Showing posts with label Jazz. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Jazz. Show all posts

Thursday, September 1, 2022

French Music Legends Magma To Release New Studio Album “Kartëhl” on September 30, 2022!

2020/2021. More than 18 months without being able to do a concert. This space of time, this imposed “pause”, was used to prepare a new album, a group album, like Magma hadn’t done for a long time.

Following the creation of a new line-up in 2020, Magma once again offered to musicians to bring compositions, Christian Vander having never made the deliberate choice to be Magma’s sole composer. But de facto, none of the dozens of musicians who participated in this adventure had offered a new song for decades!

After “ZËSS”, which hinted at a rather bleak future, this luminous and resolutely optimistic new album is the result of collective work, an “Operation Kartëhl”.

In addition to the 6 tracks recorded in 2022, the album contains as a bonus, two demos recorded “at home” from Christian Vander’s personal collection.

Hakëhn Deis 7:12 (Christian Vander)
Do Rïn Ïlï üss 4:38 (Hervé Aknin)
Irena Balladina 5:11 (Christian Vander)
Walömëhndêm 7:36 (Thierry Eliez)
Wiï Mëlëhn Tü 8:54 ( Simon Goubert)
Dëhndë 6:55 (Christian Vander) *

Bonuses
Hakëhn Deis 6:11 (Christian Vander)
Recorded in 1978 - Christian Vander: Piano, vocals – René Garber: vocals

Dëhndë 6:38 (Christian Vander) *
Recorded in 1978 - Piano, vocals: René Garber

“Kartëhl” was recorded and mixed by Francis Linon at UZ studio between March 7 and June 12, 2022. Mastered at Greasy records studio by Marcus Linon. Produced by Stella Vander Linon.

Line-up – Christian Vander : drums, solo vocals, tambourine / Stella Vander : solo vocals, vocals, chime / Hervé Aknin : solo vocals, vocals / Isabelle Feuilleboi s: vocals / Sylvie Fisichella : vocals / Caroline Indjein : vocals / Laura Guarrato : vocals / Rudy Blas : guitar / Thierry Eliez : piano, Fender Rhodes, keyboards / Simon Goubert : piano, Fender Rhodes, keyboards / Jimmy Top : bass

*The royalties will be donated in full to the Fondation Initiative Autisme

Magma’s “Kartëhl” will be released on CD (Sept. 30) and 3-sided DBL vinyl LP (Oct. 7)

To purchase:
CD: https://www.seventhrecords.com/magma-19/kartehl-1316.html
Vinyl: https://www.seventhrecords.com/magma-19/kartehl-edition-vinyle-double-3-1317.html

For more information:
Magma's official website: www.magmamusic.org
Seventh Records: www.seventhrecords.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, August 29, 2022

Bass Virtuosos Alberto Rigoni and Michael Manring To Release New Album “Grains of Sand” on Sept. 15, 2022

Bass virtuosos Alberto Rigoni (solo, BAD As, Kim Bingham, Vivaldi Metal Project etc.) and Michael Manring (solo, Alex Skolnic, Steve Morse etc,) are glad to announce the release of their new album “Grains of Sand” on September 15th.

The album, fully instrumental, spans from prog to fusion, jazz, ambient and features Mark Zonder (Fates Warning, A-Z) on drums. Also, on some tracks the duo invited some bassists as special guests such as Billy Sheehan, Stuart Hamm, Adam Nitti and more.

Alberto Rigoni says: “After the release of ‘Song for Souls’ in memory of my father I said I was going to retire (at least for a bit) but well… I could not resist making an album with one of the best bass players in the world like Michael. Hope you will enjoy it!”

Michael Manring says: “Alberto is a prolific artist with a deep love of the bass. His enthusiasm is inspiring and it’s always a pleasure to work with him.”

The duo have already released two videos that you can view at the following links:
https://youtu.be/GuXJxlNYcBY (“No Escape” feat. Adam Nitti)
https://youtu.be/G5SjE0vRU54 (“Grains of Sands” ft. Billy Sheehan)

“Grains of Sand” will be available in digital, Digipack CD and limited edition tape/cassette! You can pre-order “Grains of Sand” at http://albertorigoni.bandcamp.com

For more information:
https://linktr.ee/albertorigoni
http://www.manthing.com

Released by Manthing Music BMI (© 2022)

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, March 9, 2022

Swiss Minimalistic Jazz Ensemble AKKU Quintet Release New “Live” Album

“Live” takes you on a 75-minute long musical journey and leads you into the cosmos of Swiss-based AKKU Quintet led by drummer and composer Manuel Pasquinelli (also known for his work with Sonar & David Torn). It contains five songs from different stages of the group's history, recorded at various locations between 2016 and 2020. You’ll hear the touch and character of each player, acting as a part of the ensemble to create this atmospheric, minimalistic yet livingly driving music.

Says Manuel, “Playing this music live is always an intense and beautiful experience. While not perfect, live versions often have a certain quality and spirit, which are hard to achieve in the studio. We want to share some live moments we captured on different occasions with this album, especially in this challenging time for live music. We didn’t do any editing. So you will hear truly handmade music. This album might be a good introduction to our work, and maybe one gets curious about the four studio albums we released before.”

They take the Swiss zen maximalist/minimalist approach of Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin, Sonar, Schnellertollermeier to a different, but utterly logical conclusion. Fabulous stuff. Recommended!” - Steve Feigenbaum, Cuneiform Records

AKKU Quintet is based in Berne (Switzerland), from where they dispense a minimalistic jazz groove to great effect. Drummer Manuel Pasquinelli, who is also responsible for the compositions, founded the band in 2010. Their first concert took place in 2011. Since then, the band has released four studio albums and is playing live regularly. Their latest studio album, “Depart,” was the first one released with 7d Media. Manuel Pasquinelli is also known as the drummer of Sonar, who are collaborating with David Torn and Bill Laswell.

