’s the mother of all supergroups, but only if it happens without me, I was told. So, I had to let them play together without me for a few bars so it remains a supergroup at least there! I am trying hard to convince another legend to record a guitar solo in that spot!”

Marcelo lost his beloved rescue cat Don Juan in March 2019, and “it was then that things started to become weird fast. The French Cinema Archive CNC demanded a €15K 35mm print of my film ‘First time in Rio’ or I’d have to pay a €70k fine, an absurd situation as I couldn’t afford either. I couldn’t understand why, since they accepted a digital deposit of my film “The 8th Bullet” in 2007. I had to put everything I have on a truck and move to Spain last October. Here I will wait until French cinema people get me out of this. Meanwhile I am depressed, broke, in debt, away from home, family and remaining cats and did nothing wrong! Maybe the president of UNIFRANCE, the president of the CNC and the new Culture Minister of France Rosalyne Bachelot can get Kafka out of my reality? I feel like someone powerful did not want me to make any more films, but it backfired, since I am making a new film about all this.” The upcoming film is also called “Identity Crisis” and will use the album for its soundtrack.

“Then my credit card disappeared and I had no money to live for several weeks. All these events were eye opening experiences. They made me discover fundamental truths: only stupid people are afraid of dying, they are also afraid of living.

“I was bullied since I was little, most people in real life reject me, I am strange, different and proud of it, but harmless. The cat came to me, he chose me, that changed me forever, I learned a lot from him. My friends joke that Don Juan wrote most of the music and that I cannot really play it without him! Let’s just say that so many things happened ever since, that today no one can play that stuff  on the guitar, not even me, since I forgot everything. But don’t worry I am a fast learner”. Marcelo wrote most of the songs of the album with Don Juan around and “Identity Crisis” is dedicated to him and to Billy's brother Michael Sherwood that left us too soon last November.



Marcelo Paganini is now represented by Mr Bowler Music Agency in the Netherlands. Exciting news awaits for 2021…

Purchase link
https://marcelopaganini.bandcamp.com/

Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/Marcelo-Paganini-13255032254/

YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/user/MarcelloPaganini

Mastered by Maor Appelbaum at Maor Appelbaum Mastering - California - U.S.A
http://www.maorappelbaum.com/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, July 15, 2020

Gentle Giant Reunite Virtually For First Time In 4 Decades For New Video Along With Members of King Crimson, Yes and More!


Prog Legends Gentle Giant reunite for new version of “Proclamation” premiered by PROG Magazine

The classic Gentle Giant line-up have reunited for the first time since 1980 for a unique new video. Pieced together over the last few months, it’s a brand new performance of “Proclamation” (originally from the band’s 1974 album “The Power & The Glory”) including appearances from Gentle Giant alumni Derek, Ray and Phil Shulman, Gary Green, Kerry Minnear, John Weathers and Malcolm Mortimore. There are also guest appearances by numerous notable musicians including Jakko Jakszyk (King Crimson), Billy Sherwood (YES), Lee Pomeroy (ELO/Steve Hackett), Dan Reed (Dan Reed Network), Richard Hilton (Chic) and Mikey Heppner (Priestess).

Watch the video:
https://www.loudersound.com/news/gentle-giant-premiere-fan-video-of-proclamation?fbclid=IwAR2U8vsVwxFedxF0od-nHqFusazMoCZZuhhPhMV3sZOgJ-OxES2_qKIg3Jo


“This terrible pandemic is being felt all over the world and with everyone being stuck at home, I figured now would be the perfect time to bring positivity out in the world, bring everyone together and celebrate our love of music and Gentle Giant,” explains Noah Shulman, son of Derek and mastermind behind this project tp Dom Lawson of PROG Magazine. “Over the years I was always amazed with how many people were filming their renditions of Gentle Giant tracks from all over the world on an array of instruments. So that sparked the idea of wanting to see them all in one place, blending sounds and instruments into a single track.”

