Showing posts with label Guitar. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Guitar. Show all posts

Tuesday, September 13, 2022

Progressive Rock Guitarist Dallas Perkins Releases New Album “Experimental Truth”

Los Angeles, CA – On Dallas Perkins’ latest release “Experimental Truth” his stellar technical proficiency and dexterity are on full display. We are now hearing six-string wisdom come to full fruition. Showcasing a guitarist that is clearly steeped in melody, the music allows us to join the conversation with breathing room, suspense, and brilliantly placed pauses in these layered compositions. Perkins is not just a guitarist with attention grabbing technique, he is a composer reflecting influences spanning centuries of music history absorbed and personalized over decades finally distilled into a singular artistic statement.

Dallas said of “Experimental Truth”: “With this album, I really wanted to grab the listener’s attention with harmonic complexity and melodic simplicity. My hope is that it will satisfy fans of my previous work. But beyond that, my goal was to create a cohesive theme connecting each composition as in the spirit of the concept album. With the absence of lyrical content, I wanted the music to stand on its own and perhaps evoke a visual dimension. In short, I hope to inspire each listener’s imagination to create their own interpretation and imagery.”

Hailing from Pittsburgh, Dallas cites his original six-string inspirations as Jimmy Page, Eddie Van Halen, Steve Howe and Ritchie Blackmore, among other heavyweights from the era. After paying his dues in clubs and festivals, lending his chops to various cover bands and original acts, he headed West.

In Los Angeles, Dallas became a respected member of the emerging wave of technically proficient players as well as an in-demand instructor at famed Hollywood music school Musician’s Institute and National Guitar Summer Workshop.

Taking on a few hired gun gigs, he eventually found himself relocated to the Tampa Bay area of Florida. During that time, he began releasing a series of critically acclaimed instrumental material. His debut release, “Looking Glass,” was hailed by critics in both Guitar World and Guitar for the Practicing Musician magazines. He was quickly recruited into Virgin recording artists Roxx Gang, both in the studio and on the road.

Dallas’ style has continued to evolve and broaden since the release of his self-produced, acclaimed solo CDs, including the breakout smash “Emergent Behavior” and the follow up “Unbecoming.”

Dallas currently performs live with his own solo band throughout Southern California. He is also a staple in the Los Angeles music scene, a sought after touring and session musician and a regular on Hollywood’s promo buzz show, Ultimate Jam Night.

Track List:
1. Beck Street
2. Deus XM
3. Dynamic Equilibrium
4. Mexican Puppets
5. Monolith
6. Intermeshing Spectra
7. Azul
8. In Via Domum
9. Jagwired

Produced by Dallas Perkins
D Mania Records

Listen to the entire album here: https://etpromo.dallasperkins.com/

To purchase:
Amazon Music: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0B6QHMG8Y/ref=dm_ws_sp_ps_dp
Apple Music: https://music.apple.com/us/album/experimental-truth/1635385722
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/4k7tY53Crcp0cToAoGD1NI
Pandora: https://www.pandora.com/artist/dallas-perkins/ARcPh5PjVtt9knm
YouTube Music: https://music.youtube.com/channel/UCLL1dnwQNmn4YVd-hOmiuYA

For more information:
www.DallasPerkins.com
https://www.facebook.com/dalchemy
https://www.instagram.com/dallasdperkins
https://twitter.com/dallasperkins
https://www.youtube.com/dalchemy

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, August 29, 2022

Bass Virtuosos Alberto Rigoni and Michael Manring To Release New Album “Grains of Sand” on Sept. 15, 2022

Bass virtuosos Alberto Rigoni (solo, BAD As, Kim Bingham, Vivaldi Metal Project etc.) and Michael Manring (solo, Alex Skolnic, Steve Morse etc,) are glad to announce the release of their new album “Grains of Sand” on September 15th.

The album, fully instrumental, spans from prog to fusion, jazz, ambient and features Mark Zonder (Fates Warning, A-Z) on drums. Also, on some tracks the duo invited some bassists as special guests such as Billy Sheehan, Stuart Hamm, Adam Nitti and more.

Alberto Rigoni says: “After the release of ‘Song for Souls’ in memory of my father I said I was going to retire (at least for a bit) but well… I could not resist making an album with one of the best bass players in the world like Michael. Hope you will enjoy it!”

Michael Manring says: “Alberto is a prolific artist with a deep love of the bass. His enthusiasm is inspiring and it’s always a pleasure to work with him.”

The duo have already released two videos that you can view at the following links:
https://youtu.be/GuXJxlNYcBY (“No Escape” feat. Adam Nitti)
https://youtu.be/G5SjE0vRU54 (“Grains of Sands” ft. Billy Sheehan)

“Grains of Sand” will be available in digital, Digipack CD and limited edition tape/cassette! You can pre-order “Grains of Sand” at http://albertorigoni.bandcamp.com

For more information:
https://linktr.ee/albertorigoni
http://www.manthing.com

Released by Manthing Music BMI (© 2022)

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, June 13, 2022

The Guitar Circle With Robert Fripp August 22-26, 2022 at The Mansion at Glen Cove, NY

Four Immersive Days of Work in the Guitar Circle. Guitar & Audience Craft Techniques and Exercises for Audients and Guitarists.

An Introduction to the Guitar Circle with Robert Fripp will begin at 3pm on August 22nd, 2022, and ends at 12pm on August 26th, 2022.

Each day’s schedule is intense, beginning in the early morning and running through to the night with activities in small and large groups. The exact detailed schedule will be decided at the course itself, responding to the needs of the group.

House of Guitars: everyone welcome to join, with or without guitars (led by RF)

During Robert Fripp’s Introduction to the Guitar Circle, nothing is compulsory but some things are necessary. Robert feels strongly that alcohol and drug use are incompatible with this work and are strongly discouraged. Hey, the anticipated polyrhythms* alone are enough to deter anyone from even thinking about drinking! So, any participant who partakes in drugs or alcohol during the event may be asked to forego participating in our activities. Thank you for your cooperation.

*Polyrhythms: The simultaneous combination of contrasting rhythms in a musical composition. Rhythmic conflicts, or cross-rhythms, may occur within a single metre (e.g., two eighth notes against triplet eighths or worse!) and may even be reinforced by simultaneous combinations of conflicting metres. You will happily experience some of these during Robert’s event!

The Guitar Circle welcomes players and audients of all ages and levels of experience, from absolute beginners to professionals.

The art of craft is universal. The artful craft of Guitar Craft is also specific.

Guitar Craft is a way of developing a relationship with guitar, music, and with ourselves. Guitar and Audience Craft techniques and exercises provide a foundation for taking the performance event to a higher level.

The Guitar Circle is a way of working which strengthens community. We also rock out!

If performing music is to enter our world, the role of the audience is as necessary as the role of the musician.

So, for the first time in the life of Guitar Craft and the Guitar Circle, we are inviting audients to this Intro, to learn the performance techniques and approaches available to Crafty Guitarists.

Performing music has its own intelligence, but can music change the world? If so, how? How does a musician become present in the place within them where music lives, or visits for a while? How is an audient present within themself when music visits? How does music come into our lives? What is involved in the process of musical performance?

For those interested in guitar playing, work will be on acoustic guitars in the New Standard Tuning – CGDAEG. Guitar meetings / workshops will be in groups of all sizes, including individual meetings with the Guitar Buddies.

This Introduction to the work of the Guitar Circle will also include classes in Alexander Technique, Orchestral Maneuvers, T’ai Chi, Zen meditation, The Process Of Performance, and Doing Nothing – As Much As You Can!

There is nothing solemn about any of this, and I’m intending to have a good time. This is an approach to perform, performing, serious performing and performing seriously.

I recommend that everyone come with an aim.

You are invited.

Robert Fripp

STAFF

ROBERT FRIPP - Guitarists and More
DEV RAY - Guitarists and More
JACQUELINE BINDER - Guitarists and More
CURT GOLDEN - Guitar Buddies
TOM REDMOND - Guitarists and More
TONY GEBALLE - Guitar Buddies
SANDRA BAIN CUSHMAN - Orchestral Maneuvers
KIM CARY - Orchestral Maneuvers
ERIN WIGGER - Alexander Technique
CHRIS DOERING - The Process of Performance
CHRISTINA FLEMING - Orchestral Maneuvers

PRICING AND REGISTRATION
Robert Fripp, Guitar Circle, and Dreamcatcher Events all respectfully ask that everyone attending be fully vaccinated and/or tested for Covid.

