Showing posts with label New Video. Show all posts
Showing posts with label New Video. Show all posts

Monday, June 6, 2022

Watch The New Video By YES Legend Jon Anderson With The Paul Green Rock Academy “So Limitless”

In support of legendary YES vocalist/songwriter Jon Anderson with the Paul Green Rock Academy's upcoming summer tour, a new video has been released titled “So Limitless.” This music was recorded during Jon's visit to Orlando during the Rock Academy tour in Florida in April 2022. The recording features members of the touring band and Jon, recorded at Solar Studios and produced by Michael Franklin.

Watch the video for “So Limitless” here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXTzm48YnF4

HERE WE GO MAKING NEW MUSIC WITH THE ROCK ACADEMY TEENS. “SO LIMITLESS”. BECAUSE WE ARE LIMITLESS IN ALL OUR LIVING , BEING AND DREAMING…”
LOVE & LIGHT
JON

Jon Anderson will be playing select shows with The Paul Green Rock Academy in Summer 2022! Jon and the ensemble will be celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the release of YES's classic album “Close to the Edge” by performing the album in its entirety, along with other classics and surprises!

photo by Robin Gilbert

Watch Jon Anderson with the Paul Green Rock Academy promo video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=glDLlhbP0Kk

For more information:
Paul Green official website: www.PaulGreenRock.com
Jon Anderson’s official website: www.JonAnderson.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, June 3, 2022

Watch Kansas Legend Robby Steinhardt’s Video For “Not in Kansas Anymore”

Just released! Kansas legend Robby Steinhardt’s video for “Not in Kansas Anymore” from the critically acclaimed album of the same name. Produced by Michael Franklin, the album was released on Solar Music just after the unexpected passing of Steinhardt.

Watch the video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4-Xj-bzCqk8

You know him as the legendary violinist, vocalist and frontman for the band KANSAS, recording 9 albums which reached gold, platinum and double platinum status, and is now making another mark on the world with his first and only solo album.

“Not in Kansas Anymore” is a powerful, well-thought-out offering of Prog Rock magic. Timely songs with incredible arrangements and virtuoso performances. Robby’s vocals and signature electric violin come through on this continuous work labeled a “Prog Opera.”

The album “Not in Kansas Anymore” grew out of the Jon Anderson “1000 Hands” sessions. Robby was a special guest on the song “Active.” He put down several violin tracks on that song and also a song Michael was working on with drum legend Billy Cobham. That song led to the making of “Not in Kansas Anymore.”

The art direction and video work was done by Alvaro Ortega, a gifted animator from Madrid Spain. Alvaro has received worldwide notice from his Beatle and British Invasion animations. Most recently his collaboration with producer Michael Franklin’s “A Day in His Life,” a highly acclaimed tribute to John Lennon. This work went viral and given high praise by Sir George Martin's son https://www.facebook.com/michael.franklin.1610/videos/10222238735251109. Art work in the video was based off of the album art by Tom Lupo, nominated “Album Cover of the Year” by ProgReport.

Robby Steinhardt “Not in Kansas Anymore”
Recorded at Solar Studio, Orlando Florida, December 2020-May 2021
Produced by Michael Franklin producer of Jon Anderson 1000 Hands
with the cast members 1000 Hands

Robby Steinhardt - Violin and Lead Vocals
Tim Franklin - Bass and Vocals
Rayford Griffin - Drums
Jim Gentry - Electric Guitar and Vocals
Tommy Calton - Acoustic and Electric Guitar
Michael Franklin - Bosendorfer Piano, Kurzweil Forte, Hammond B3 and Vocals

And special Guests
Billy Cobham, Pat Travers, Chuck Leavell, Ian Anderson, Billy Ashbaugh, Patrick Moraz, many others, orchestra and choir.

Songs Written by Franklin/Steinhardt/Franklin Solar Music BMI

Not in Kansas Anymore,” Digital Download, CD and preorder LP with free Digital Download can be found at: www.robbysteinhardtofficial.com or www.solarmusic.com

Promo video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yu5T_3aEv0g

Robby was a big fan of local vinyl vendors. Here is where you will be able can to find LPs and CDs locally www.solarmusic.com/distribution

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, May 4, 2022

Mike Tiano Salutes Influences in New Video for Song “Triad”

Also Video “About Creétisvan” & Articles on “Get Back” & “Close to the Edge”

Seattle, WA - Last year Mike Tiano released his debut album “Creétisvan” which included guest appearances from Billy Sherwood, Randy George, and David Sancious. It has been well-received by critics and consumers alike.