Directed and edited by Noah Shulman and mixed by his uncle Ray, the video is likely to be remembered most for the momentous reuniting of the real Gentle Giant, albeit only briefly and via to the wonders of remote communication. Seeing that the band have never seemed likely to reform, this is a significant and exciting moment for Gentle Giant fans everywhere. Says Noah, “It’s a sort of thank you from the band to the fans.”

For more information:
Twitter: @GGIANTMUSIC
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gentlegiantband/
Instagram: @gentlegiantband

Press inquiries (North America): Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, July 10, 2020

Prog Ensemble DarWin To Release New Single "Nightmare Of My Dreams" Featuring Simon Phillips, Billy Sheehan, Matt Bissonette, Guthrie Govan & Others August 14, 2020


First album track, “Future History”, to be released on Friday 10th July 2020. Video directed by Nigel Dick (Guns N’ Roses, Def Leppard).

Forthcoming new album “DarWin 2: A Frozen War” featuring Simon Phillips (Toto/The Who/Jeff Beck), Matt Bissonette (Elton John, David Lee Roth, Ringo Starr), Billy Sheehan (Mr Big/ Steve Vai/Winery Dogs), Guthrie Govan (Aristocrats/Asia/Hans Zimmer/Steven Wilson), Greg Howe (Michael Jackson/Justin Timberlake), Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater/Alice Cooper/Black Country Communion) 

Following the release of debut album “Origin Of Species” in early 2019, DarWin releases a new single, “Nightmare Of My Dreams”, on the 14th August 2020.

The epic 7 plus minute “Nightmare Of My Dreams” builds on the themes set out by DarWin on “Origin Of Species”.

The announcement of the first single will coincide with the release of the first album track, “Future History”.

Both songs are taken from the forthcoming album, “DarWin 2: A Frozen War”, which will be released later in 2020.

Once more DarWin has assembled a stunning ensemble of musicians. “DarWin 2: A Frozen War” continues the deep collaboration with Simon Phillips (drums, Toto/The Who/Jeff Beck) and Matt Bissonette (Elton John, David Lee Roth, Ringo Starr). Joining them are powerhouse players Billy Sheehan (bass, Mr Big/ Steve Vai/Winery Dogs), Guthrie Govan (guitar, Aristocrats/Asia/Hans Zimmer/Steven Wilson), Greg Howe (guitar, Michael Jackson/Justin Timberlake), Derek Sherinian (keyboards, Dream Theater/Alice Cooper/Black Country Communion) and more…

“Darwin 2: A Frozen War” was produced by DarWin and Simon Phillips and recorded primarily in Iceland and the USA.

DarWin says, “We started working on DarWin 2: A Frozen War while still finishing Origin of Species.  This new album is therefore more like a final chapter to OoS.  The title song “A Frozen War” represents the final battle for the future of Earth.  It has a heavier feel than the first album, and I think represents our best stuff.

“We shifted live recording to Iceland and Billy Sheehan joined us on bass in the studio while Matt was often traveling with Elton John.  We’re also joined on the album by Guthrie Govan, Greg Howe and Derek Sherinian doing killer leads, and many more players that are super exciting.

“This first song we’re releasing, “Future History” is about traveling faster than lightspeed and therefore going back in time.  It’s a real chuggy jam song that should rock hard.  Matt’s thick harmonies soar over the heavy grooves to provide a sensation of flying next to a ray of light and watching your life pass before you.  It was great to jam with Billy and Simon on this and trade licks with Greg in the solo section.  Check it out!”

The first release “Future History” also features a video directed by the legendary Nigel Dick (Guns N Roses/Band Aid/Def Leppard/Britney Spears)

See video HERE


DarWin’s critically acclaimed debut “Origin Of Species” was the first installment in an epic saga that addresses the challenges of mankind in our coming era.  It depicts the role of a changing planet, and the potential, as well as limitations, of technology to help solve mankind’s greatest challenges. A complex project that’s eschews the hollow immediacy of much contemporary art. A story that demands attention and imagination.  With music sweeping in scope, at times evoking hard rock virtuoso shredding, alongside grand orchestral compositions, warm harmonies and soaring choruses. A project that is even more relevant in the strange times we live in.