Musicians and music fans of all styles and levels are welcome to attend Introduction To The Guitar Circle – but we do recommend that everyone who plans on playing bring a steel-stringed acoustic guitar!

For more information: https://robertfrippsguitarcircle.com/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, March 7, 2022

Guitar Virtuoso Harvey Valdes’ Novare: J.S. Bach Lute Works on Electric Guitar Breaks New Ground with a Fresh, Ear-Opening Interpretation of Music for the Ages

Harvey Valdes is a fantastic guitarist” - Andy Summers

Guitar Virtuoso Harvey Valdes’ Novare: J.S. Bach Lute Works on Electric Guitar – to be released by Destiny Records on April 8, 2022 – features sublime scores long performed by the world’s greatest lutenists and classical guitarists, but these pieces sound more timeless than ever in the hands of Valdes on steel-string electric guitar.

Harvey Valdes is a fantastic guitarist – musical to the nth degree and with chops to spare, as anyone knows who has heard the way he handles standards and ballads with astonishing contrapuntal virtuosity. Now, with this new album, the special logic in his playing of Bach is wonderfully revealed.” - ANDY SUMMERS of The Police

Like the art of Shakespeare or Van Gogh, the music of Johann Sebastian Bach has been recognized the world over as universal and timeless – sounding as moving and miraculous now as the day these Baroque scores were written, some three hundred years ago. The lute works that J.S. Bach composed have been recorded by the world’s greatest lutenists and guitarists across the past century, from Segovia to Julian Bream to John Williams to Hopkinson Smith, among a myriad of others. It would take a stroke of something approaching genius to enable us to hear these pieces truly anew. But that is just what Harvey Valdes has accomplished with Novare: J.S. Bach Lute Works on Electric Guitar.

To be released digitally and on CD by Destiny Records on April 8, 2022, the album presents Valdes playing 10 of Bach’s pieces not on the age-old lute or the nylon-string classical guitar but on the modern steel-string electric guitar. The result is ear-opening; the notes are the same ones Bach put to paper in the 18th century, but Valdes performs them with a tone and texture that sounds extraordinarily fresh and of the moment, without ever trying to unduly “modernize” the music. Over the past few years, Valdes has attracted famous fans among iconic guitarists, including Andy Summers of The Police, ECM luminary David Torn and avant-garde notable Elliott Sharp, who says: “With Novare, Harvey brings Bach’s works into the 21st century with a sensuous tone and an articulation that is simultaneously precise and dynamic, even at breakneck tempi. His playing reveals the contrapuntal lines in all their permutational glory.”

But it isn’t just world-renowned guitarists who have been impressed by Novare. Classical pianist Simone Dinnerstein, celebrated for her playing of Bach on the modern grand piano, says: “Harvey Valdes brings an improviser’s sensibility to this music, which is in so many ways the most authentic approach to Bach. There is an understated quality to his interpretations that allows a listener to hear the architecture of the music, and there is a rhythmic malleability that gives breath and presence. The Prelude and Fugue in D-flat stands out in the way that Valdes enjoys the sustained possibilities of the electric guitar. It’s a beautiful new take on old gems.”

Why Bach on electric guitar? Says Harvey, “Why not?! The electric guitar has a capacity for tone, color and dynamics that moves beyond what the acoustic classical guitar can do. There have been some past recordings of electric guitarists who have played Bach or works by Mozart, Beethoven, etc. These often feature the instrument using high gain and distorted sounds with fast virtuosic playing. I respect this approach, but it’s not the one I wanted to take. I was interested in honoring some of the delicate classical guitar approaches and while also taking advantage of the sonic dimensions of the electric guitar.

“For listeners who are guitar players, I want to share with them how it’s possible to play Bach’s lute works on an electric guitar. You can bring a classical guitar approach to the electric guitar that expands the sonic landscape for this historical music and gives it a space to live in the present. As for everyone else, enjoy! I hope it can soothe a listener’s life. Making it certainly brought some peace into my life during a challenging time that has affected us all.”


More about Harvey Valdes

A guitarist of searching, sophisticated musicality, Harvey Valdes can traverse styles from avant- jazz and Middle Eastern/Balkan music to improvised film scores and the compositions of Bach. Harvey has an intrepid curiosity about the guitar’s sonic and expressive range; he is also a trained player of the Arabic oud, as well as the Turkish cümbüş. To date, he has released three albums as a soloist/leader: “Solitude Intones Its Echo” (Destiny, 2019), a set of concise, engaging solo improvisations praised by the likes of Guitar Moderne as “18 lyrical solo performances of compositions that hook you”; “Roundabout” (2015), his solo debut featuring lyrically inventive takes on jazz standards; and “PointCounterPoint” (2015), a bristling, Mahavishnu-meets-math-rock trio album with violinist Sana Nagano and drummer Joe Hertenstein. All About Jazz hailed “Pointcounterpoint” as “cosmic,” while the Free Jazz Collective described Roundabout as “sublimely beautiful.” In April 2022, Destiny Records will present Harvey’s newest album: “Novare: J.S. Bach Lute Works on Electric Guitar.” Underscoring his achievements, Harvey’s venturesome work in the studio and on stage has attracted fans among iconic guitarists, including Andy Summers of The Police, ECM luminary David Torn and avant-garde notable Elliott Sharp.

Based in Brooklyn, NY Harvey earned a BFA degree from The New School for Jazz & Contemporary Music. He has worked with artists from Butch Morris, Karl Berger and Rhys Chatham to Daniel Carter, and the Middle Eastern/Balkan ensemble Anistar, among many others. His score for Utopians, which premiered at the 2011 Berlin Film Festival, constituted “one of the longest-lasting guitar improvisations since (Neil Young’s score for) Dead Man.” The Valdes composition “Listen” was chosen as an Editor’s Pick by Guitar Player magazine. Harvey has also performed extensively in New York theater. He held the guitar/oud chair as an onstage musician and cast member for the Tony Award-winning Broadway musical The Band’s Visit, having originated the role Off Broadway at The Atlantic Theater before moving with the ensemble for the hit run at Broadway’s Barrymore Theater. He played on the show’s 2019 Grammy Award-winning cast album, and he received a daytime Emmy Award for his broadcast performance with the ensemble, along with participating in the 10 Tony wins as a cast member. Harvey has also worked with renowned downtown theater ensemble The Wooster Group, including its presentation of Cavalli’s 1640 opera “La Didone”; for that production, which toured the U.S. and Europe, he provided a modern interpretation of the Baroque lute, playing electric guitar and guitar synth within an ensemble that also included harpsichord, theorbo and accordion.

Harvey has played on stages from Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, the Brooklyn Academy of Music and St. Ann’s Warehouse to the New Jersey Performing Arts Center, Chicago Cultural Center, CalArts’ Redcat Theater in Los Angeles, Scotland’s Royal Lyceum Theatre, the United Nations. Harvey has also featured in broadcast performances for The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon, NPR’s Tiny Desk Concert, The Today Show and WNYC-FM, as well as the 72nd annual Tony Awards. Additional collaborators over the years have included Noël Akchoté, Gerry Hemingway, Lukas Ligeti, Killick Hinds, Jamshied Sharifi, Sean Sonderegger, Henri Scars Struck and Bern Nix. Harvey has recently featured on multiple compilation albums, including the fifth in Elliott Sharp’s anthology series “Never Meta Guitar,” and “Walk My Way,” a five volume 577 Records set featuring 49 guitarists of 32 different nationalities from six continents and virtually every sort of musical background. He also played on Eight Hands, One Mind by the Dom Minasi Guitar Quartet with Briggan Krauss and Hans Tanmen, as well as recorded the duo album Nueva Guitarra with avant-metal guitarist Alvaro Domene.

About the imaginative virtuosity of Valdes, guitarist extraordinaire David Torn says: “When I first heard Harvey, I thought: ‘Well, here’s another badass mother on the scene – wow.’”