Mike has now released the first music video from that album. “Triad” is a whimsical visualization where the lyrical content describes his personal musical journey that led to the album’s creation. The video is unique in that Mike pays tribute to some of his major musical influences, from early on with the Beach Boys and the Four Seasons, to more impactful artists that include the Beatles, the Grateful Dead, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, Rush, and Yes. As Mike reveals, “It’s a fun and sometimes funny depiction of the song, with colorful graphics by Corina Bakke of Rokstar Studios. She successfully realized one idea which was to artistically depict some of my musical heroes, with me practically performing alongside artistic renderings of them.”

Mike has also released a short documentary “About Creétisvan from Mike Tiano” outlining his creative roots and calling out some of the folks who were key to the album’s creation. Mike acknowledges the talents of former Microsoft colleague and videographer Paul Racey for bringing this video to fruition. “Paul reviewed some footage I had previously filmed where I discussed the story behind the album, and by combining that with some key images he effectively created a concise but interesting and informational look at how the album came to be.”

In addition to his musical endeavors Mike continues to author high-visibility articles for Something Else! Reviews. He recently examined how Peter Jackson’s “Get Back” video achieved something miraculous for those who experienced the Beatles throughout the 1960s by restoring their ‘wonder’. In another piece Mike explored a major change that occurred for the title track of Yes’ masterwork “Close to the Edge” after its release fifty years ago, and includes quotes about that change from its participants.

Mike is available for podcasts and personal appearances; contact Mike directly at info@miketiano.com.

Videos:
“Triad”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=44L2BzC3sRc
“About Creétisvan”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yuOZBahabuU

Articles:
‘Get Back’: Rescuing the ‘Wonder’ of the Beatles: https://somethingelsereviews.com/2022/02/11/the-beatles-get-back-rescuing-wonder/
Yes’ ‘Close to the Edge’: The Coda Key Change: https://somethingelsereviews.com/2022/04/26/yes-close-to-the-edge-coda-key-change/

Here's some of what’s being said about Mike Tiano’s album “Creétisvan”:

Twelve well thought out tracks, revealing excellent playing, fine songcraft and Tiano’s wonderful melodies. All fans of sophisticated pop and progressive rock should not hesitate to give this a listen.” - Sea of Tranquility (Four Stars)

Mike Tiano’s project is adventurous, sonically rich and both enjoyable and refreshing.” – Lee Abrams

Many who miss classic rock, in general, will find much to enjoy here.” - Exclusive Magazine

The net result of Mike Tiano’s compositional genius makes Creétisvan one of the most curious musical adventures of 2021.” – Roots Music Report (Five Stars)

Creétisvan is a delightful listen from the always interesting singer/songwriter/guitarist Mike Tiano. Big thumbs up for this fine effort which merits repeated listens and represents an ambitious and impressive effort.” – Brian Gruber, Author, ‘Six Days at Ronnie Scott’s: Billy Cobham on Jazz Fusion and the Act of Creation’” (Five Stars)

It’s very beautiful.” – Jonathan Downes, Gonzo Multimedia

Complete reviews for those and more can be found at http://tinyurl.com/mot-reviews/

Press release for “Creétisvan” can found at https://glassonyonpr.com/2021/03/08/mike-tiano-tuneful-prog-album-creetisvan/

Order “Creétisvan” on CD (contains original artwork and lyrics/credit sheet):
Direct via PayPal (US Only): https://www.paypal.com/instantcommerce/checkout/8D6RLKB3X3KFG
Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08YS1HS4F?ref_=cm_sw_r_cp_ud_dp_RTHW1C31RH1MENJXMMGA
Bandcamp: http://miketiano.bandcamp.com

Stream “Creétisvan”:
Apple Music: https://music.apple.com/us/album/cre%C3%A9tisvan/1569626955
Amazon Music: https://www.amazon.com/music/player/search/Mike+Tiano
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=OLAK5uy_kooUEa8dqUjjtDM-rp6hZeY0aXnqykWGc