“At the end of it all, DarWin has saved the concept album as well as the planet.” – Classic Rock review of debut album “Origin Of Species”

“…a smorgasbord of styles, dripping in YES pomp, melodic pop and riffy modern day rock” – Prog Magazine review of debut album “Origin Of Species”

“DarWin 2: A Frozen War” is released later in 2020. “Nightmare Of My Dreams” will be released on the 14th of August 2020. It will feature an exciting narrative video, also directed by Nigel Dick

Darwin photo by Andy Earl

To pre-order “Future History”: https://darwin.fanlink.to/futurehistory

DarWin official website: http://www.darwin.is/

For further Information: Duff Battye / Duff Press duff@duffpress.co.uk + 44 (0)7904 385308

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

10cc/Godley & Creme Legend Kevin Godley To Release Very First Solo Album MUSCLE MEMORY December 17, 2020


LEGENDARY SONGWRITER / SINGER / DRUMMER AND MUSIC VIDEO PIONEER RELEASES CROWDSOURCED ALBUM. 

ALBUM RELEASED - 17.12.2020 SINGLES RELEASED - 16.07.2020 - 03.12.2020

In July 2017 Kevin Godley - formerly of 10cc and Godley & Creme - posted an invitation on the site PledgeMusic: “Write and record with me.”

PledgeMusic was a platform for musicians to connect directly with fans who could pay for music in advance to support the creation of albums. Kevin's project took the potential of this remote, socially distanced collaboration further.

He explained: “Recently something happened that eclipsed any songwriting techniques I'd learned in 10cc or Godley & Creme. Out of the blue, I was sent 2 recorded instrumental tracks with requests to write melodies and lyrics and turn them into songs. Both tracks came from people I'd never met and still haven't. Experiencing this kind of remote collaboration and its results has been transformative for me, as I believe I've recorded 2 of my best ever songs and MUSCLE MEMORY, as I'm calling the album, will be about opening this collaborative door a lot wider.”  

Kevin received 286 instrumentals, choosing to conceal the names of submitters so as not to focus on high profile artists. Of these 11 were chosen for the final tracklisting. The instrumentals vary wildly, from jarring electronic beats to Gotye's dreamlike balladic contribution, “Song of Hate.”

In May 2019, before any money pledged had arrived to support the album, PledgeMusic declared bankruptcy. With the lists of pledgers gone and the project stalled, The state51 Conspiracy contacted Kevin and funded the project so that those who had paid would still be able to listen to the record they were helping to make.

The album marks Kevin's first time fronting a project. His lyricism is cutting, political and provides a mood similar to film dialogue over classic pop lyricism. Gun control, societal unrest, racism and questions regarding political correctness make for some of the most striking lyrical content likely heard on an alternative pop record. This is a dark record from someone not known for dark themes.

Kevin's career features numerous exceptional albums and sees him as one of the most important pioneers of the pop music video. MUSCLE MEMORY is a fitting addition to this body of work, offering a provoking, daring new insight into Godley's creative practice. Tracks from the album will be released in order every two weeks until the album's release on the 17th of December 2020.