Harvey Valdes record release show at Barbes in Brooklyn, NY on April 9th 2022

For more information:
harveyvaldes.net
destinyrecordsmusic.com
instagram.com/harveyvaldes
facebook.com/harveyvaldesmusic

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, January 21, 2022

Renowned Bassist Hansford Rowe Presents His New Signature Bass by Tao Guitars The HR Superleggera

The Superleggera’s body shape is unique and perfectly balanced. The subtle references to the great Marcello Gandini (Lamborghini Miura, Alfa Montreal) are sublime. The brushed aluminum hardware is entirely bespoke. The bridge is made to my design parameters (as tool free as possible) with Tao’s usual attention to detail and magnificent design aesthetics. The pickups are custom Benedetti.” - Hansford Rowe

American bassist Hansford Rowe began his career in the clubs of New York City. With French drummer Pierre Moerlen, he reformed the jazz-rock group Gong. PM’s Gong is considered one of the great fusion bands of the late 70s. Recording guests included icons like Mick Taylor, Steve Winwood and Didier Lockwood. International touring soon secured Hansford a place among the world’s leading bass players and work with Mike Oldfield, Allan Holdsworth, John Martyn, Biréli Lagrène, La Monte Young, David “Fuze” Fiuczynski, Gary Husband etc Hansford, with Warwick bass guitars and guitarist Jon Catler developed the first Just Intonation bass. He is considered an expert in the use of alternate tuning systems. His last record is Decadence by Gong Expresso.

Tao Guitars was founded by Belgian luthier duo Serge Michiels and John Joveniaux in Brussels in 2004. The boutique builders collaborate closely with customers to perfectly outfit guitars to the individual and since the two luthiers handcraft all of the instruments by themselves they limit their output to just a few instruments per year. Infused by a deep sense of design and inspired by architecture, Italian auto design and Japanese aesthetics, Tao’s work is a perfect balance between functionality, tone and adventurous design. For more on Tao Guitars, please visit: http://www.taoguitars.com/.

HR Superleggera Bass by Tao Guitars

• Lightweight Swamp Ash body
• Neck-through of Bosnian maple with a Wenge center (tinted black)
• Wenge fingerboard with brushed aluminum fret marker inlays
• Custom proprietary Benedetti pickups
• Proprietary aircraft-grade brushed aluminum hardware
• Circular graining of electronics box aluminum lining
• Modified Hipshot lightweight tuners
• Proprietary titanium truss rod by KTS Japan (single bar, double action)
• Fret and nut material 18% Nickel / Silver (Maillechort – copper, nickel, and zinc)
• Paint: Lamborghini Oro Elios
• Scale: 34.5”
• String spacing at nut: 9mm
• String spacing at bridge: 17mm
• Fingerboard radius: 14”
• Weight: 7.8lbs
• Price: 14,000 Euros


For more information: www.hansfordrowe.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, March 10, 2021

Jazz-Fusion Guitarist Gerald Gradwohl To Release 6th Album “Episode 6” April 16 2020

Working at the highest international level of quality has always been a fundamental characteristic of the Gerald Gradwohl Group. He collaborated with Bob Berg, Gary Willis, Kirk Covington, Adam Nitti amongst others. Rooted in the quartet’s own unique approach to instrumental fusion, their sixth album “Episode 6” is a celebration of improvisation set within an exciting and colorful, sonic landscape of imposing compositions. As we have come to know from guitarist and composer Gerald Gradwohl, he continues to work with musicians who, aside from their extraordinary instrumental skills, also bring maturity and creative drive into both concert and recording situations.

“Episode 6” is no exception. Gradwohl’s sophisticated and stylistically diverse instrumental compositions conceptualize exciting musical interactions, and his approach not only continues to keep live recordings fresh and challenging but also fosters the intuition and spontaneity of the musicians, all consolidating the band’s highly dynamic sound. Gerald Gradwohl (g), Thomas Kugi (sax), Jojo Lackner (b) und Harald Tanschek (dr) have once again proved themselves to be an exceptional ensemble, unifying dynamic and intimate musicality with artistic intuition and emotional depth.  

Says Gerald, “Goal of the album was to capture the live sound of this steadily gigging band. We play live with this line up since years which of course influenced my writing a lot. The sound of the live band was the main inspiration, but I also tried to capture the existing vibes during the lockdown. My plan was to work on an album in 2021, but as the pandemic changed all plans and schedules, I preponed this project and finished the song ideas I already had during April/May…We recorded 2 days live as a quartet in one room and added a few overdubs later, so the result is as it would sound live. Recording live is one of my main concepts since years as all the records I made are some kind of snapshots. Moreover, I don’t like to make everything perfect - I love the idea that the listener can feel the energy and spirit of playing together as it would be onstage.”

When looking for terms and names to describe the band, the attempt will leave you with a wide spectrum between jazz and fusion music focusing on grooving funk with a strong “Rock ‘N’ Roll Attitude” mixed with Jazz harmony to fierce discharging jazz rock storms. There is no arbitrariness in this wide array of musical styles and influences, as the band selected team players from the international jazz/fusion scene – renders the stringent compositions in a committed and playfully individual manner, putting its high-quality inventive signature to the music and derives its uniqueness and independence from a sure, pro-active and listening interaction of experienced musician personalities. Gradwohl can jump into and out of the stylistic changes like a true chameleon. He has ventured further into exploratory fusion on this effort than on any of his previous efforts.  Having the support and backing of the great rhythm section has really made this venture for Gradwohl into tribal funk fusion a viable effort of world class caliber. GG pulls all the stops of his musical skills. “As much composition as necessary and as much improvisation as possible” seems to be the dogma and the point of view of fusion-music of today for this worldwide known and acknowledged composer and performer, living in Wr. Neustadt, Austria. The great variety in composition and playing will not only fascinate Jazz and Fusion lovers - watch out for exciting live gigs!  

The album “ABQ” (2003) feat. Bob Berg, Gary Willis and Kirk Covington was a big step in Gerald’s international career. Several albums and live tours have been the result of his continuous work. 2007 “Tritone Barrier” is released. On this album Scott Henderson contributes a guest solo on the track “Jeff's Back.” This album is followed by “Sally Beth Roe” in 2009 which he recorded with his Trio - this is a real guitar trio record! In 2013 Gerald released “Big Land” feat. Tribal Tech drummer Kirk Covington on drums. “RAW” (2016) is a critically acclaimed masterpiece of Jazz and Rock music and is the first release with his current band. The band is touring regularly and releases the new album “Episode 6” in April 2021!

Says Gerald, “I hope we can present the album live as soon as possible. My main goal is to bring the Quartet to as many festivals as possible, as we really ‘burn’ onstage. My next project is already in the works - I want to prove that it is possible to do a ‘remote’ recording by sending files back and forth and still creating a live atmosphere almost as we would play together in a room. I already did a few tunes with Kirk Covington and Adam Nitti and hope that I can finish this in 2021!”

Gerald Gradwohl Group:
Gerald Gradwohl - guitar
Thomas Kugi - sax
Jojo Lackner - bass
Harald Tanschek  - drums

Here’s what the press has said about Gerald Gradwohl:

Gerald Gradwohl is a serious, progressive jazz guitarist who spans a range of styles and influences within multiple jazzish genres from silky smooth jazz to rip-roaring fusion, always with intensive guitar work.” -  EER Music

A guitarist of extraordinary depth and sensitivity. Gradwohl plays with the same kind of abandon as Scott Henderson, and is able to portray the same gracefulness as Frank Gambale, showing a solid command for his jazz meets rock guitar stylings.” - Jazz.com

If you want your jazz rock fusion hard hitting and rough, yet well balanced and without the blinding restlessness of shredding, look no further.” - FUSENET

A highly skilled soloist, Gradwohl’s style combines the hip lines of a jazz player, with the technical proclivities of a shredder.” - The Guitar Channel

Gerald Gradwohl Group “Episode 6” Released on April 6, 2021 Label: gtone211  

To purchase: http://brokensilence.de/lnk/episode6/

For more information:
www.gradwohl.at
www.facebook.com/geraldgradwohlofficial
www.instagram.com/geraldgradwohl
www.twitter.com/gtone2700
www.youtube.com/geraldgradwohlmusic

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, March 1, 2021

Guitar Virtuoso Carl Verheyen To Release New Album “Sundial”

One of the Top 10 Guitar Players in the World” - Guitar Magazine
One of the Top 100 Guitarists of All Time” - Classic Rock Magazine
Verheyen’s guitar work will blow you away” - Guitar Player Magazine

“Sundial” is an esoteric record comprising of rock, funk, ska, soulful ballads and afro-pop music. Recorded during the music industry’s “Grand Pause” of 2020, guitarist Carl Verheyen adopted an “anything goes” concept and musical variety is the theme.