Track List:

01 Waves
Recorded live on October 15, 2017 at bee-flat im Progr, Bern
Album version on “Aeon”

02 Polar
Recorded live on May 8, 2019 at bee-flat im Progr, Bern
Album version on “Aeon”

03 Deep Sleep I
Recorded live on February 18, 2020 at City Pub, Bern
Album version on “Stages of Sleep”

04 Schneemann
05 Deep Sleep II
Recorded on April 10, 2016 at Cully Jazz Festival, Cully
Album versions on “Molecules” and “Stages of Sleep”

AKKU Quintet:
Manuel Pasquinelli - Drums
Michael Gilsenan - Sax & Fx
Maja Nydegger - Grand Piano, Keys
Markus Ischer - Guitar
Andi Schnellmann - Bass

Music written by Manuel Pasquinelli
No edits loops or overdubs on this record

Here’s what the press has said about AKKU Quintet:

The group connect and lock together yet remain constantly in motion, maintaining a balletic poise and grace that skillfully builds and adds line upon line of long, sonorous notes. Though each one on its own might be gossamer-thin, when combined, they create something strong and enduring, something substantial and memorable” - Sid Smith

There is a spaciousness in these zeros and ones that AKKU Quintet allows to speak for itself. There is no unnecessary noodling to fill the gaps, every note has its place.” - Roger Trenwith, The Progressive Aspect

I had the great, great pleasure to see them on their final US show in 2018 and they take the ‘Swiss zen maximalist/minimalist approach’ of Ronin, Sonar, Schnellertollermeier to a different, but utterly logical conclusion. Fabulous stuff. Recommended!” - Steve Feigenbaum, Cuneiform Records

Taking a type of minimalist and mathrock, slowing it down with postrock atmosphere, bringing a tight clean jazz element to it, and creating a set of dreamscape styled equal balance between classical and progressive rock and you have the formula for Switzerland's unique Akku Quintet.” - Lee Henderson, Big Beautiful Noise

Very beautiful, spacious, minimalist groove.” - Anil Prasad, Innerviews

Groove becomes a compositional element, beauty an act of concentration, improvisation never a sure-fire success, but a dramaturgical stylistic device.” - Ane Hebeisen

To purchase:
US: https://akkuquintet7d.bandcamp.com/album/live
Europe: www.akkuquintet.bandcamp.com/

For more information:
www.akkuquintet.com
www.facebook.com/akkuquintet
www.instagram.com/manuelpasquinelli_akkuquintet/

www.7dmedia.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, January 12, 2022

MAGMA “MDK” Limited Edition Vinyl of 2000 Numbered Copies Available January 28th

Limited edition of 2000 individually numbered copies on copper-colored vinyl. The album is housed in a gatefold sleeve with a copper foil finish on the front of the sleeve.

The only survivors of the previous formation, Christian VANDER and Klaus BLASQUIZ, surrounded by a renewed team of musicians, invested in the studios of the Manor in Oxford in 1973, to record their “MEKANIK DESTRUKTIW KOMMANDOH,” the album considered by many to be the conductor of work of MAGMA. A long piece articulated in seven movements, “MDK” went through a long gestation period before reaching its final state of achievement. The progress made between the short 45rpm version of the previous formation, where brass work predominated, and the one presented on this album, is considerable. All the credit goes to Christian VANDER who, now alone, will irreversibly take charge of MAGMA’s artistic destiny.

If the group’s instrumental performance has gained even more power, notably with the arrival at the bass of Jannick TOP, whose playing is revealed in perfect symbiosis with the spirit of the music of Christian VANDER, what strikes above all on “MDK” is the epic breath that emerges from the masterful work accomplished by the section vocal. Propelled by an inexorable rhythm and reinforced by a female choir where Stella VANDER appears for the first time, the voices of Klaus and Christian come to haunt our minds with these magnificent songs that seem straight from our collective memory, giving MAGMA’s music a timeless and universal character.

Christian VANDER drums, vocals, organ, percussions
Jannick TOP bass
Klaus BLASQUIZ vocals, percussions
Jean-Luc MANDERLIER piano, organ
René GARBER clarinet, bass, vocals
Claude OLMOS guitar
Teddy LASRY saxophone, flute
Stella VANDER vocals, choirs
Muriel STREISFELD, Evelyne RAZYMOVSKI, Michèle SAULNIER, Doris REIHNARDT choirs

To pre-order: https://www.seventhrecords.com/en/magma-19/m-d-k-limited-edition-of-2000-numbered-1312.html

For more information:
Magma's official website: www.magmamusic.org
Seventh Records: www.seventhrecords.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, March 10, 2021

Jazz-Fusion Guitarist Gerald Gradwohl To Release 6th Album “Episode 6” April 16 2020

Working at the highest international level of quality has always been a fundamental characteristic of the Gerald Gradwohl Group. He collaborated with Bob Berg, Gary Willis, Kirk Covington, Adam Nitti amongst others. Rooted in the quartet’s own unique approach to instrumental fusion, their sixth album “Episode 6” is a celebration of improvisation set within an exciting and colorful, sonic landscape of imposing compositions. As we have come to know from guitarist and composer Gerald Gradwohl, he continues to work with musicians who, aside from their extraordinary instrumental skills, also bring maturity and creative drive into both concert and recording situations.

“Episode 6” is no exception. Gradwohl’s sophisticated and stylistically diverse instrumental compositions conceptualize exciting musical interactions, and his approach not only continues to keep live recordings fresh and challenging but also fosters the intuition and spontaneity of the musicians, all consolidating the band’s highly dynamic sound. Gerald Gradwohl (g), Thomas Kugi (sax), Jojo Lackner (b) und Harald Tanschek (dr) have once again proved themselves to be an exceptional ensemble, unifying dynamic and intimate musicality with artistic intuition and emotional depth.  

Says Gerald, “Goal of the album was to capture the live sound of this steadily gigging band. We play live with this line up since years which of course influenced my writing a lot. The sound of the live band was the main inspiration, but I also tried to capture the existing vibes during the lockdown. My plan was to work on an album in 2021, but as the pandemic changed all plans and schedules, I preponed this project and finished the song ideas I already had during April/May…We recorded 2 days live as a quartet in one room and added a few overdubs later, so the result is as it would sound live. Recording live is one of my main concepts since years as all the records I made are some kind of snapshots. Moreover, I don’t like to make everything perfect - I love the idea that the listener can feel the energy and spirit of playing together as it would be onstage.”

When looking for terms and names to describe the band, the attempt will leave you with a wide spectrum between jazz and fusion music focusing on grooving funk with a strong “Rock ‘N’ Roll Attitude” mixed with Jazz harmony to fierce discharging jazz rock storms. There is no arbitrariness in this wide array of musical styles and influences, as the band selected team players from the international jazz/fusion scene – renders the stringent compositions in a committed and playfully individual manner, putting its high-quality inventive signature to the music and derives its uniqueness and independence from a sure, pro-active and listening interaction of experienced musician personalities. Gradwohl can jump into and out of the stylistic changes like a true chameleon. He has ventured further into exploratory fusion on this effort than on any of his previous efforts.  Having the support and backing of the great rhythm section has really made this venture for Gradwohl into tribal funk fusion a viable effort of world class caliber. GG pulls all the stops of his musical skills. “As much composition as necessary and as much improvisation as possible” seems to be the dogma and the point of view of fusion-music of today for this worldwide known and acknowledged composer and performer, living in Wr. Neustadt, Austria. The great variety in composition and playing will not only fascinate Jazz and Fusion lovers - watch out for exciting live gigs!  