Album tracklisting / release timeline:  

1) Expecting a Message: 16/07/2020
2) The Ghosts of the Living: 30/07/2020
3) Hit the Street: 13/08/2020
4) The Bang Bang Theory: 27/08/2020
5) 5 Minutes Alone: 10/09/2020
6) Cut to the Cat: 24/09/2020
7) One Day: 08/10/2020
8) All Bones are White: 22/10/2020
9) Periscope: 5/11/2020
10) Song of Hate: 19/11/2020
11) Bulletholes in the Sky: 03/12/2020
12) Muscle Memory - CD, Vinyl and Digital: 17/12/2020

Listening link: https://soundcloud.com/state51/sets/kevin-godley-muscle-memory/s-A3ZMG64gPyX

Kevin Godley social media: 
Official website: http://www.kevin-godley.com/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/p/BvcGX_ZgN22/
Twitter: @kevingodley9

Subscribe to Kevin Godley's mailing list: 
https://kevingodley.greedbag.com/subscribe/

For more information please contact The state51 Conspiracy: support@strate51.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, June 19, 2020

Art Rock Supergroup MANDOKI SOULMATES Release Full-Length Album Feat. Ian Anderson, Jack Bruce, Al Di Meola and Others In Partnership With U.S. Label CLEOPATRA RECORDS!


Features performances by Jethro Tull's Ian Anderson, Supertramp’s John Helliwell & John Siebenberg, Toto's Bobby Kimball Manfred Mann's Chris Thompson, Cream's Jack Bruce PLUS Jazz-Rock giants Al Di Meola, Cory Henry, Mike Stern, Randy Brecker, Bill Evans, Richard Bona and many more!

Los Angeles, CA - L.A.-based indie label Cleopatra Records and Hungarian-born songwriter/producer/musician Leslie Mandoki, the mastermind behind the living, breathing art rock project Mandoki Soulmates, are proud to announce the release of the first full-length album since the two entities joined forces earlier this year. Coming out on Cleopatra’s venerated progressive rock imprint, Purple Pyramid, home to such artists as Nektar, Tangerine Dream, Hawkwind-alumni project Hawkestrel, and Rick Wakeman, the album entitled Living In The Gap + Hungarian Pictures is actually a double album adding the 45-minute Prog Rock suite Hungarian Pictures, based on a musical concept by Deep Purple’s Jon Lord & ELP’s Greg Lake, to the original Living In The Gap album. Having already topped the Amazon Classic Rock Charts in Germany, Living In The Gap + Hungarian Pictures is poised to bring a whole new audience in North America, South America, the UK and beyond into the Soulmates’ family of fanatics.

As with his other projects under the Mandoki Soulmates banner, Leslie Mandoki has brought together a Murderer’s Row of rock icons and musicians from some of the biggest names in prog and classic rock including Jethro Tull’s Ian Anderson plus current and former members of Toto, Cream, Supertramp, ELP, Blood, Sweat & Tears, Manfred Mann’s Earth Band and this list goes on and on! The coming together of such a diverse cast perfectly expresses the album’s lyrical theme of unity, which couldn’t be a more timely message for today’s world. Mandoki explains in the album’s video trailer, “We know that music is the greatest unifier…[These are] songs against division, from the old rebels to the young rebels. This is our time to take a breath for a better world.”

Watch the entire album trailer here:


Stream Living In The Gap + Hungarian Pictures here: https://orcd.co/mandoki_soulmates_living_in_the_gap

For additional information about this release, including press clippings, photos and more videos, visit: https://promo.mandoki-soulmates.com/ When entering the site, check out the newly developed Soulmates Weekly short-film series, providing exclusive and private insights behind the scenes of the Mandoki Soulmates who share their stories of performing with their legendary companions both on and off stage!

Also be sure to check out Mandoki Soulmates and Ian Anderson’s special tribute to the heroes of the COVID-19 pandemic - hospital workers, grocery store clerks, food delivery drivers, and others - on the digital EP We Say Thank You! Proceeds from the EP will be donated to The United Nations Foundation’s COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund in support of the WHO (World Health Organization) and The Mayor's Fund to Advance New York City.