About Mike Tiano: After living in L.A. for most of his life Mike moved to the Seattle area in the late 1980s. There Mike would join Microsoft where he remained for nearly twenty years in various roles, including primary Test Engineer for two brand-new features in Windows 95: the Taskbar and the Start Menu. In 1993 Mike became editor for the Yes fan journal Notes From the Edge, and after convincing Yes to launch their official site Mike created its original schema and became their Site Manager. Mike provided the liner notes for four of the Yes remasters from Rhino, and is currently a contributor to the online media journal Something Else! Reviews.

For more information:
Official site: http://miketiano.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/miketianomusic/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/musictiano
Mike Tiano’s Writing Portfolio: http://miketiano.com/portfolio

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Thursday, April 7, 2022

Oliver Wakeman Releases “Collaborations” Teaser Video For His New 3CD Box Set

3CD Box Set including re-issues of “The 3 Ages of Magick” with Steve Howe & “Ravens & Lullabies” with Gordon Giltrap

Oliver Wakeman has the honour of being one of the few musicians to have performed and recorded with some of Prog Rock’s most respected guitarists.

A new teaser video featuring music from all three albums featuring performances from Steve Howe, Gordon Giltrap and Paul Manzi is now available to view on Oliver’s YouTube channel.

Oliver says, “Having a teaser video available really allows the listener to get a feel for the differing styles between the three albums and how, surprisingly, they complement each other. Putting this video together reminded me just how pleased I was with these albums. Hopefully this gives the music a chance to reach a new audience as well appealing to those who might already have the originals but are interested in the other projects and the bonus material contained in the Box Set.”   

Watch the video here: https://youtu.be/1GvGJiCbgL8

Back in 2001, many years before he became a member of YES, Oliver and guitarist Steve Howe worked together on the “The 3 Ages of Magick” album. Supplemented by an array of talented musicians, this album became a hidden gem in the YES family tree of recordings.

Following his tenure in the keyboard seat for YES in from 2008 to 2011, Oliver teamed up with another British guitar legend, Gordon Giltrap, to record their award winning “Ravens & Lullabies” album, a collection of rock and acoustic tracks featuring the singers Paul Manzi (SWEET) and Benoit David (YES).

20 years following its original release, “The 3 Ages of Magick” is teamed with the album “Ravens & Lullabies” in the new “Collaborations” 3CD Box Set. Including remastered versions of both albums along with the previously unreleased acoustic live album, “From a Stage” features music from Wakeman & Giltrap’s many years of performing together across the UK.

The “Collaborations” box set, comprising 3CDs each with a 16-page booklet and individual art prints of the sleeves, will be released by Burning Shed on 11th April.

“The 3 Ages of Magick”, released in 2001, is an instrumental album based in the style of the great 70’s prog solo records. Featuring Steve Howe across 11 of its 13 tracks, the album is both gentle and outlandish in equal measure. The album, based on stories from British folklore, utilises traditional instruments to help tell each story. This remastered version also includes 3 bonus tracks not available on the original release.

10 years later, Oliver and another legendary guitarist, Gordon Giltrap, joined forces after meeting at one of his father’s (Rick Wakeman) Christmas concerts in which they both performed.

“Ravens & Lullabies” allowed Oliver and Gordon to intertwine their acoustic musical abilities in the Lullabies section of the record. The Ravens aspect of the album allowed Gordon to be re-introduced to the Prog community in which he had been a leading figure during his heyday when releasing albums such as “Fear Of The Dark” and “Perilous Journey” (which contained his hit song “Heartsong”). This remastered version also features the bonus studio tracks, “The Forgotten King”, “Bach’s Praeludium” and a new version of Gordon’s classic “Roots” which were only included on the limited-edition double disc release of the original. Also included is a new recording, a piano and classical guitar version of Oliver’s track “The Wedding Approaches”.

This box set package also includes a third disc, “From a Stage”. During the lockdown, Oliver was approached by the sound engineer from one of the Giltrap/Wakeman concerts to say he had found a multitrack recording from a Christmas concert Oliver and Gordon had performed at along with special guest Paul Manzi (SWEET). This allowed a great opportunity to put together the live album “From a Stage” featuring Oliver and Gordon’s interpretations of songs from their collective 20+ years of back catalogues. Including the warmth and musical interplay that became a trademark for their often sold out shows, the recording features songs such as “Heartsong”, “Glimmer of Light” & “Roots”.