“The title track ‘Sundial’ was an attempt to write a healing and uplifting piece of music that makes me feel good every time I hear it,” says Verheyen. Orchestrated with acoustic and electric guitars, piano, organ and backing vocals, the song soars through jazz-rock, prog-rock and even folk-rock tonalities.

The record immediately takes a left turn with an up tempo instrumental called “Kaningie.” Inspired by a record collection of Afro-pop recordings and crossing it with the feel of the Santana classic “Soul Sacrifice,” Carl wrote a wild and relentless melody captured live with 2 drummers in the studio. Hold on tight!

“I joined the British rock band Supertramp back in 1985 following the release of ‘Brother Where You Bound,’ an album that featured a long David Gilmour guitar solo on the title track. My job was to perform something comparable on tour, tall shoes to fill. We first met backstage at the Royal Albert Hall during one of our week-long stints there. ‘Spiral Glide’ is my tribute to Gilmour, a true English gentleman and lifelong inspiration.”

The chemistry of Carl’s touring band (John Mader drums, Jim Cox keyboards and Dave Marotta bass) is deep on “Clawhammer Man,” a song that “grew out of a 2 bar lick played out of a tiny 4 watt amplifier. Inspiration can come from anywhere,” says Carl.

Walking by a grand piano in a hotel lobby in Alberta, Canada, a 15 year old Verheyen stopped to play the intro to the #1 song of the day, “Bridge Over Troubled Water.” Carl recalls, “A few seconds later a familiar voice began singing over my right shoulder. Turning around I realized it was Art Garfunkel himself! Garfunkel is a song about that incredible memory.”

The Rascals were always a favorite band of Verheyen’s and Felix Cavalier one of his favorite singers. On “People Got To Be Free,” Carl reinterprets the classic as a very up tempo Ska tune. Guitar pyrotechnics are unavoidable at that tempo, so Carl gets a chance to show off his formidable chops.

“No Time for a Kiss” is a blues-rock style ballad with a melodic solo that soars like Jeff Beck but is distinctly Verheyen. And Carl says this about “Michelle’s Song,” “Driving home late one night I heard a long forgotten Elton John tune from a 70’s movie soundtrack called ‘Friends.’ In the spirit of this record, I imagined this beautiful tune with a southern rock meets country feel.” More Allman Bros than “Tumbleweed Connection,” Carl’s soulful vocal and guitar work is stellar throughout.

Personnel:
Piano, Hammond organ & Fender Rhodes:
Jim Cox
Piano and Hammond organ:
Mitchel Foreman
Drums:
Chad Wackerman, John Mader, John Ferraro, Nick D’Virgilio
Bass:
Dave Marotta, Tom Child
Backing vocals:
Craig Copeland, Kat Bowser, Beth Cohen

To purchase: https://carlverheyen.com/store/#cds

For more information:
www.Facebook.com/CarlVerheyen-Official
carl_verheyen for instagram

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, February 23, 2021

Estonian Guitarist Robert Jürjendal Releases Fourth Solo Album “Water Finds a Way” on NEWdOG Records

One can take the album WATER FINDS THE WAY as a coded story. Instrumental music has the power of imagination. It doesn't say directly, the hidden meaning behind the title may be something else. I call this ‘coded.’ It carries a secret which I can't open up to the end. I’m sure that a sensitive listener will find his/her own way into this complex world of music and art.” – Robert Jürjendal, Aaviku Farmstead Studio, Estonia

“Water Finds A Way” continues the colorful guitar/effects-based conception that Jürjendal began with his previous three solo efforts. With rich harmonies and melody lines, his musical language takes influence from the particular guitars and effects he uses. A graduate of Robert Fripp’s Crafty Guitar School, Jürjendal became a member of Toyah Wilcox’s band as well.

On the new album, Robert plays his new custom-built electric guitar - a fully equipped system containing a Sustainer pickup which gives a life for the long-sustained notes. Using a guitar synth (though it's hard to recognize) mixed with natural guitar sounds creating a unique hybrid.  

Robert’s previous release, “Simple Past” (Strangiato Records, 2016) was more rock-oriented, featuring one of the best Estonian drummers, Andrus Lillepea. “On Water Finds A Way” Robert doesn't use drums, except some percussion played /programmed by himself. WFAW is also a “family-affair,” as Robert’s wife, Signe, joins him for background vocals and there are beautiful themes and improvisations played on cello by Robert's son Anti Jürjendal.

For the first time on one of his solo albums, Jürjendal requested a track from an outside composer, Venezuelan synthesist Miguel Noya. Noya contributes Grey and Blue. The two had previously collaborated on the 2019 NEWdOG album, “The Power of Distance,” as well as (with Paul Godwin) “Samliku” (NEWdOG 2018). They are also members of the new international ensemble project from Eternal Return “Once Only,” due out February 23, 2021 on NEWdOG.

Photo by Kaupo Kikkas

ABOUT ROBERT JÜRJENDAL
Robert Jürjendal is an Estonian guitarist and composer, studied classical guitar and composition (Anti Marguste) at Tallinn Georg Ots Music School. During 1992-1997 he participated in Robert Fripp Guitar Craft Courses. Robert has composed for classical and contemporary guitar, cembalo, mixed ensembles, choirs; documentaries, art exhibitions and theater, across genres from folk to post-rock to ambient-jazz. With more than 50 albums, his recordings and performances include: Tõnis Mägi, Riho Sibul, Celia Roose, Kaido Kirikmäe, Weekend Guitar Trio, Fragile, UMA, Markus Reuter, Tim Bowness, Jan Bang, Colin Edwin, Arve Henriksen, Jon Durant, Paul Godwin & Miguel Noya, Five Seasons, Vox Clamantis, Estonian Philharmonic Choir, Ellerhein Girls Choir etc.

Press inquiries:
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com

About NEWdOG Records
NEWdOG Records releases fresh musical works by career ambient, progressive, post-rock, dream-pop and experimental artists from Europe, North and South America. Founded as a home for progressive ambient in the mid-'90s in San Francisco, the label found critical acclaim and a distribution home with Dave Allen's World Domination Records (WEA). Now available through Burning Shed worldwide.

For more information:
www.newdogrecords.com
Facebook @newdogrecords
https://www.facebook.com/Newdogrecords/
Instagram @newdogrecords
https://www.instagram.com/newdogrecords/
Bandcamp for Robert Jürjendal
https://robertjyrjendal1.bandcamp.com/
Soundcloud @newdogrecords
https://soundcloud.com/newdogrecords
Spotify @newdogrecords
https://open.spotify.com/user/newdogrecords

Monday, February 8, 2021

Guitarist and Film Music Mastermind Lyle Workman To Release Stunning New Instrumental Album “Uncommon Measures” on Feb. 19, 2021 on Blue Canoe Records

Epic Progressive Rock/Jazz Fusion Collection Features 63-Piece Orchestra recorded Live At Abbey Road Studios

Known both as a first-call sideman/session musician and a top-shelf film composer with credits including “Superbad,” “The 40-Year-Old Virgin,” and “Forgetting Sarah Marshall,” prolific guitarist Lyle Workman will release “Uncommon Measures,” his first solo album in a more than a decade, on February 19, 2021, via Blue Canoe Records. Featuring a 63-piece orchestra recorded live at Abbey Road under the direction of orchestrator extraordinaire John Ashton Thomas (“Black Panther,” “Captain Marvel”), the collection plays like the score to some epic film from an alternate dimension, mixing elements of progressive rock, jazz fusion, and romantic classical music with gleeful abandon.

“This record ties together all the different threads of who I am,” explains Workman. “It was four years in the making due to my film and TV schedule, but it’s really the culmination of a lifetime in music.”

Bursting at the seams with soaring arrangements and virtuosic performances, “Uncommon Measures” showcases not only Workman’s unparalleled musicianship, but also his profound empathy and expansive emotional vocabulary. The songs here are living, breathing entities, constantly growing and evolving in ways both subtle and drastic, and the production is similarly unpredictable, veering from larger-than-life bombast to whispered intimacy and back, sometimes within the very same track. The result is a record as extraordinary as it is unexpected, a captivating, transportive song cycle that manages to scale the dizzying heights of joy and sadness, love and friendship, self-discovery and celebration, all without a single word.