The album “ABQ” (2003) feat. Bob Berg, Gary Willis and Kirk Covington was a big step in Gerald’s international career. Several albums and live tours have been the result of his continuous work. 2007 “Tritone Barrier” is released. On this album Scott Henderson contributes a guest solo on the track “Jeff's Back.” This album is followed by “Sally Beth Roe” in 2009 which he recorded with his Trio - this is a real guitar trio record! In 2013 Gerald released “Big Land” feat. Tribal Tech drummer Kirk Covington on drums. “RAW” (2016) is a critically acclaimed masterpiece of Jazz and Rock music and is the first release with his current band. The band is touring regularly and releases the new album “Episode 6” in April 2021!

Says Gerald, “I hope we can present the album live as soon as possible. My main goal is to bring the Quartet to as many festivals as possible, as we really ‘burn’ onstage. My next project is already in the works - I want to prove that it is possible to do a ‘remote’ recording by sending files back and forth and still creating a live atmosphere almost as we would play together in a room. I already did a few tunes with Kirk Covington and Adam Nitti and hope that I can finish this in 2021!”

Gerald Gradwohl Group:
Gerald Gradwohl - guitar
Thomas Kugi - sax
Jojo Lackner - bass
Harald Tanschek  - drums

Here’s what the press has said about Gerald Gradwohl:

Gerald Gradwohl is a serious, progressive jazz guitarist who spans a range of styles and influences within multiple jazzish genres from silky smooth jazz to rip-roaring fusion, always with intensive guitar work.” -  EER Music

A guitarist of extraordinary depth and sensitivity. Gradwohl plays with the same kind of abandon as Scott Henderson, and is able to portray the same gracefulness as Frank Gambale, showing a solid command for his jazz meets rock guitar stylings.” - Jazz.com

If you want your jazz rock fusion hard hitting and rough, yet well balanced and without the blinding restlessness of shredding, look no further.” - FUSENET

A highly skilled soloist, Gradwohl’s style combines the hip lines of a jazz player, with the technical proclivities of a shredder.” - The Guitar Channel

Gerald Gradwohl Group “Episode 6” Released on April 6, 2021 Label: gtone211  

To purchase: http://brokensilence.de/lnk/episode6/

For more information:
www.gradwohl.at
www.facebook.com/geraldgradwohlofficial
www.instagram.com/geraldgradwohl
www.twitter.com/gtone2700
www.youtube.com/geraldgradwohlmusic

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, February 8, 2021

Guitarist and Film Music Mastermind Lyle Workman To Release Stunning New Instrumental Album “Uncommon Measures” on Feb. 19, 2021 on Blue Canoe Records

Epic Progressive Rock/Jazz Fusion Collection Features 63-Piece Orchestra recorded Live At Abbey Road Studios

Known both as a first-call sideman/session musician and a top-shelf film composer with credits including “Superbad,” “The 40-Year-Old Virgin,” and “Forgetting Sarah Marshall,” prolific guitarist Lyle Workman will release “Uncommon Measures,” his first solo album in a more than a decade, on February 19, 2021, via Blue Canoe Records. Featuring a 63-piece orchestra recorded live at Abbey Road under the direction of orchestrator extraordinaire John Ashton Thomas (“Black Panther,” “Captain Marvel”), the collection plays like the score to some epic film from an alternate dimension, mixing elements of progressive rock, jazz fusion, and romantic classical music with gleeful abandon.

“This record ties together all the different threads of who I am,” explains Workman. “It was four years in the making due to my film and TV schedule, but it’s really the culmination of a lifetime in music.”

Bursting at the seams with soaring arrangements and virtuosic performances, “Uncommon Measures” showcases not only Workman’s unparalleled musicianship, but also his profound empathy and expansive emotional vocabulary. The songs here are living, breathing entities, constantly growing and evolving in ways both subtle and drastic, and the production is similarly unpredictable, veering from larger-than-life bombast to whispered intimacy and back, sometimes within the very same track. The result is a record as extraordinary as it is unexpected, a captivating, transportive song cycle that manages to scale the dizzying heights of joy and sadness, love and friendship, self-discovery and celebration, all without a single word.

“Lyle Workman is a completely accomplished and inspired guitarist, musician and composer,” says Steve Vai. “He has a wicked command of the instrument and is perhaps one of three players I know of that can wield exotic orchestral compositions with either a screaming or whispering guitar. ‘Uncommon Measures’ is the masterful evidence of this.”

A California native, Workman’s musical journey began in the mid-1980s, when he joined the Sacramento-based band Bourgeois Tagg. The group landed a deal with Island Records and gained international acclaim for their hit single “I Don’t Mind At All,” a Workman co-write that helped earn performances on the Tonight Show, Top Of The Pops, American Bandstand, and their European equivalents. The band proved to be a launching pad for Workman, who soon began picking up gigs in the studio and on the road with the likes of Sting, Beck, Frank Black, Jellyfish, Todd Rundgren, Norah Jones, Bryan Adams, and jazz icon Tony Williams, who included Workman’s “Machu Picchu” on his final album, “Wilderness,” with Stanley Clarke and Herbie Hancock. Workman’s skills as a sideman turned out to make him ideally suited for the world of film and television, as well, and work writing commercial jingles soon gave way to jobs composing for indie films, which opened the door to major studio releases and a connection with Judd Apatow, who began hiring Workman to score many of his projects. To date, Workman has composed music for films that have generated over a billion dollars at the box office worldwide.

PURCHASING LINK:
https://www.bluecanoerecords.com/uncommon_measures.html

SOCIAL MEDIA:
https://www.facebook.com/lyleworkman.musician
https://www.instagram.com/lyle.workman/
https://www.youtube.com/c/lyleworkmanofficial
https://twitter.com/lyle_workman

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, January 11, 2021

MAGMA RETROSPEKTIW I - II – III plus Bonus Track (3CD) Remastered Edition Now Available!

Featuring bonus track of more than 15 minutes - the first studio recording of the song “Rétrovision”!

It was at the Olympia in June 1980 that the 10th anniversary of Magma was celebrated during three memorable evenings.

This retrospective, bringing together most of the musicians who were part of the group, saw the light of day in the form of 2 albums, one double, Retrospektïw 1/2 the other single, Retrospektïw 3 which was, despite its numbering, published in first. Three titles make up the menu of this Retrospektïw 3: “Retrovision,” a long piece in the continuity of the spirit of the music of the album Attahk, where, on a hellish train, the voices of Stella Vander, Guy Khalifa and Maria Popkiewicz display an astonishing ease, “Hhaï,” in a supercharged version where the Lockwood/Paganotti/Widemann trio performs wonders, and finally “La Dawotsin” where, in a much calmer register, the voice of Christian Vander captivates by its mastery and its depth sensitivity.