The “Collaborations” box set contains 3 CDs each with 16-page booklets including lyrics, previously unseen artwork and many stories behind the creativity of Wakeman and Giltrap. The first 250 box sets will also include the 4th art print of the box set cover numbered and signed by Oliver Wakeman.

Collaborations” will be released by Burning Shed on 11th April. You can pre-order the set here: https://burningshed.com/store/oliverwakeman

About Oliver Wakeman
Eldest son of prog legend Rick, Wakeman filled the keyboard role, once held by his father, with YES from 2008 to 2011. His work with YES includes the triple live album in “In The Present – Live From Lyon,” “Fly From Here” and the “From A Page” box set featuring recordings from his time in the band released in 2019. During his tenure with YES, Wakeman also toured and recorded as a member of The Strawbs. Wakeman’s debut album (1997) “Heaven’s Isle” was inspired by the island of Lundy, and he has since released a number of solo and Oliver Wakeman Band albums.  He has also released several collaborations with renowned musicians, including Clive Nolan, Steve Howe, bandmate to both Oliver and his father in YES, as well as writing and recording with guitar legend Gordon Giltrap. Oliver is currently working on his latest album “Anam Cara” due for release in late 2022.

For more information:
Website: www.oliverwakeman.co.uk
Facebook: www.facebook.com/OliverWakeman/
Twitter: @OliverWakeman
Instagram: www.instagram.com/oliverwakemanmusic/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, February 1, 2022

OLIVER WAKEMAN Announces “Collaborations” 3CD Box Set Including Re-issues of “The 3 Ages of Magick” with Steve Howe & “Ravens & Lullabies” with Gordon Giltrap

Release April 11, 2022 – available to pre order now from Burning Shed!

Oliver Wakeman has the honour of being one of the few musicians to have performed and recorded with some of Prog Rock’s most respected guitarists.

Back in 2001, many years before he became a member of YES, Oliver and guitarist Steve Howe worked together on the “The 3 Ages of Magick” album. Supplemented by an array of talented musicians, this album became a hidden gem in the YES family tree of recordings.

Following his tenure in the keyboard seat for YES in from 2008 to 2011, Oliver teamed up with another British guitar legend, Gordon Giltrap, to record their award winning “Ravens & Lullabies” album, a collection of rock and acoustic tracks featuring the singers Paul Manzi (SWEET) and Benoit David (YES).

20 years following its original release, “The 3 Ages of Magick” is teamed with the album “Ravens & Lullabies” in the new “Collaborations” 3CD Box Set. Including remastered versions of both albums along with the previously unreleased acoustic live album, “From a Stage” features music from Wakeman & Giltrap’s many years of performing together across the UK.

The “Collaborations” box set, comprising 3CDs each with a 16-page booklet and individual art prints of the sleeves, will be released by Burning Shed on 11th April.

“The 3 Ages of Magick”, released in 2001, is an instrumental album based in the style of the great 70’s prog solo records. Featuring Steve Howe across 11 of its 13 tracks, the album is both gentle and outlandish in equal measure. The album, based on stories from British folklore, utilises traditional instruments to help tell each story. This remastered version also includes 3 bonus tracks not available on the original release.

10 years later, Oliver and another legendary guitarist, Gordon Giltrap, joined forces after meeting at one of his father’s (Rick Wakeman) Christmas concerts in which they both performed.

“Ravens & Lullabies” allowed Oliver and Gordon to intertwine their acoustic musical abilities in the Lullabies section of the record. The Ravens aspect of the album allowed Gordon to be re-introduced to the Prog community in which he had been a leading figure during his heyday when releasing albums such as “Fear Of The Dark” and “Perilous Journey” (which contained his hit song “Heartsong”). This remastered version also features the bonus studio tracks, “The Forgotten King”, “Bach’s Praeludium” and a new version of Gordon’s classic “Roots” which were only included on the limited-edition double disc release of the original. Also included is a new recording, a piano and classical guitar version of Oliver’s track “The Wedding Approaches”.