“Lyle Workman is a completely accomplished and inspired guitarist, musician and composer,” says Steve Vai. “He has a wicked command of the instrument and is perhaps one of three players I know of that can wield exotic orchestral compositions with either a screaming or whispering guitar. ‘Uncommon Measures’ is the masterful evidence of this.”

A California native, Workman’s musical journey began in the mid-1980s, when he joined the Sacramento-based band Bourgeois Tagg. The group landed a deal with Island Records and gained international acclaim for their hit single “I Don’t Mind At All,” a Workman co-write that helped earn performances on the Tonight Show, Top Of The Pops, American Bandstand, and their European equivalents. The band proved to be a launching pad for Workman, who soon began picking up gigs in the studio and on the road with the likes of Sting, Beck, Frank Black, Jellyfish, Todd Rundgren, Norah Jones, Bryan Adams, and jazz icon Tony Williams, who included Workman’s “Machu Picchu” on his final album, “Wilderness,” with Stanley Clarke and Herbie Hancock. Workman’s skills as a sideman turned out to make him ideally suited for the world of film and television, as well, and work writing commercial jingles soon gave way to jobs composing for indie films, which opened the door to major studio releases and a connection with Judd Apatow, who began hiring Workman to score many of his projects. To date, Workman has composed music for films that have generated over a billion dollars at the box office worldwide.

PURCHASING LINK:
https://www.bluecanoerecords.com/uncommon_measures.html

SOCIAL MEDIA:
https://www.facebook.com/lyleworkman.musician
https://www.instagram.com/lyle.workman/
https://www.youtube.com/c/lyleworkmanofficial
https://twitter.com/lyle_workman

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, November 30, 2020

Lucifer’s Friend Guitarist Peter Hesslein Releases New Solo Album of Guitar Instrumentals Called 'Night Drive' – Out Now!

In the 50th Anniversary year of Lucifer’s Friend, the band’s guitarist Peter Hesslein has completed this new studio album of rock instrumentals called Night Drive.

Lucifer’s Friend reformed in 2015 and since then has recorded new studio albums and played concerts and high-profile festivals.

This new studio album is Peter Hesslein’s first solo album and will be popular with fans and guitarists alike.  The album has been released on Lucifer’s Records via Cherry Red.

Speaking about the album, Peter Hesslein said: “I dedicate this album to all artists who work at night, as their normal working hours, but then have to drive home.”

Track list:
1. TURN THE RADIO ON
2. SLOW DOWN A BIT
3. FEELING HUNGRY
4. LOOKING AT THE MOON
5. LONG WAY TO GO
6. BLINDED BY THE LIGHTS
7. WINDING ROAD
8. CLOSE TO MIDNIGHT
9. GETTING TIRED
10. TIME FOR COFFEE
11. A BEAUTIFUL NIGHT
12. EXIT THE HIGHWAY
13. CROSSING THE BRIDGE
14. HOME AGAIN
15. FALLING ASLEEP

To purchase:
Amazon CD: https://geni.us/NightDriveCD
iTunes: https://geni.us/NightDriveiTunes
Spotify: https://geni.us/NightDriveSpotify
HDtracks: https://geni.us/NightDriveHD  

Peter Hesslein’s official Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Lucifersfriendph/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, August 28, 2020

Guitar Virtuoso Marcelo Paganini to Release Prog Rock-Jazz-Fusion Single “Circus Is Empty” From New Album feat. Billy Sherwood, Adam Holzman, Chad Wackerman & Others


French-Brazilian guitar virtuoso Marcelo Paganini is releasing his new prog rock-jazz-fusion single called “Circus Is Empty” on 28th August 2020. Written, arranged and performed by Marcelo on guitar and keyboards, the track features Billy Sherwood (Yes/Asia) on vocals, Adam Holzman (Steve Wilson Band/Miles Davis) on solo keyboards, Chad Wackerman (Frank Zappa/Alan Holdsworth) on drums, and Adriano Campagnani (Beto Guedes Band) on bass. Daniel Boivin mixed and Maor Appelbaum did the mastering.

“I was daydreaming, thinking that after ARW (Anderson, Rabin, Wakeman) maybe it’s time for PSH (Paganini, Sherwood, Holzman)!” jokes Paganini from the studio of his old stone house in Catalunia, Spain. “It’s unbelievable that some of the best talents on the planet all agreed to participate – the whole Universe conspired to make it happen! All my steps led me to this old house in the woods.”

“Circus Is Empty” is the song people didn’t know they were waiting for. It blends the urgency of 2020 vibes and sounds with classic prog elements and furious jazz-fusion improvisation. The title is a tribute to Shakespeare’s The Tempest - “Hell is empty, and all the devils are here.” “Crazy times, the circus is empty and all the clowns are in power,” says Paganini. “There is a call to vote, if it wasn’t important they would not be trying so hard to discourage people.”

Marcelo faced an uphill task moving his studio from Normandy, France to Catalunia, Spain. Closed borders, an old laptop which struggled in the Spanish heat, a 300-year-old house which floods in the rain, and an album to finish. “It was 40 degrees outside, not that I could go outside while there was still work to do inside. Not to mention all gigs stopping overnight! It became so much that I had to ask my friends for help, but it taught me who my real friends are, and that I have the best friends around. Then I had to let some good old friends go too, I was too much trouble in too little time for them.”

His persistence has paid off though. “Identity Crisis”, which includes “Circus is Empty”, is due for release on all platforms, with an exclusive vinyl version on his Bandcamp page, on December 11th to mark his 56th birthday. “If the world is still spinning by then!” he laughs.



“I am trying to prove to myself that my last compositions are as good as the first ones... The prog scene is full of artists that wrote their best material many Dark Sides of the Keith Moon ago! Me too by the way, but seriously… Folks are you keeping your best songs for when they will offer a better deal? They won’t, so it is better to release your best material right now while we are all still around! Or else it may end in the trash can.”

“Why ‘Identity Crisis’? Who the Hell is this Marcelo Paganini guy anyway?” he asks. “I am trying to figure that out, for now I don’t even know what food to eat without getting sick... Let’s say for now that Marcelo Paganini is a French-Brazilian guy from New York City, with an Italian stage name, living secluded in the woods up the hill in Catalunia, Spain, that thinks he is a real Spitfire Dragon from Outer Space who crash landed on Earth some time ago...”

Billy Sherwood sings lead on the whole album, and on two tracks along with special guests Marcelo Paganini performed with on Cruise to the Edge 2015: Karla Downey and Jamison Smeltz. Jamison also provided a searing sax solo on the final track “Captain’s Face”, which was written for producer Larry Morand, who invited him to attend the 2015 Cruise To The Edge, about his life changing experience. “Of course I’d love to come back to Cruise To The Edge in 2022,” says Paganini. “It would be great to play live with this band at least once, Billy Sherwood and Adam Holzman are already on board, I bet Captain Prog Larry can make it happen!”

Among other surprise guests, legendary jazz Drummer Lenny White (Return To Forever/Miles Davis) recorded two songs for the album, including “Learn To Love To Wait” which also features Billy Sherwood on bass and Adam Holzman on keys. “I only played guitar on that one,” laughs Paganini. “With so many legends from other bands it’s the mother of all supergroups, but only if it happens without me, I was told. So, I had to let them play together without me for a few bars so it remains a supergroup at least there! I am trying hard to convince another legend to record a guitar solo in that spot!”

Marcelo lost his beloved rescue cat Don Juan in March 2019, and “it was then that things started to become weird fast. The French Cinema Archive CNC demanded a €15K 35mm print of my film ‘First time in Rio’ or I’d have to pay a €70k fine, an absurd situation as I couldn’t afford either. I couldn’t understand why, since they accepted a digital deposit of my film “The 8th Bullet” in 2007. I had to put everything I have on a truck and move to Spain last October. Here I will wait until French cinema people get me out of this. Meanwhile I am depressed, broke, in debt, away from home, family and remaining cats and did nothing wrong! Maybe the president of UNIFRANCE, the president of the CNC and the new Culture Minister of France Rosalyne Bachelot can get Kafka out of my reality? I feel like someone powerful did not want me to make any more films, but it backfired, since I am making a new film about all this.” The upcoming film is also called “Identity Crisis” and will use the album for its soundtrack.

“Then my credit card disappeared and I had no money to live for several weeks. All these events were eye opening experiences. They made me discover fundamental truths: only stupid people are afraid of dying, they are also afraid of living.