A bonus of more than 15 minutes appears on this reissue, it is the first studio recording of the song “Rétrovision,” a pre-production demo for a studio album made in January 1980. Finally, “Rétrovision” will never exist in a studio version.

Recorded as Retrospektïw 3 during the evenings of the Olympia in June 1980, Retrospektïw 1/2 is a fundamental album insofar as it finally presents “Theusz Hamtaahk,” the first movement of the trilogy of the same name, of which we already knew the second movement, “Ẁurdah Ïtah,” as well as the third, “Mekanïk Destruktïw Kommandöh.”

A piece performed on stage since 1974, “Theusz Hamtaahk” waited years before being engraved for eternity, because Christian Vander wanted each note to be beautiful, magical, essential and definitive. It is with the same respect for the music that he also offers us on this double album a magnificent version of “Mekanïk Destruktïw Kommandöh,” a version which allows itself two great moments with the hallucinating improvisations of Bernard Paganotti and Didier Lockwood. Klaus Blasquiz, who did not appear on the Retrospektïw 3 album, provides lead vocals this time.

Without a doubt, Magma has left the legacy of constantly evolving music, which defies all standards and connivance of rock, evolving in a universe of their own creation.

AVAILABLE JANUARY 25, 2021

To pre-order: https://www.seventhrecords.com/en/magma-19/magma-retrospektiw-i-ii-iii-bonus-1303.html

For more information:
Magma's official website: www.magmamusic.org
Seventh Records: www.seventhrecords.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Saturday, December 12, 2020

Guitar Virtuoso Marcelo Paganini to Release Album “Identity Crisis” Featuring Billy Sherwood, Rachel Flowers, Lenny White, Chad Wackerman and Others!

Featuring special guests Billy Sherwood (YES/ASIA), Adam Holzman (Steve Wilson Band), Rachel Flowers, Lenny White (Return to Forever), Chad Wackerman (Frank Zappa Band), Jan Dumée (Focus), Marc Madoré, Karla Downey, Jamison Smeltz, Damilton Viana, Esdras Ferreira and Adriano Campagnani (Beto Guedes Band)

“Identity Crisis” is the new guitar virtuoso Marcelo Paganini prog rock jazz fusion album to be released on his birthday December 11, 2020. The album features special guests Billy Sherwood (YES/ASIA), Adam Holzman (Steve Wilson Band), Rachel Flowers, Lenny White (Return to Forever), Chad Wackerman (Frank Zappa Band), Jan Dumée (Focus), Marc Madoré, Karla Downey, Jamison Smeltz, Damilton Viana, Esdras Ferreira and Adriano Campagnani (Beto Guedes Band). 5 out of 6 songs of the album were mixed and mastered by Gudjon Sveinsson in Iceland. The single “Circus is empty” was mixed by Daniel Boivin in France and mastered by Maor Appelbaum in LA, California, USA.

“When Allan Holdsworth passed away all of a sudden it was up to me and the others to keep guitar composition and playing moving forward. ‘Do your own thing’ he said every time we met. Now Eddie Van Halen passed away as well and we realize how hard it will be,” remembers Marcelo Paganini about his intentions when he started this project. “I changed the tuning of the guitar so I could not repeat anything I knew before. I decided to only use in the whole album, except for acoustic 12 string intros, the black guitar X-Ing Ibanez, no vibrato bar, bare bones. And to record just one guitar per track, to be able to play it live and sound like the album, or better. When live concerts will come back.”

The music on “Identity Crisis” mixes up the best influences from classic prog rock, with unexpected contemporary harmonic solutions and melodic turns. The songs can break loose by surprise in furious jazz fusion improvisations. As impressive as the casting in the album can be, and it is, the incredible alchemy that happened between Marcelo Paganini and Rachel Flowers in 4 out of 6 songs,  at the 11th hour, was a game changer in the intensity of that musical language. Mr Bowler Music Agency in the Netherlands is booking Marcelo Paganini Band featuring Rachel Flowers.

TRACK LIST:
Bacteria
Circus is empty
Soul much further away
Learn to love to wait
Tangerine way
Captain's face

Released December 11, 2020

To purchase: https://marcelopaganini.bandcamp.com/

For more information:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Marcelo-Paganini-13255032254/
YouTube; https://www.youtube.com/user/MarcelloPaganini
INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/marcelopaganini.ic/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Booking: Mr Bowler Music Agency
Sumatrastraat 19a
5215AX s-Hertogenbosch
The Netherlands
arne@mrbowlermusicagency.nl  Phone: +31652881212

Monday, December 7, 2020

Keyboardist and Brian Eno Collaborator Peter Chilvers and Guitarist Jon Durant Create a Series of Stunningly Beautiful Aural Vistas

Peter Chilvers & Jon Durant Release “Always Golden Sands” & “Vista” - An ambient jazz album in two parts

English keyboardist and Brian Eno collaborator Peter Chilvers teamed up with American guitarist Jon Durant to create a series of stunningly beautiful aural vistas, which blend ECM inspired chamber jazz improvisation with ambient music. For both artists, this recording was an opportunity to explore their introspective sides as well as their textural tendencies. Gentle melodies weave their way through atmospheric clouds, at times reminiscent of Budd and Eno, but with a sense of interplay between the guitar and keys those ambient pioneers left out.  

The duo settled into a rhythm of working across distant time zones during the pandemic. Tracks often began with a morning keyboard improvisation from Chilvers, which would be embellished and transformed by Durant as daylight hit his side of the Atlantic. Having completed Vista, the momentum built up, and three further tracks emerged. These stood well on their own and will be released first as “Always Golden Sand” - a starter to Vista’s main course.

The EP features the exquisitely melancholic “Always Autumn”, the playful dialog of guitar and percolating synths on “Shifting Sands”, and the pensive “Golden”, a reworking of the more rhythmic “Age of Steam” from Vista. The album also includes the darker shades of “Embers” and the expansive “Sunset” - multiple piano loops slowly build around each other, augmented by Durant’s signature cloud guitars before giving way to a deep dusky atmosphere to close the album. Best enjoyed with a glass of whisky.

Chilvers commented, “As a teenager, I fell in love with the great ECM recordings of the 70s and 80s. Working with Jon has felt like travelling back to that period and finding an undiscovered star. It’s been a joyful and effortless recording, a live album somehow recorded despite lockdowns on opposite sides of the Atlantic. I wish I could beam it back to my teenage self.”

Durant noted, “My favorite aspect of this record is the level of interplay we managed to achieve, especially given the difficult circumstances in which we made this record. Peter’s lovely piano melodies were an inspiration for me to add not just beautiful textures but also play melodically with and around his piano and synths.”