This box set package also includes a third disc, “From a Stage”. During the lockdown, Oliver was approached by the sound engineer from one of the Giltrap/Wakeman concerts to say he had found a multitrack recording from a Christmas concert Oliver and Gordon had performed at along with special guest Paul Manzi (SWEET). This allowed a great opportunity to put together the live album “From a Stage” featuring Oliver and Gordon’s interpretations of songs from their collective 20+ years of back catalogues. Including the warmth and musical interplay that became a trademark for their often sold out shows, the recording features songs such as “Heartsong”, “Glimmer of Light” & “Roots”.

The “Collaborations” box set contains 3 CDs each with 16-page booklets including lyrics, previously unseen artwork and many stories behind the creativity of Wakeman and Giltrap. The first 250 box sets will also include the 4th art print of the box set cover numbered and signed by Oliver Wakeman.

A lyric video “Moneyfacturing” from the box set, is now available to view on YouTube.  The track is taken from the Wakeman/Giltrap “Ravens & Lullabies” record in the box set and features Paul Manzi (SWEET)

Oliver says: “This is one of my personal favourite band tracks I have ever written and recorded, allowing me to make use of a lot of my collection of keyboards. It is a radio-friendly song which also reminds people what a great electric guitar player Gordon is!”

Watch the video here: 

Collaborations” will be released by Burning Shed on 11th April.

You can pre-order the set here: https://burningshed.com/store/oliverwakeman

About Oliver Wakeman
Eldest son of prog legend Rick, Wakeman filled the keyboard role, once held by his father, with YES from 2008 to 2011. His work with YES includes the triple live album in “In The Present – Live From Lyon,” “Fly From Here” and the “From A Page” box set featuring recordings from his time in the band released in 2019. During his tenure with YES, Wakeman also toured and recorded as a member of The Strawbs. Wakeman’s debut album (1997) “Heaven’s Isle” was inspired by the island of Lundy, and he has since released a number of solo and Oliver Wakeman Band albums.  He has also released several collaborations with renowned musicians, including Clive Nolan, Steve Howe, band mate to both Oliver and his father in YES, as well as writing and recording with guitar legend Gordon Giltrap. Oliver is currently working on his latest album ‘Anam Cara’ due for release in late 2022.

For more information:
Website: www.oliverwakeman.co.uk
Facebook: www.facebook.com/OliverWakeman/
Twitter: @OliverWakeman
Instagram: www.instagram.com/oliverwakemanmusic/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, June 28, 2021

Trifecta Release Second Single and Video “Have You Seen What The Neighbors Are Doing”

Taken from the new album Fragments, due for release on 20th August on Kscope

Having announced details of their debut album Fragments and revealed the first single “Pavlov`s Dog Killed Schrodinger`s Cat”, Trifecta are premiere a new track and video for “Have You Seen What The Neighbors Are Doing”.

Nick Beggs explains how the track came about “The track, ‘Have You Seen What The Neighbors Are Doing’, was written after hearing a song by Ween titled ‘So Many People In The Neighbourhood.’ We liked the song so much we decided to construct a reply. “ the video he continues “was shot on location while on the planet of the prehistoric women. However the trip was fraught with problems after Craig and Adam both realised they had failed to pack a tooth brush. Luckily I was on hand to share mine with them.”


WATCH THE VIDEO FOR “HAVE YOU SEEN WHAT THE NEIGHBORS ARE DOING” HERE

Trifecta, features 3 of the contemporary music scene’s most lauded and revered musicians – bassist and songwriter Nick Beggs, keyboardist extraordinaire Adam Holzman and completing the line-up, Craig Blundell – one of the world’s most celebrated drummers.

Having performed together as part of Steven Wilson’s band, the three would jam together after soundchecks, forming what they referred to as “jazz club” and from these sessions the fledgling ideas for Fragments were born.

The record primarily leans toward a fusion of jazz rock, imaginatively described by Beggs as “Fission! It’s like Fusion but less efficient and more dangerous ..with fall out.” and being mainly instrumental with the exception of one track, the wonderfully titled and first single “Pavlov’s Dog Killed Schrodinger’s Cat”. The lyrics of which, Beggs states “are written from the perspective of a layman trying to understand quantum mechanics…and failing”. The track also features drum programming from Russell Holzman.