“I was bullied since I was little, most people in real life reject me, I am strange, different and proud of it, but harmless. The cat came to me, he chose me, that changed me forever, I learned a lot from him. My friends joke that Don Juan wrote most of the music and that I cannot really play it without him! Let’s just say that so many things happened ever since, that today no one can play that stuff  on the guitar, not even me, since I forgot everything. But don’t worry I am a fast learner”. Marcelo wrote most of the songs of the album with Don Juan around and “Identity Crisis” is dedicated to him and to Billy's brother Michael Sherwood that left us too soon last November.



Marcelo Paganini is now represented by Mr Bowler Music Agency in the Netherlands. Exciting news awaits for 2021…

Purchase link
https://marcelopaganini.bandcamp.com/

Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/Marcelo-Paganini-13255032254/

YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/user/MarcelloPaganini

Mastered by Maor Appelbaum at Maor Appelbaum Mastering - California - U.S.A
http://www.maorappelbaum.com/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, July 20, 2020

Guitar Legend Steve Hunter’s Cafe la Rouge Presents "Covered with Love"


“A beautiful, soul-lifting labor of love! Check it out!” Bob Ezrin

Out of the extraordinary circumstances of Covid19 that kept him in lockdown at his home in Spain for three months, renowned guitar player Steve (the Deacon) Hunter came up with an idea to pick half a dozen classic songs and give them a whole new coat of paint.

Steve used skills learned over the last 45 years in recording studios around the World, working with artists like Peter Gabriel, Lou Reed, Alice Cooper and Tracy Chapman, to come up with these musical gems.

A cocktail of influences and styles, glued together by his outstanding gifts as a musician, arranger and Producer. Steve’s old compadre, bass player Tony Levin, stepped in as a special guest and added a bottom end to die for. So, along with Steve’s wife Karen Hunter’s smokey vocals, he had a recipe for six tracks of delicious ear candy.

Between them they have conjured up a little slice of Blue/Jazz Heaven that Steve calls his “Cafe la Rouge” Project.

Tracks:

1) “Centerpiece” (written by written by Harry Edison and Jon Hendricks, was covered by Joni Mitchel on her album “The Hissing Of Summer Lawns”)
2) “Spooky” (written by Mike Sharp and Harry Middlebrooks Jr. Recorded by Classics 1V and Atlanta Rhythm Section, it has been covered by many but most notably Dusty Springfield)
3) “Beginning to See the Light” (written by Duke Ellington, Don George, Johnny Hodges and Harry James)
4) “And I Love Her” (written by Lennon and McCartney)
5) “Majesty of Life” (written by Phoebe Snow)
6) “S'Wonderful” (written by George and Ira Gershwin)

To purchase:
https://cafelarouge.hearnow.com/
https://www.amazon.com/Covered-Love-Cafe-Rouge/dp/B08CMY33BV?fbclid

For more information: http://www.stevehunter.com/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Guitarists Jon Durant and Robert Jürjendal Release A Vibrant New Musical Collaboration "Across the Evening"


“Across the Evening,” by ambient experimental guitarists Jon Durant and Robert Jürjendal, further extends the ambient/jazz/world crossover music both musicians have traversed throughout their diverse careers. Featuring appearances from Colin Edwin (UK) on bass, Aleksei Saks (Estonia) on trumpet, and Andi Pupato (Switzerland) on percussion, “Across the Evening” is a multi-dimensional, trans continental delight.

With sounds that caress and envelop, rhythms that percolate and inspire, the two guitarists nimbly play off each other and their guests, rarely allowing the listener to imagine that they are hearing guitars.

From the sublime “Reflective Sea” to the deep middle eastern vibe of “Beguiling Eyes,” the album crosses multiple stylistic boundaries. The final two tracks, “Return to Russia” and “Balkan Blue” are live recordings from the ensemble's live performance in Tallin, Estonia in 2019.

Says Jon, “Robert and I had known each others' work for some time - I'm really fond of his group Uma (with Aleksei Saks), and between my collaborations with Tony Levin and Colin Edwin, he'd been following my work as well. But we hadn't connected personally until recently. When the idea of collaborating was floated, we met it with great enthusiasm. We are both very interested in the textural possibilities with guitar but approach it differently, both in terms of tools and techniques. In the end, the two approaches blend wonderfully, and it's often hard to believe that what you’re hearing is guitar. When we began working, we realized that while it's great to be able to work remotely, there was a strong desire to also work together in the same room. I arranged a trip to Tallinn, and Robert organized a concert at Philly Joe's Jazz Club in Tallinn. We were very fortunate to have Aleksei Saks join us on Trumpet, and Inna Kovtun came up from Kiev to sing with us. It was an incredibly inspiring evening, and two tracks on the album are from the recording of that show. The album includes ideas and concepts born out of our few days of rehearsing and improvising together, and flushed out with fantastic performances from Colin Edwin (bass) and Andi Pupato (percussion).”

THE ARTISTS

Jon Durant - Guitars

Jon Durant brings a unique sense of texture and melody to his instrument. His unique “cloud guitar” soundscapes and engaging lead work have graced numerous CD recordings and film soundtracks and his very distinctive use of fretless guitar has been widely admired. He has previously released 9 solo albums and three Burnt Belief records (with Colin Edwin). Durant's acclaimed 2018 solo release “Parting Is” was his first “solo guitar” recording and the follow up solo guitar album “Alternate Landscapes” continue to stretch the boundaries of what a guitar record can sound like. Both solo CDs have been nominated for “Best Ambient Album” in various US new age radio publications, while “Alternate Landscapes” also spent multiple weeks at the top of the NACC Chill Charts.

Robert Jürjendal - Guitars

Robert Jürjendal is an Estonian guitarist and composer who studied classical guitar and composition (Anti Marguste) at Tallinn Georg Ots Music School. In 1992-1997 he participated in Robert Fripp Guitar Craft Courses. He has written music for classical and contemporary guitar, cembalo, mixed ensembles, choirs; documentaries, art exhibitions and theater. His compositions include both traditional and contemporary elements, from folk music to post-rock and ambient-jazz. Robert Jürjendal is working as a freelancer composer / artist / lecturer. He is also the curator of the music program SOOLO at Tallinn Art Hall. Recent albums include “Source Of Joy” (Unsung Records 2013), “Balm Of Light” (iapetus - media 2014) and “Simple Past” (Strangiato Records 2016). “Another World” (with Colin Edwin) (Hard World 2018), “Five Seasons” (Albany Records 2018), With Noya and Godwin, “Samliku” (New Dog Records 2019), with Sandor Szabo “Electric Poetry” (Greydisc 2019).

To purchase:
Bandcamp: https://jondurant.bandcamp.com/album/across-the-evening

Burning Shed: https://burningshed.com/jon-durant_robert-jurjendal_across-the-evening_cd

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Across-Evening-Jon-Durant/dp/B089LYGZKT

Jon Durant's official website: http://www.jondurant.com
Robert Jürjendal's official website: http://robertjyrjendal.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, June 15, 2020

Genesis Guitar Legend Anthony Phillips THE LIVING ROOM CONCERT Remastered & Expanded Digipak Edition To Be Released July 24, 2020


• A NEW REMASTERED & EXPANDED EDITION OF THIS ALBUM OF A LIVE RADIO PERFORMANCE 
• WITH THREE PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED BONUS TRACKS
• FULLY RESTORED ARTWORK & NEW ESSAY BY JON DANN

Esoteric Recordings are pleased to announce the release of a new re-mastered and expanded edition of THE LIVING ROOM CONCERT by original Genesis guitarist and celebrated solo artist and composer ANTHONY PHILLIPS.

Originally released in May 1995, the album featured highlights of a live solo performance by Anthony which was recorded on March 21st 1993 as part of the Living Room Concert Series for the US Radio program Echoes, a daily program of contemporary instrumental music. The show was broadcast on 120 public radio stations in America on 25th June 1993.

For the performance Anthony selected a number of acoustic guitar and piano pieces for the performance, drawing mainly on tracks originally released on the albums The Geese and The Ghost, Private Parts and Pieces and A Catch at The Tables, along with two pieces from New England, the eighth volume in the Private Parts & Pieces series and a solo 12-string version of the first movement of a Guitar Quintet that he had composed in 1976, which had subsequently been scored with parts for strings and wind instruments; “Conversation Piece.”