Peter Chilvers: Remodelled Pianos, Synths, Generative processes, Fretless bass
Jon Durant: Cloud Guitar, Fretless Guitar, Mixing

Release dates:

December 11. 2020
The three song EP “Always Golden Sands” will be released digitally on Bandcamp and all streaming services.

January 15, 2021
The full length “Vista” will be released digitally on Bandcamp and all streaming services.

For more information:
https://www.jondurant.rocks
http://www.peterchilvers.com

To Purchase:
https://jondurant.bandcamp.com
https://peterchilvers.bandcamp.com

About the artists:

Peter Chilvers is a musician and software designer. Best known for creating the iOs applications Bloom, Trope, Scape and Reflection with Brian Eno, he has also toured with Karl Hyde (Underworld) and recorded numerous albums with vocalists Tim Bowness and Sandra O’Neill, as well as several solo instrumental albums. Many of these were released through Burning Shed, the online label he co-founded in 2001 with Tim Bowness and Pete Morgan.

Since 2006 he has worked as a musical and technical assistant to Brian Eno on projects including the soundtracks to “The Lovely Bones” and “Spore”, album collaborations with David Byrne and the Warp releases “Small Craft on a Milk Sea”, “Drums Between the Bells” and “Lux”. He worked as Assistant Producer on Eno’s 2016 release “The Ship”, for which he also helped develop a multi-speaker installation which has been shown in many countries.

As one of the earliest successes when Apple’s App Store’s debuted in 2008, Bloom continues to be fondly remembered. This led in 2018 to a collaboration with Microsoft to produce Bloom: Open World, an augmented reality installation shown in Denmark, and Bloom: 10 Worlds, a complete reimagining of the app for modern phones and tablets. Eno and Chilvers were also commissioned to create Hypnotised, a customized version of Bloom for use in Coldplay’s live stadium shows.


Innovative guitarist Jon Durant brings a unique sense of texture and melody to his instrument. His distinctive “cloud guitar” soundscapes and engaging lead work have graced numerous CD recordings and film soundtracks and his very distinctive use of fretless guitar has been widely admired.

Durant has previously released 10 solo albums and three Burnt Belief records (with Colin Edwin of Porcupine Tree). Durant has also been featured on the Astarta / Edwin album which was released in 2016. Durant, Colin Edwin and Ukranian singer Inna Kovtun released a CD in 2019 which featured a completely unique and modern take on traditional Ukranian folk music, with a blend of progressive rock, ambient, and pop elements. Durant’s acclaimed 2018 solo release “Parting Is” was his first “solo guitar’ recording and the follow up solo guitar album “Alternate Landscapes” continues to stretch the boundaries of what a guitar record can sound like. Both solo CDs have been nominated for “Best Ambient Album” in US new age radio publications, while “Alternate Landscapes” also spent multiple weeks at the top of the NACC Chill Charts. In 2020, Durant released the well-received duo album Across the Evening with Estonian guitarist Robert Jürjendal as well as his most recent solo album, Soul of a River which featured Jon playing guitars and piano.

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Thursday, November 19, 2020

MAGMA 'BOURGES 1979' (2CD) Remastered Edition Now Available!

This particular concert stands out as a moment of grace, partly due to its extreme tension and the risks taken collectively, which the audience still reminisces of to this day.

While chosen for their rich and original musical content, rather than strictly technical qualities per se, these archives are a testament to the astounding talent of cult band Magma during its 50 years of career. In addition to the remastering, the original tape, which had suffered before being found, has been restored and reworked here. Recorded in Bourges in 1979, this concert stands out as a moment of grace, partly due to its extreme tension and the risks taken collectively, which the audience still reminisces of to this day. And if all the musicians offer, as usual, their energy ever so in synch with their worldly reputation, AKT 15 holds a special place in the band's history, documenting this particular period for which we have very few testimonies. All earthly fans and more recent amateurs will, without a doubt, take great pleasure in (re)discovering that exceptional performance

Magma during the time of this recording:
Klaus Blasquiz - vocal  
Stella Vander - vocal, Fender piano
Maria Popkiewicz - vocal
Liza Deluxe - vocal
Jean-Luc Chevalier - guitar, bass
André Hervé - piano Fender, synthétiseur
Michel Hervé - bass  
Christian Vander - drums
René “Stundehr” Garber - tenor saxophone

Track List:
RETROVISION
THE LAST SEVEN MINUTES
URGON GORGO
KORUSZ XXVI
HHAI
NONO
MEKANIK DESTRUKTIW KOMMANDOH

AKT 15V2

To purchase: https://www.seventhrecords.com/en/magma-19/magma-bourges-1979-2cd-remastered-1050.html

For more information:
Magma's official website: www.magmamusic.org
Seventh Records: www.seventhrecords.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Saturday, September 26, 2020

Jazz/Prog Fusion Review: The Segue

Release Date: December 8, 2019

Label: Digital release

Website


The Segue hail from Poland and are the second new Polish band to catch my attention recently. The band comprises 4 members, Robert Wiercioch (guitar), Karolina Wiercioch (piano, grand piano, synths), Marcin Essen (bass) and Szymon Piotrowski (drums) and they are joined on this recording, Holograms, by three guest musicians, Jan Kozlinski (bass), Michal Sarapata (bass) and Maciej Dzik (drums).

I am most impressed with this debut, as I will freely admit that fusion/jazz fusion would not normally be a genre I would listen to, and, it is also an instrumental album, another area I can find less interesting, but The Segue have an interesting sound that takes me beyond any preconceptions.

Holograms
is a 7 track album with a playing time of just over 45 minutes (45:15), with the opening track, “Segue,” the shortest on offer at 3:55 minutes and the final track, “Time Space Illusion” being the longest, clocking in at 8:14 minutes.

The opening track, “Segue,” bounces into life very quickly and grabs the attention just as fast. Guitar, bass and drums set down an amazingly interesting sound and just after the 1-minute mark, there is a synthesizer passage before the track settles into the earlier style. Around the 2:10 minute point there is a slight change to the guitar which steps to the fore, driving the track along, suitably underpinned by that thumping bass and precision drumming. Just into the 3-minute mark there is a very atmospheric passage before the band wind up and are away. An ideal opening track, highlighting the musician skills and enticing the listener into the sound of The Segue.

Track 2, “Questions” (6:31), starts off much more gently and soon the piano of Karolina takes the track onwards with a very jazzy feel, suitably aided by the guitar, bass and drums. Karolina then moves into one or two different piano passages, complimented by the engine-room of drum and bass. The piano remains the major instrument, although around 3:45 minutes, there is an excellent bass passage which changes the tone of the track. Karolina (piano) and Robert (guitar) take the track on with Robert coming to the forefront, before a very gentle piano/bass passage ushers the track to completion.