Each band member completed the recording and engineering of their own contributions in their various home studios which helped in bringing their individual production ideas to each track. Adam Holzman mixed the record at his New York home studio and the mastering was handled by Andy VanDette (Rush, David Bowie, Deep Purple, Porcupine Tree, Beastie Boys) in New York.

Fragments will be released on 20th August via Kscope on CD, black vinyl LP, ltd edition neon orange vinyl LP (exclusive to www.kscopemusic.com/store) and digitally. Pre-orders are available now HERE (https://TrifectaKscope.lnk.to/Fragments)

1. Clean Up On Aisle Five [03:07]
2. Check Engine Light [02:55]
3. Proto Molecule [02:20]
4. Auntie [02:57]
5. Venn Diagram [02:42]
6. The Enigma Of Mr. Fripp [02:44]
7. Sally Doo-Dally [02:54]
8. Have You Seen What The Neighbors Are Doing? [02:58]
9. The Mute Gospel [03:16]
10. Pavlov`s Dog Killed Schrodinger`s Cat [04:12 WATCH VIDEO ]
11. Voyage Of Discovery [03:02]
12. Nightmare In Shining Armor [02:00]
13. Dry Martini [03:13]
14. Lie 2 Me And Take My Money [03:13]
15. Hold It Like That[03:28]

Can’t wait until 20th August? Curious to hear more now?

Fans can check out an album teaser HERE

The band have new social media – for updates & news follow them here:
https://www.instagram.com/trifectahq/
https://www.facebook.com/Trifecta-Blundell-Holzman-Beggs-104063678455805
www.kscopemusic.com/artist/trifecta

Band photography by Hajo Muller

More hi-res images available here: www.kscopemusic.com/media/trifecta

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, May 28, 2021

DREAM THEATER’S JAMES LABRIE Voices The Role Of Evil Record Executive On New Version Of PINK FLOYD’s “HAVE A CIGAR” From The New STILL WISH YOU WERE HERE - A TRIBUTE TO PINK FLOYD Album!

Album features performances by Rick Wakeman, Ian Paice, Todd Rundgren, Geoff Tate, Joe Satriani, Rod Argent, Steve Stevens, Bootsy Collins, Geoff Downes, Rat Scabies, Jah Wobble and more!

Los Angeles, CA - One of the most iconic characters ever created in song - the smarmy, nefarious record executive dreamt up by Roger Waters for Pink Floyd’s 1975 single “Have A Cigar,” who infamously asked “Which one’s Pink?” - is being brought to life in a whole new way, courtesy of the legendary voice of prog metal superstars Dream Theater, James LaBrie, and a spectacular new concept video from award-winning director Vicente Cordero of Industrialism Films. LaBrie’s superb rendition of the song, taken from the just released album Still Wish You Were Here - A Tribute To Pink Floyd, gives the lyrics a far more sinister edge than the original recording, as does the razor-sharp guitar work from Steve Stevens, which contrasts nicely with the laid-back rhythm section composed of The Damned’s Rat Scabies and Public Image Ltd.’s Jah Wobble and some supremely tasteful keyboard work from The Moody Blues’ Patrick Moraz. This fantastic new version of the song inspired the first-ever dramatic portrayal of this character, performed by seasoned character actor Noel Jason Scott for Cordero’s video, as a stylish Mephistopheles who casually tempts a young, naive musician into a malevolent Faustian bargain that grants him all the riches and rewards of rock superstardom before exacting a treacherous toll.

Watch the video: 

LaBrie’s performance is a major highlight of Still Wish You Were Here but there is plenty more where that came from. The album also features awe-inspiring performances from a whole host of rock, metal & pop music legends such as keyboard wizard Rick Wakeman, Deep Purple drummer Ian Paice, recent Rock Hall of Fame inductee Todd Rundgren, ex-Queensrÿche vocalist Geoff Tate, guitar god Joe Satriani, Zombies/Argent vocalist Rod Argent, spacebass super genius Bootsy Collins, and lots more! Still Wish You Were Here is available on both CD in a beautiful 6-panel deluxe digipak and a stunningly gorgeous gatefold vinyl in a variety of colors!