Unavailable on CD for many years, THE LIVING ROOM CONCERT has been remastered and expanded to include three previously unreleased tracks recorded for the original broadcast, “Jaunty Roads,” “Let Us Now Make Love” and “Lucy: An Illusion.”

This Esoteric Recordings edition restores the original artwork and includes new liner notes by Anthony Phillips archivist Jon Dann.

TRACK LISTING

1. REAPER
2. WHICH WAY THE WIND BLOWS
3. HENRY: PORTRAITS FROM TUDOR TIMES
4. CONVERSATION PIECE
5. FLAMINGO
6. FIELD OF ETERNITY
7. SISTINE
8. LIGHTS ON THE HILL
9. LAST GOODBYES
10. COLLECTIONS
11. SLEEPFALL
BONUS TRACKS
12. JAUNTY ROADS
13. LET US NOW MAKE LOVE
14. LUCY: AN ILLUSION

Released July 24, 2020.


To purchase: https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/anthony-phillips-the-living-room-concert-remastered-expanded-digipak-edition/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Thursday, March 12, 2020

Emmy Award Winning Guitarist Brian Tarquin's "Vegas Blue" In Memory of Las Vegas Tragedy


Featuring guest artists Steve Morse, Trey Gunn, Ron ‘Bumblefoot’ Thal, Phil Naro, Hal Lindes, Tony Carey and others!

Las Vegas, Nevada, Mandalay Bay Hotel, October 1st, 2017. This was the site of a tragic and, all too familiar, occurrence involving a deadly mass shooting at the hands of a deranged gunman. What began that evening as a peaceful and celebratory country music concert ended in bullet-riddled chaos and carnage for countless patrons and innocent by-standers. This latest recording project by multi-Emmy winning guitarist/producer/engineer Brian Tarquin and company is dedicated to helping the families and survivors of this horrific mass shooting. And, in doing so, may also shine the spotlight on the need for sensible, responsible and humane gun laws and safety.

Says Brian, “This release is dedicated to the victims of the tragic events that occurred at  the Mandalay Bay Hotel in Las Vegas October 1, 2017. All of our hearts and prayers go out to them and their families. Through this music we have tried to creatively express our deepest feelings.”

If music is, indeed, a supreme healer then one needs look no further than this visionary endeavor. And, as with many of Tarquin’s previous charitable compilations, the material, guest stars and production is first rate. From start to finish the listener is transported to that fateful evening, yet uplifted through the power of these stellar performances.

Says Brian, “Time after time we watch senseless acts of gun violence in the news media creating a sense of indifference in our consciousness. We musicians have come together to bring emotion and awareness through our performances.”

Multi Emmy Award winning Brian Tarquin is an established top rate composer/guitarist. He has won 3 Emmy's for “Outstanding Achievement in Music Direction and Composition for a Drama Series” and has been nominated for an Emmy 6 times. In 2019 Tarquin received a Global Music Gold Award for his release “Orlando In Heaven” for “Best Album.” Three years in a row (2016-2019) Tarquin received “Best Album Of The Year” nominations from the Independent Music Awards for his releases “Guitars For Wounded Warriors,” “Orlando in Heaven” and “Guitars for Veterans.” On which, Tarquin shows his guitar prowess along side such world-class shredders as: Steve Morse, Larry Coryell, Mike Stern, Billy Sheehan, Gary Hoey, Bumblefoot (Guns N’ Roses), Reb Beach (Whitesnake), Hal Lindes (Dire Straits), Chris Poland (Megadeth) and Chuck Loeb (FourPlay). In 2006 SESAC honored him with the Network Television Performance Award. Tarquin has graced the Top Billboard Charts with such commercial releases as: “This is Acid Jazz, Vol. 2,” “Sweet Emotions,” and “Bossa Brava: Caliente” on Instinct Records, followed by several solo jazz albums, which charted Top 10 at Smooth Jazz Radio R&R and Gavin charts. Brian has appeared on 38 releases, selling over 140,000 records in his career.

Produced & engineered by Brian Tarquin

Recorded at Jungle Room Studios, Florida 2018-2019 entirely thru a analog Trident mixing console on a 24 track Ampex 1200 tape machine and a Otari Radar, mixed down to a Ampex 440c 1/4” tape machine.

Mastered by David Glasser & Geoff Gray at Airshow Mastering, Boulder, CO

Tracks:
1. Distant Light featuring Steve Morse & Hal Lindes
2. Lights of Las Vegas featuring Phil Naro & Ron ‘Bumblefoot’ Thal
3. Demonic featuring Trey Gunn
4. Tomorrow's Another Day featuring Phil Naro
5. Vegas Blue
6. Evil In Men's Hearts featuring Tony Carey
7. Forgiveness featuring Phil Naro
8. Know Me featuring Phil Naro
9. Hallowed Ground featuring Trey Gunn
10. Run For Cover featuring Phil Naro, Randy Coven & The Flyin’ Ryan Bros
11. Distant Light (vocal) featuring Phil Naro, Steve Morse & Hal Lindes

Here's what the press has said about “Vegas Blue”:

“The material, guest stars and production is first rate. From start to finish the listener is transported to that fateful evening, yet uplifted through the power of these stellar performances.” - Eric Harabadian, Progression Magazine

“Tarquin writes with soul and fire and plays with passion and precision. Once again, he has enlisted a first-rate squad of guests performers, including Trey Gunn (King Crimson), Steve Morse (Deep Purple) and Bumblefoot (GN'R), who help bring these rich, vivid recordings to life.” - Mark Nardone, Music Connection

“…every note, phrase, tone color, and impact of pick and/or finger on string will send shivers down your spine.” - Guitar Player Magazine

“…his passion for purity is more than evident – in both the music he makes and the way it’s recorded.” - Professional Sound Magazine

To pre-order:
Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/music/album?id=Btk5sdlj2fmtn5ezc36brswgx4e
iTunes: https://music.apple.com/us/album/vegas-blue/1499568963
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/album/15SDfd04dcaEKuGsC3JQNT?si=I8uKmhUKQo-YmtQbgkV8fQ

For more information:
BHP Music-Guitar Trax Records, LLC
www.gtrtrax.com
www.jungleroomstudios.com
www.briantarquin.com
https://guitartrax.bandcamp.com

Press inquiries: 
Glass Onyon PR
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, January 31, 2020

Guitar Legend Trevor Rabin To Release "Changes" 10 Disc Box Set March 16, 2020


Trevor Rabin had a hugely successful career in his native South Africa as part of what would be considered a teenybop band entitled Rabbitt. Whilst the band had much domestic success, outside of South Africa nobody knew who they were so Trevor Rabin left the band and South Africa and headed for London where he was signed up as a solo artist. He made three good and well-received rock albums before teaming up with the remnants of YES and forming a band called Cinema. Cinema with the addition of Jon Anderson would become the latest edition of YES in 1983 scoring with the massively successful album 90125. Trevor recently finished several successful tours with YES featuring Anderson, Rabin, Wakeman and, along with YES, was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2017.

His collaborations include working with Seal, Michael Jackson, Manfred Mann, Tina Turner, Bob Dylan and Paul Rodgers to name a few.

He has received numerous awards including eleven BMI Film and TV Awards, a Grammy, a Lifetime Achievement Award (Los Angeles Music Awards), a Career Achievement Award (Temecula International Film Festival), and Gold Medal for Excellence in Film Music Award (Park City Film Festival).

Trevor has since become one of the most sought-after film composers in the business, with 34 films to date. He has created music that crosses barriers and genres that have made him one of the premier composers of contemporary music. As a guitarist, keyboardist, singer, songwriter, producer or recording engineer Trevor has established himself as a leader in the contemporary music field.