The fourth track, “Future Ways” (4:30), starts with a synth passage to which the bass and drums soon pitch in followed by the guitar. Karolina concentrates on the synth on this track, together with Robert’s exquisite guitar playing and the bass and drum foundation is always there, supporting. “Future Ways,” as with all the tracks, gives the individual musicians a chance to step into the spotlight and shows the band to be a unit of very skillful musicians.

Initially I mentioned that jazz and instrumentals do not form a major part of what I would normally listen to, but The Segue seem to be different in that they mix what they do so well. Karolina is as accomplished on synths as the piano, although her style of playing certainly shows a love of jazz. Robert on guitar can throw out jazzy guitar runs with the best of them, but is not averse to suddenly diving into a more prog vein.

I think that it is this versatility that make Holograms so accessible and I have no doubt that many people will think the same. Holograms will be an excellent addition to many CD collections and indeed I still listen to tracks regularly. This is an excellent debut release and I look forward to finding out where further releases will take the band.


Jim “The Ancient One” Lawson -Prog Rock Music Talk Staff
September 22, 2020

Tracks:
1. Segue (3:55)
2. Questions (6:31)
3. Torrent (8:05)
4. Exosphere (6:30)
5. Future Ways (4:30)
6. Broken Mind (7:30)
7. Time Space Illusion (8:14)




Tuesday, September 15, 2020

Art Rock/Contemporary Jazz Artist Potter's Daughter to Release New EP “Casually Containing Rage” On September 15, 2020!


The EP will be available digitally, and on CD!

VA - Art Rock/Contemporary Jazz artist Potter's Daughter to release EP “Casually Containing Rage” on September 15, 2020! The EP will be released by MRR and available both digitally, and as a CD.

Potter's Daughter released their debut album, “The Blind Side,” in August 2018. In 2019 they released two singles; “Blood and Water,” featuring Annie Haslam (Renaissance) as guest artist, and the holiday single, “This Winter’s Child,” which was composed for the “MRR Holiday” album.

In March 2020 they went on tour with MRR labelmate Joe Deninzon & Stratospheerius and Dark Beauty. They were also invited to participate in several online festivals, including The Uncancelled Music Festival (April), The WorldWide Prog and Rock Virtual Festival (May), and most recently, the prestigious ProgStock Festival. (August).

“Casually Containing Rage” features three songs:

1. To My Love - a completely new arrangement of their song from their debut album, The Blind Side
2. Accidentally Like A Martyr- a beautiful rendition of Warren Zevon’s song from his album, Excitable Boy
3. We Could Be - a powerful and moving song dealing with racial injustice, featuring NPR radio broadcasts about George Floyd and Ahmaud Abery.

Filmmaker Serena Künzler has created a striking video for the song “We Could Be,” which was premiered during Potter’s Daughter’s set at ProgStock 8/29/2020.

1. To My Love (DPV, JCV)
Dyanne Potter Voegtlin-vocals
Amit Chatterjee-guitar
Jan-Christian Vögtlin-bass
Patrick Carmichael-drums
Tom Borthwick-soundscaping

2. Accidentally Like A Martyr (Warren Zevon)
Dyanne Potter Voegtlin-piano, vocal
Jan-Christian Vögtlin-bass, guitar, drum programming

3. We Could Be (DPV, JCV)
Dyanne Potter Voegtlin-keyboards, vocals
Jan-Christian Vögtlin-bass, drum programming, guitar synth
NPR David Greene-radio broadcast

1. Produced by DPV, co-produced by Amitava Chatterjee and Joseph Wiggy Wegleski
2. Produced by JCV
3. Produced by DPV, co-produced by JCV and Joseph Wiggy Wegleski
 Mastered by Tom Borthwick

1.3. Recorded at SI Studio, Engineered by Joseph Wiggy Wegleski
2. Recorded, mixed at JCV Sound design



Potter's Daughter Online
Listen // Buy // & Share
Amazon: amzn.to/2qsUdKn
Bandcamp: bit.ly/2Mqk1PM
CD Baby: bit.ly/33JPG4E
iTunes: apple.co/2P1hTQm
Spotify: spoti.fi/35O57uo

Further Information Can Be Found At:
Website: https://pottersdaughterband.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PottersDaughterBand/
MRR Artist Profile: https://mrrmusic.com/potters-daughter/

Media & Booking:
pottersdaughterband@gmail.com

Label Contact:
Nick Katona, nick@melodicrevolution.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, August 28, 2020

Guitar Virtuoso Marcelo Paganini to Release Prog Rock-Jazz-Fusion Single “Circus Is Empty” From New Album feat. Billy Sherwood, Adam Holzman, Chad Wackerman & Others


French-Brazilian guitar virtuoso Marcelo Paganini is releasing his new prog rock-jazz-fusion single called “Circus Is Empty” on 28th August 2020. Written, arranged and performed by Marcelo on guitar and keyboards, the track features Billy Sherwood (Yes/Asia) on vocals, Adam Holzman (Steve Wilson Band/Miles Davis) on solo keyboards, Chad Wackerman (Frank Zappa/Alan Holdsworth) on drums, and Adriano Campagnani (Beto Guedes Band) on bass. Daniel Boivin mixed and Maor Appelbaum did the mastering.

“I was daydreaming, thinking that after ARW (Anderson, Rabin, Wakeman) maybe it’s time for PSH (Paganini, Sherwood, Holzman)!” jokes Paganini from the studio of his old stone house in Catalunia, Spain. “It’s unbelievable that some of the best talents on the planet all agreed to participate – the whole Universe conspired to make it happen! All my steps led me to this old house in the woods.”

“Circus Is Empty” is the song people didn’t know they were waiting for. It blends the urgency of 2020 vibes and sounds with classic prog elements and furious jazz-fusion improvisation. The title is a tribute to Shakespeare’s The Tempest - “Hell is empty, and all the devils are here.” “Crazy times, the circus is empty and all the clowns are in power,” says Paganini. “There is a call to vote, if it wasn’t important they would not be trying so hard to discourage people.”

Marcelo faced an uphill task moving his studio from Normandy, France to Catalunia, Spain. Closed borders, an old laptop which struggled in the Spanish heat, a 300-year-old house which floods in the rain, and an album to finish. “It was 40 degrees outside, not that I could go outside while there was still work to do inside. Not to mention all gigs stopping overnight! It became so much that I had to ask my friends for help, but it taught me who my real friends are, and that I have the best friends around. Then I had to let some good old friends go too, I was too much trouble in too little time for them.”

His persistence has paid off though. “Identity Crisis”, which includes “Circus is Empty”, is due for release on all platforms, with an exclusive vinyl version on his Bandcamp page, on December 11th to mark his 56th birthday. “If the world is still spinning by then!” he laughs.