Stream the We Say Thank You EP here: https://orcd.co/mandoki-soulmates-with-ian-anderson

Press inquiries: 
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com


CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com


Follow PURPLE PYRAMID  @
Facebook  |  Instagram  | Twitter | Youtube | Purple Pyramid Store
Facebook @PurplePyramidRecords
https://www.facebook.com/PurplePyramidRecords/
Instagram @Purple.pyramid
https://www.instagram.com/purple.pyramid/
Twitter @PurplePyramid1
https://twitter.com/PurplePyramid1
Youtube @ Purple Pyramid
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwiCec6bS6mX3c7dpitfYRQ
Purple Pyramid Store @
https://cleorecs.com/store/product-category/record-label/purple-pyramid/

Friday, June 12, 2020

Prog Ensemble Staring Into Nothing To Release Second Album "Love" With Guest Appearances By King Crimson's Trey Gunn & Zappa's Mike Keneally


Produced by Ronan Chris Murphy (King Crimson, GWAR, Steve Morse, Bozzio/Levin/Stevens)

Southern California based Staring Into Nothing wields a foundation of melodic progressive rock to explore new musical and thematic terrain. Founders Steve Rogers (keys and vocals) and Kurt Barabas (bass, vocals and guitars) take a Steely Dan-esque approach to music creation, using the studio and a revolving cast of world class collaborators to create music that observes and scrutinizes the human experience.

Staring into Nothing’s latest album “Love” probes the multiplicity and evolution of romantic love. The album was produced and mixed by Ronan Chris Murphy (King Crimson, Steve Morse, Ulver) and features an awesome line up of collaborators including Gregg Bissonette (David Lee Roth, Santana, Ringo Starr) on drums, Victor Bisetti (Los Lobos) on percussion, Mike Keneally (Zappa, Steve Vai, Joe Satriani) on guitars, Trey Gunn (King Crimson, John Paul Jones) on Warr Guitar, Dave Nachmanoff (Al Stewart) on background vocals/acoustic guitar and Danny T. Levin (Iggy Pop, Twenty One Pilots, Vampire Weekend) on horns. With this album, Murphy and the band sought to refine the melodies and structure of the songs even further than the previous album and provide ample room for the various collaborators to bring their voices to the album. While the compositions by Rogers and Barabas make up the core of the music on “Love,” the music was completely transformed by all the collaborators. The creative process allowed everyone involved to mold its final sound and spirit, and created space for stunning contributions, most notably several remarkable solos by Keneally and Gunn.

Says Steve, “We were trying to explore the varieties of romantic experience from a mature perspective that recognizes its not all good and not all bad, but its all we have. In the end, the message is uplifting because over time love endures and transitions into something even more fulfilling when it becomes legacy and a common set of memories and values. We recorded this album differently than our first one. We worked more closely with the producer, Ronan Chris-Murphy, during the actual arrangement of the songs and benefited from his insights, ideas and contributions. Ronan also brought a commitment to making the best album we could by bringing top shelf musicians to the project like Mike Keneally, Trey Gunn, Gregg Bisonette and Dave Nachmanoff. Also most of this album was recorded in our own studio in Costa Mesa California.”

Watch the video for “Ashes”: 


“It was a real pleasure to be involved with this project, working with the band and Ronan to find ways to tastefully enhance the impact of these beautifully melodic, emotionally charged songs. I found the songs inspired and inspiring, and I loved the experience of playing on the album.” - Mike Keneally

“Super day and a half of recording. I loved being in the room with these guys stretching out on these songs. Great to hear it all come together.” - Trey Gunn

“A project like this is really exciting as a producer. The band already had strong material with a lot of emotional depth before I got on board, so we had a lot of great raw material to work with. The fact that the band is just two guys, that are open to new ideas, meant we were able to have a lot of fun developing the material and bringing in the right players to explore those ideas. I very intentionally brought in guest musicians that are more known as artists in their own right than being session guys. I knew from working with all of them before, that if I gave them a platform to explore they would bring great things to the project. They did not disappoint. They all brought the musicality we were all hoping for, while enhancing the emotional aspects of Steve and Kurt’s compositions.” - Ronan Chris Murphy, Producer-Engineer (King Crimson, GWAR, Steve Morse, Bozzio/Levin/Stevens)