Box Set Contents:

Disc 1 - Beginnings
Disc 2 - Face to Face
Disc 3 - Wolf
Disc 4 - Can't Look Away.
Disc 5 - Can't Look Away bonus tracks
Disc 6 - 90124
Disc 7 - Live in Boston 1989 part 1
Disc 8 - Live in Boston 1989 part 2
Disc 9 - Lost Soundtracks Vol. 1 - Jack Frost.
Disc 10 - Lost Soundtracks Vol. 2

also includes
Signed and Numbered Certificate
24 page A4 Photo Book, “The Making of Wolf”
24 page A4 Photo Book, “The Can't Look Away photo Session”
A3 Poster
4 x 10” x 8” Reproduction Promotional Photos
Reproduction Press Cuttings



Disc 1 - Beginnings 

Getting To Know You Better 4:12
Stay With Me 3:49
I Love You 5:01
Love Alone 2:13
Love Life 4:01
Fantasy  3:19
Painted Picture 3:36
Could There Be 4:27
Live A Bit 4:44
Red Desert 3:38

Beginnings Bonus Tracks

Getting To Know You Better (single edit) 3:20
Stay With Me  (single edit) 3:18



Disc 2 - Face to Face

I'll Take The Weight 3:56
Don't You Ever Lose 4:00
I'm Old Enough (To Make You A Woman) 4:10
The Wanderer 3:48
You 2:40
Now 4:50
The Ripper 3:48
Candy's Bar 4:02
Always The Last One 5:06

Face to Face Bonus Tracks

Don't You Ever Lose (single edit) 3:19



Disc 3 - Wolf

Open Ended 3:25
Heard You Cry Wolf 5:43
Do Ya Do Ya Want Me 3:30
Stop Turn 4:05
Lost In Love 3:45
Looking For A Lady (Wolfman) 4:41
Pain 4:35
Take Me To A Party 3:38
She's Easy 4:26
Long Island 3:41



Disc 4 - Can't Look Away

I Can't Look Away 7:19
Something To Hold On To 5:05
Sorrow (You Heart) 4:28
Cover Up 5:17
Promises 5:54
Etoile Noir 1:03
Eyes Of Love 6:53
I Don't Think It Would Last 4:05
Hold On To Me 4:42
Sludge 2:28
I Miss You Now 5:38
The Cape 2:57

Disc 5 - Can’t Look Away bonus tracks

Sorrow (Your Heart) (Edit) 3:28
I Can't Look Away (Edit) 5:04
Something To Hold On To (Demo Version) 4:15
Dan Neer Promotional Interview (Questions and Answers) 22:42
Dan Neer Promotional Interview (Answers Only) 19:05



Disc 6 - 90124

Hold On (Demo 1981) 6:19
Changes (Demo 1981) 3:11
Moving In 5:31
Would You Feel My Love 5:00
Where Will You Be (Demo 1991) 5:06
Owner Of A Lonely Heart (Demo 1981) 7:01
Walls (Demo 1990) 4:20
Promenade 1:44
Love Will Find A Way 3:29
Miracle Of Life 6:56
Cinema (Demo 1981) 4:31



Disc 7 - Live in Boston 1989 part 1 - 05 December 1989 (Previously Unreleased)

Cover Up
Sorrow (Your Heart)
Cry Wolf
Changes
Etoile Noir/Eyes Of Love
Solly's Beard
Something To Hold On To

Disc 8 - Live in Boston 1989 part 2

Carry On/Promises
Sludge
Can't Look Away
Make It Easy
Owner Of A Lonely Heart
Love Will Find A Way
Outroduction



Disc 9 - Lost Soundtracks Vol. 1 - Jack Frost (Previously Unreleased)

Frostbite
The Snowball Fight
It's Snowing
Magic Harmonica
Miss Him Too
The Cabin
Goodbye
The J Shot
Frost In Medford
Charlie Boy



Disc 10 - Lost Soundtracks Vol. 2 (Previously Unreleased)

Remember The Titans
Grace
Banger Sisters
Prague
A Beautiful Mind Trailer
Remembrance
Friendship
Sunrise
Gettysburg

Check out the newly launched Trevor Rabin shop, which as well as the box set, includes some rare and signed CDs: https://www.musicglue.com/trevor-rabin/shop

Trevor Rabin's official website: https://trevorrabin.net/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, December 18, 2019

Robert Fripp’s Introduction To The Guitar Circle Four-Day-Long Event For Guitar Players and Music-Lovers To Be Held in Saratoga Springs, NY - October 22nd - 26th, 2020

For Immediate Release

Robert Fripp’s Introduction To The Guitar Circle Four-Day-Long Event For Guitar Players and Music-Lovers To Be Held in Saratoga Springs, NY - October 22nd - 26th, 2020  


AN INTRODUCTION TO THE GUITAR CIRCLE
October 22-26th. 2020

If music is to enter our world, the role of the audience is as necessary as the role of the musician.

So, for the first time in the life of Guitar Craft and the Guitar Circle, we are inviting audients to this Intro, to learn the techniques and approaches available to Crafty Guitarists.

Music has its own intelligence, but can music change the world? If so, how? How does a musician become present in the place within them where music lives, or visits for a while? How is an audient present within themself when music visits? How does music come into our lives? What is involved in the process of musical performance?

For those interested in guitar playing, work will be on acoustic guitars in the New Standard Tuning – CGDAEG. Guitar meetings / workshops will be in groups of all sizes, including individual meetings with the Guitar Buddies.

This Introduction to the work of the Guitar Circle will also include classes in Alexander Technique, Orchestral Maneuvers, T’ai Chi, Zen meditation, The Process Of Performance, and Doing Nothing – As Much As You Can!

There is nothing solemn about any of this, and I’m intending to have a good time. This is an approach to play, playing, serious play and playing seriously.

I recommend that everyone come with an aim.

You are invited.

Robert Fripp
Friday 8th. November, 2019;
Middle England.

Click below for full details...
https://robertfrippsguitarcircle.com/

An Introduction to the Guitar Circle with Robert Fripp


4 DAYS AND NIGHTS OF ZEN AND THE ART OF GUITAR!
Robert Fripp’s Introduction To The Guitar Circle is a four-day-long event for guitar players and music-lovers of all levels, interests, and tastes. Whether you are a master player, a beginner, or just an enthusiastic fan, our four-day programs offer activities and workshops for you. The environment is strictly non-competitive and is about immersing oneself in the joys of music and our lovely Fall Foliage surroundings of Saratoga Springs, NY! Robert Fripp’s Introduction To The Guitar Circle will only be open to participants who are 18 or older.

Some of the activities at this event will include:

Introduction to the New Standard Tuning
Working in a Guitar Circle
How to Play Schizoid Man!
The Right Hand
The Left Hand
Fingerboard Exercises
Counting and Rhythm
How to Make and Recover from Mistakes
Proper Posture
The Practice of Doing Nothing
The Alexander Technique
Tai Chi
Meditation and Mindfulness
Walking Meditation
Audience Craft

SCHEDULE & ITINERARY
Our full schedule will be announced in the spring, but every day will be filled with classes, workshops, concerts, and personal instruction led by Robert and his team of coaches and musicians. Listed below is an example of a typical day.

TYPICAL DAY

7:00am – 7:45am
Morning sitting (led by Robert)

8:00am – 9:30am
Breakfast and Q&A (for Robert and staff)

10:00am – 11:00am
Multiple Breakout Sessions #1

11:15am – 12:15pm
Multiple Breakout Sessions #2

12:30pm – 1:00pm
Tai Chi or wellness workshop

1:00pm – 2:30pm
Lunch and Q&A (for Robert and staff)

3:00pm – 4:00pm
Multiple Breakout Sessions #3

4:00pm – 5:00pm
Tea time and Q&A (for Robert and staff)

5:15pm – 6:15pm
Multiple Breakout Sessions #4

6:30pm – 7:00pm
Tai Chi or wellness workshop

7:00pm – 8:30pm
Dinner and Q&A (for Robert and staff)

9:00pm – 11:00pm
House of Guitars, Concert or some other activity involving everyone

During Robert Fripp’s Introduction to the Guitar Circle, nothing is compulsory but some things are necessary. Robert feels strongly that alcohol and drug use are incompatible with this work and are strongly discouraged. Hey, the anticipated polyrhythms* alone are enough to deter anyone from even thinking about drinking! So, any participant who partakes in drugs or alcohol during the event may be asked to forego participating in our activities. Thank you for your cooperation.

*Polyrhythms: The simultaneous combination of contrasting rhythms in a musical composition. Rhythmic conflicts, or cross-rhythms, may occur within a single metre (e.g., two eighth notes against triplet eighths or worse!) and may even be reinforced by simultaneous combinations of conflicting metres. You will happily experience some of these during Robert’s event!

FEATURED ARTISTS

ROBERT FRIPP
Guitarists and More
Featuring members of the League of Crafty Guitarists, Orchestra of Crafty Guitarists, The California Guitar Trio, a host of wellness and lifestyle coaches and more!

For more information: https://robertfrippsguitarcircle.com/