“I am trying to prove to myself that my last compositions are as good as the first ones... The prog scene is full of artists that wrote their best material many Dark Sides of the Keith Moon ago! Me too by the way, but seriously… Folks are you keeping your best songs for when they will offer a better deal? They won’t, so it is better to release your best material right now while we are all still around! Or else it may end in the trash can.”

“Why ‘Identity Crisis’? Who the Hell is this Marcelo Paganini guy anyway?” he asks. “I am trying to figure that out, for now I don’t even know what food to eat without getting sick... Let’s say for now that Marcelo Paganini is a French-Brazilian guy from New York City, with an Italian stage name, living secluded in the woods up the hill in Catalunia, Spain, that thinks he is a real Spitfire Dragon from Outer Space who crash landed on Earth some time ago...”

Billy Sherwood sings lead on the whole album, and on two tracks along with special guests Marcelo Paganini performed with on Cruise to the Edge 2015: Karla Downey and Jamison Smeltz. Jamison also provided a searing sax solo on the final track “Captain’s Face”, which was written for producer Larry Morand, who invited him to attend the 2015 Cruise To The Edge, about his life changing experience. “Of course I’d love to come back to Cruise To The Edge in 2022,” says Paganini. “It would be great to play live with this band at least once, Billy Sherwood and Adam Holzman are already on board, I bet Captain Prog Larry can make it happen!”

Among other surprise guests, legendary jazz Drummer Lenny White (Return To Forever/Miles Davis) recorded two songs for the album, including “Learn To Love To Wait” which also features Billy Sherwood on bass and Adam Holzman on keys. “I only played guitar on that one,” laughs Paganini. “With so many legends from other bands it’s the mother of all supergroups, but only if it happens without me, I was told. So, I had to let them play together without me for a few bars so it remains a supergroup at least there! I am trying hard to convince another legend to record a guitar solo in that spot!”

Marcelo lost his beloved rescue cat Don Juan in March 2019, and “it was then that things started to become weird fast. The French Cinema Archive CNC demanded a €15K 35mm print of my film ‘First time in Rio’ or I’d have to pay a €70k fine, an absurd situation as I couldn’t afford either. I couldn’t understand why, since they accepted a digital deposit of my film “The 8th Bullet” in 2007. I had to put everything I have on a truck and move to Spain last October. Here I will wait until French cinema people get me out of this. Meanwhile I am depressed, broke, in debt, away from home, family and remaining cats and did nothing wrong! Maybe the president of UNIFRANCE, the president of the CNC and the new Culture Minister of France Rosalyne Bachelot can get Kafka out of my reality? I feel like someone powerful did not want me to make any more films, but it backfired, since I am making a new film about all this.” The upcoming film is also called “Identity Crisis” and will use the album for its soundtrack.

“Then my credit card disappeared and I had no money to live for several weeks. All these events were eye opening experiences. They made me discover fundamental truths: only stupid people are afraid of dying, they are also afraid of living.

“I was bullied since I was little, most people in real life reject me, I am strange, different and proud of it, but harmless. The cat came to me, he chose me, that changed me forever, I learned a lot from him. My friends joke that Don Juan wrote most of the music and that I cannot really play it without him! Let’s just say that so many things happened ever since, that today no one can play that stuff  on the guitar, not even me, since I forgot everything. But don’t worry I am a fast learner”. Marcelo wrote most of the songs of the album with Don Juan around and “Identity Crisis” is dedicated to him and to Billy's brother Michael Sherwood that left us too soon last November.



Marcelo Paganini is now represented by Mr Bowler Music Agency in the Netherlands. Exciting news awaits for 2021…

Purchase link
https://marcelopaganini.bandcamp.com/

Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/Marcelo-Paganini-13255032254/

YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/user/MarcelloPaganini

Mastered by Maor Appelbaum at Maor Appelbaum Mastering - California - U.S.A
http://www.maorappelbaum.com/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Thursday, April 9, 2020

Jazz Rock Supergroup MANDOKI SOULMATES Say "THANK YOU" To The COVID-19 Helpers With Their New Single!


Los Angeles, CA - As the world continues to be consumed by the COVID-19 pandemic, Mandoki Soulmates mastermind and leader Leslie Mandoki has found inspiration and a new spark of hope amidst the chaos. He has penned a powerful new song in appreciation for the heroes who have emerged in this global crisis, the nurses, doctors, and other health care providers as well as the grocery store clerks and food delivery personnel who have stepped up to serve their communities. The new song, entitled simply “Thank You,” expresses so clearly the feelings of gratitude many of us have felt in these troubled times. Mandoki explains, “As an artist, I feel it is my duty to contemplate ideas for a better world. Now, like so many of us, I suddenly have the time. Let us grab this uncommon moment of pause together and take a new approach to the problems of the world. And let’s take a hard look at who this crisis is casting in a heroic light, and who comes out the villain.”

The song is being released through the Purple Pyramid imprint of indie giant Cleopatra Records, Inc. and is Mandoki Soulmate’s first release in the recently inked partnership with the L.A.-based label. Additional releases are set to follow later this year.

Stream the song here: https://orcd.co/mandoki-soulmates-thank-you

Read the complete essay written by Leslie Mandoki to complement the single: http://cleorecs.com/home/mandoki-soulmates-thank-you/

Press inquiries: 
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com


CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com


Follow PURPLE PYRAMID  @ 
Facebook  |  Instagram  | Twitter | Youtube | Purple Pyramid Store
Facebook @PurplePyramidRecords
https://www.facebook.com/PurplePyramidRecords/
Instagram @Purple.pyramid
https://www.instagram.com/purple.pyramid/
Twitter @PurplePyramid1
https://twitter.com/PurplePyramid1
Youtube @ Purple Pyramid
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwiCec6bS6mX3c7dpitfYRQ
Purple Pyramid Store @
https://cleorecs.com/store/product-category/record-label/purple-pyramid/

Monday, October 28, 2019

Magma's Simon Goubert Releases New Album "NOUS VERRONS..."


Featuring Stella Vander of Magma!

The voice has always been part of Simon Goubert's life.

First, in the theater background of his childhood, it was spoken in all its forms. Sometimes whispered, other times recited, in the end it was always applauded.

Then it was sung. Whether divine when illuminating György Ligeti’s Lux Aeterna, velvety as Billie Holiday’s or husky like Tina Turner’s, the voice has always transported Simon Goubert... all the way to his meeting Magma.

His ten years collaborating with Christian Vander, whose music revolves around voices, have taught him to fine-tune this very special instrument.

Throughout his career, Simon Goubert has always used the voice, be it singular or plural, subtle or orchestral. But for this album, the musician wanted the voices to be front and center: Stella Vander giving life to Pierre-Michel Sivadier’s lyrics, Annie Ebrel elevating Breton poems and, finally, American rapper and slam poet Mike Ladd.