Staring Into Nothing have crafted their own sound, but their love of strong melody and virtuosic musicianship has drawn comparisons to artists such as Marillion, Porcupine Tree, Flying Colors, early Genesis, Pink Floyd and Rush. Bassist Kurt Barabas is a veteran of the progressive rock scene. He was a founding member of Magna Carta Records artist Under the Sun as well as Amaran’s Plight with Nick D’Virgilio (Genesis, Peter Gabriel, Spock’s Beard). Kurt was also a founding member of Roswell 6, who recorded the album “Terra Incognita” that accompanied a science fiction novel of the same name written by Kevin J. Anderson. “Terra Incognita” featured a who’s who of musicians, including James LaBrie (Dream Theater), Michael Sadler (Saga), John Payne (Asia), and David Ragsdale (Kansas).

Following the break-up of Under the Sun, Barabas starting wring new material with longtime Under the Sun fan Steve Rogers. The two found they had instant and synergistic creative chemistry and set to work creating a trilogy of concept albums that delve into the complex facets of the human experience.  They released their first album “Power” in 2017, which explores the many ways power is used to manipulate, control and subjugate people. It was produced and mixed by Mark Needham (The Killers, Elton John) and features drumming by Matt Chamberlin (A Perfect Circle, David Bowie, John Mayer).

Here's what the press has said about Staring into Nothing:

“Staring into Nothing melds the epic structure of prog rock with the tuneful moodiness of new wave.” - Huffington Post

“With, perhaps, a little further polish or fine-tuning, many of these songs wouldn’t be out of place on an album like Pink Floyd’s The Wall.” - The Big Takeover

“The nice blend of melody and atmosphere will please fans of prog classics like Rush and Yes, as well as modern titans like Steven Wilson and Opeth” - Alternative Nation

“...should appeal to anyone with an interest in prog rock and even casual fans of the genre could find things here to love about it.” - Sputnik Music 

“Staring Into Nothing is a trio from California who have a very modern prog sound. Musically, they remind me a bit of a mix of Steven Wilson and Roger Waters.” - Progressive Music Planet

“The Prog-Rock-esque powerhouse brings down the house with an eclectic and unique record that will blow your mind.” - Modern Mystery Blog

In support of their new album, Staring Into Nothing has budgeted four videos for the album and have completed the first two. They continue to work on the final two, but they got caught up in the virus lock-down that shut down the video shoots in March.

In closing Steve has this to impart, “That relationships matter even though they can be hard to maintain at times. Also that there is redemption for any of us who stray from the past. That redemption often comes to us through the people we love.”

To purchase Staring Into Nothing's “Love”: 
https://staringintonothing.bandcamp.com/merch



For more information: https://www.staringintonothing.com/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, June 9, 2020

Intelligent Music Project V "Life Motion" Featuring Members of Rainbow, Toto, Asia and River Hounds


Featuring Simon Phillips (Toto /Protocol), Ronnie Romero (Rainbow), John Payne (Asia) and Richard Grisman (River Hounds)

In these interesting times, when life puts a forced pause on us, most of all we need to lift our spirits, to feel alive. “Life Motion” is the fifth studio album of “Intelligent Music Project.” And this time in the band led by Milen Vrabevski, MD (author and producer) there are big world names - the drummer and co-producer of the release Simon Phillips, as well as the vocalists John Payne (ex-Asia) and Richard Grisman (River Hounds). Ronnie Romero, a singer who became famous for joining Rainbow in 2015, made his debut in it. And when we add respected Bulgarian musicians to this stellar team, it becomes quite clear that high class is being pursued at IMP.

“Epidemic, crisis, contagion.” Not a day goes by without hearing these words for more than a month. Indeed, the current situation is a test for everyone, but it also brings some positives - such as the opportunity to spend more time on (rediscovering) art.

Milen Vrabevski, MD says: “I would like my children to grow up with the ideas I share in my albums, and instead of teaching them lectures about those ideas, I use the language of music, which is very universal and easy to understand.”

Legendary drummer Simon Phillips (Toto, Protocol, Mike Oldfield, The Who) gave two solos for the songs “Reflecting” and “Rising” on “Life Motion,” with music co-producers Dr. Vrabevski, Simon Phillips and Ivo Stefanov.

Read the recent interview with Milen Vrabevski, MD: https://bit.ly/2XIS3mA


Milen Vrabevski, MD

“An unexpected album that reminds of a mix of Alan Parsons Project, Christopher Cross, Toto and The Night Flight Orchestra.” - Music In Belgium

Watch the new video for the song “Every Time”:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/451542284956185/videos/180540773220643/
YouTube:





Intelligent Music Project IV “Sorcery Inside” is another entirely Bulgarian music project of the creator of “Intelligent Music Project” - Milen Vrabevski, MD. It includes legendary musicians such as Simon Phillips (Toto), Carl Sentans (Nazareth), Richard Grisman (River Hounds), John Payne (ex-Asia) and Joseph Williams (Toto), who have left their incomparable handwriting on the 12 compositions by Milen Vrabevski, MD.

Simon Phillips participated in the recordings not only on drums, but also as a music co-producer, together with Milen and Ivo Stefanov. The recordings were made in the fall of 2018 at Brotheryn Studios, California, by Simon Phillips and Ernest Tibbs (drums and percussion), Jesse Siebenberg (guitars, vocals) and Dave Palmer (pianos).

“Indeed, the cast of the Intelligent Music Project resembles an ensemble of the elder statesmen of rock, featuring a collection of decorated artists like Toto drummer Simon Phillips and Asia lead vocalist John Payne. The evident talent of each individual member of the band shines through at various points during the album Throughout it all, the production stands out for its silky smoothness, stitching together each aspect of the band’s throwback sound with commendable dexterity. 'Sorcery Inside' clearly attempts to be a modern-day alternative rock album, at times trading the traditional electrical-guitar driven sound for more experimental substitutes.” - The Stanford Daily



The European tour of Intelligent Music Project and Milen Vrabevski, MD with the participation of Simon Phillips (Toto), Ronnie Romero (Rainbow) and Richard Grisman (River Hounds) started on February 21 from Bulgaria. The first concert of the tour was held in Varna, followed by Plovdiv and Sofia, and the tickets completely sold out. As part of Dr. Milen Vrabevski's Intelligent Music Project, Phillips, Romero and Grisman presented their latest albums, “Sorcery Inside,” as well as the album “Life Motion.” The star trio were joined by some of the best Bulgarian musicians in the person of Stoyan Yankulov - Stundzhi, Biser Ivanov, Bobi Kosatkata, Ivo Stefanov, Ivaylo Zvezdomirov, Slavin Slavchev, Lina Nikol, Samuel Eftimov.

Intelligent Music Project's first online concert: https://www.facebook.com/watch/live/?v=2659255330960351

“Working on this project with Milen Vrabevski was so much fun and I find his enthusiasm for music is so uplifting.” - Simon Phillips

“The chemistry and magic is bound to happen when you have great players and great songs.” - John Payne

“Working with Milen was pretty exciting, he is a great professional and composer and I will be back for the next album for sure!” - Ronnie Romero

To purchase: 
https://intelligent-music.com/shop/ - general
https://intelligent-music.com/product/intelligent-music-project-v-life-motion/

More info about Intelligent Music Project:
Web: https://intelligent-music.com/
YouTube:  https://bit.ly/2Jr4w7K
Spotify:  https://spoti.fi/2w0XyDw
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/intelligentmusicproject/
follow / like / subscribe

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com