The instrumentalists are also an eclectic group of kindred spirits, first-rate artists met by Simon Goubert over the decades.

These musicians, whom Simon has always admired, excitedly embarked on this new journey with him. To succeed in this unprecedented adventure, these performers and improvisers have pooled together all of their know-how.

Gathered around Simon Goubert, these artists form an extraordinary band with Michel Edelin (flutes), Vincent Lê Quang (saxophones), Sylvain Kassap (clarinets), Sophia Domancich (piano), Emmanuel Bex (organ) and Hélène Labarrière (double bass).

With all of those talents combined, Simon Goubert has delivered his most beautiful album: the one that most resembles him.

Watch the album trailer:


To order: https://www.seventhrecords.com/en/catalogue-ex-tension-33/simon-goubert-nous-verrons--1290.html

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Thursday, October 3, 2019

Progressive Rock-Jazz -Fusion Review: Yuval Ron-Somewhere in the Universe Somebody Hits a Drum

Release Date:  October 3, 2019
Label:  Wrong Notes Music
Website:  www.yuvalron.com

6-years in the making, progressive and jazz fusion guitarist, Yuval Ron has released six other-worldly arrangements sure to please staunch prog-rock enthusiasts and jazz aficionados alike. 

One look at the album art and a minute into the opening title track, you'll realize you're about to explore a new musical world and boldly go where no listener has gone before. You'll hear yodeling, synth landscapes, xylophone interludes, and virtuosic guitar riffs riding on the rhythm of thick, syncopating drumbeats. Along the journey, you'll experience moments of weightlessness followed by playful interludes followed by turbo thrusts where the universe flies past you in a blur. 

Like many of his influences, Yuval Ron has collaborated with several musicians in several bands, including the influential Residents of The Future. His talents cannot be constrained to the fixed structure of a single band. Yuval Ron assembles musicians for a project based on the vision in his head.

For Somewhere in the Universe Somebody Hits a Drum, he recruited renowned prog-rock drummer Marco Minnemann who has worked with Steven Wilson, The Aristocrats, and others. Mr. Minnemann's influence is hard to ignore, providing the grounding for complex synth and guitar solos as well as flashes of brilliance such as "Wifi in Emerald City" when his drumming emerges into the forefront but does not overtake the composition. 

Not one of these six tracks sounds indulgent or derivative. Yuval Ron democratizes the talent he's assembled. He shares the spotlight, letting the solos fly and then return to form a colorful assembly of textured sound. You'll feel as if you're on a journey of discovery. You won't know where you are, you won't know where you're going, but you'll be thrilled to be on the ride.  

Key Tracks Include: “Gravitational Lensing”, “Wifi in Emerald City”, “I Believe in Astronauts”

Tom Endyke – MuzikMan.net Staff
October 3, 2019

Reviews Provided By:
Rate The Tracks

Tracks:
1. Somewhere in This Universe Somebody Hits a Drum
2. Gravitational Lensing
3. Kuiper Belt
4. WiFi in Emerald City
5. The Discovery of Phoebe
6. I Believe in Astronauts

Friday, September 13, 2019

New Video About The Making Of Magma's New Album "Zëss" On Limited Edition Gold Colored Vinyl


Limited edition of 1500 numbered copies on 180 gram audiophile gold colored vinyl

Magma's new album “Zëss” is available for pre-order as a limited edition of 1500 numbered copies on gold colored vinyl. The package includes a 4-page booklet. The vinyl edition will be released on September 20, 2019.

Watch the The Making Of Magma's Limited Edition Gold Colored Vinyl of  “Zëss”:


Magma's critically acclaimed newest album “Zëss” is a 38-minute musical work by Christian Vander. Composed in 1970, Zëss had long been plagued by its incompleteness, its recording was deferred for years. Four decades after its first draft, the work has finally been recorded in an orchestral version that gives it both its true dreamlike dimension and its transcending power. The first public performance took place in Bourges in 1979. It is the last piece in a series of unfinished compositions from the 1970s. During the last 15 years, they finished and released all these different pieces. “Zëss” is described as a work that touches the philosophical domain by its treatment of the idea of nothingness and its evocation of the theme of time.

Magma turned fifty this year, catapulting into the very exclusive circle of bands who for five decades have never laid down their instruments, nor turned down their volume! The oldest French band still in existence has always played at full sail, never yielding to the siren song of passing trends. The fiercely original music has tirelessly adhered to the highest artistic standards while still reaching a wide audience of all ages.



180 gram audiophile vinyl
Brand new album
Gatefold sleeve with UV spot varnish
4-page booklet
Limited edition of 1500 numbered copies on gold colored vinyl

More information about this release: 
https://www.musiconvinyl.com/catalog/magma/zess

To pre-order: 
smarturl.it/MagmaZessVinyl
https://www.seventhrecords.com/en/magma-19/zess-1289.html

Magma's official website: https://www.magmamusic.org/en/home/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, August 16, 2019

French Music Legends Magma To Release New Album “Zëss” On Limited Edition Gold Colored Vinyl


Limited edition of 1500 numbered copies on 180 gram audiophile gold colored vinyl

Magma's critically acclaimed newest album Zëss is a 38-minute musical work by Christian Vander. Composed in 1970, Zëss had long been plagued by its incompleteness, its recording was deferred for years. Four decades after its first draft, the work has finally been recorded in an orchestral version that gives it both its true dreamlike dimension and its transcending power. The first public performance took place in Bourges in 1979. It is the last piece in a series of unfinished compositions from the 1970s. During the last 15 years, they finished and released all these different pieces. Zëss is described as a work that touches the philosophical domain by its treatment of the idea of nothingness and its evocation of the theme of time.

Magma turned fifty this year, catapulting into the very exclusive circle of bands who for five decades have never laid down their instruments, nor turned down their volume! The oldest French band still in existence has always played at full sail, never yielding to the siren song of passing trends. The fiercely original music has tirelessly adhered to the highest artistic standards while still reaching a wide audience of all ages.

Zëss is available for pre-order as a limited edition of 1500 numbered copies on gold colored vinyl. The package includes a 4-page booklet. The vinyl edition will be released on September 20, 2019.



180 gram audiophile vinyl
Brand new album
Gatefold sleeve with UV spot varnish
4-page booklet
Limited edition of 1500 numbered copies on gold colored vinyl

More information about this release: 
https://www.musiconvinyl.com/catalog/magma/zess

To pre-order: 
smarturl.it/MagmaZessVinyl
https://www.seventhrecords.com/en/magma-19/zess-1289.html

Magma's official website: https://www.magmamusic.org/en/home/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com