Order the album: https://orcd.co/still_wish_you_were

Track List:
1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 1-5) - Geoff Tate, Steve Hackett, Billy Sheehan, Mel Collins, Geoff Downes, Ian Paice
2. Welcome To The Machine - Todd Rundgren, Rick Wakeman, Tony Levin
3. Have A Cigar - James LaBrie, Steve Stevens, Patrick Moraz, Rat Scabies, Jah Wobble
4. Wish You Were Here - Rik Emmett, Joe Satriani, Edgar Froese, David Ellefson, Carmine Appice
5. Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 6-9) - Rod Argent, Steve Hillage, Ian Paice, Bootsy Collins

Press inquiries:
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com


CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com

Follow PURPLE PYRAMID  @
Facebook |  Instagram  | Twitter | Youtube | Purple Pyramid Store
Facebook @PurplePyramidRecords
https://www.facebook.com/PurplePyramidRecords/
Instagram @Purple.pyramid
https://www.instagram.com/purple.pyramid/
Twitter @PurplePyramid1
https://twitter.com/PurplePyramid1
Youtube @ Purple Pyramid
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwiCec6bS6mX3c7dpitfYRQ
Purple Pyramid Store @
https://cleorecs.com/store/product-category/record-label/purple-pyramid/

Monday, May 10, 2021

Italian Composer, Multi-instrumentalist & Visual Artist Giancarlo Erra Returns With Spellbinding New Album “Departure Tapes”

First single & video for track “Departure Tape” premiered

UK based Italian composer, multi-instrumentalist and visual artist Giancarlo Erra will release his new album “Departure Tapes” on July 2, 2021 through Kscope.

“Departure Tapes” is an album consisting of 6 contemplative recordings, written while travelling between the UK and Italy. The majority of these 6 tracks were improvised in the studio by Erra, so for the most part, are totally unique and hold a sincerity which cannot be replicated. It is the follow up to 2019’s acclaimed album “Ends I-VII”, with the new recordings reflecting what has been an extremely difficult year for Giancarlo, with the loss of his father to cancer. Erra comments “In 2019 my first solo album was just being released, and I already had the view that I wanted to be more experimental with the second one, but no precise idea how at that point. Then my father suddenly got ill with cancer, and everything changed.”

Erra, having had a fractured and conflicted relationship with his father since his early teenage years found a way to turn this distressing time into a cathartic experience, “He left when I was 14 and since then he wasn't really part of my life. Then I received the news of his terminal illness and somehow, I found myself in a situation where I was taking care of this man, someone who I have been distanced from for so long.  During this period, I realized it had become a time for both of us to come to terms with many things. I wanted to get closure, but a positive one, for him and for me, and I think he was the same even though he maybe didn't know it; this was hard but at the same time 'healing' and in a painful twist, it was possibly the most close and positive few months I had with him since I was a small child.” He explains the influence this had on him creatively “It's the first album I have created without realizing I was actually writing it, as it is so intrinsically linked to one of the hardest and yet more healing parts of my life. The end result is the most experimental, and at times, the darkest material I have ever written, without compromise or set plan. It contains all the elements of my music in a very unconscious free flowing way.”

WATCH THE VIDEO FOR THE NEW SINGLE “DEPARTURE TAPE” HERE

The first single to be taken from the new album is the extremely poignant and personal “Departure Tape” with the video dedicated to Erra’s father, he explains “This track was written I think when I came back from my first visit to Italy to see my father after he had been diagnosed. It really just began as a live experiment - born and finished within one afternoon. I remember I didn't really want to do anything; I was exhausted and down, but then, when I started playing the track took shape. I discovered there was much more going on inside my head that needed to be faced. For me, music has always been the only way I can do that, and from this introspection ‘Departure Tape’ was born. It's almost like a free subconscious stream of thoughts and feelings while recording everything that was happening.”

Giancarlo Erra began his musical career in 2005 with one man studio project Nosound. 2008 saw him signing with Kscope and released a string of albums under the Nosound banner before recording his debut solo “Ends I-VII”. “Departure Tapes” sees Erra play and record every instrument himself along with taking on full production responsibilities at his own studio (https://widescreen.studio).
Max Richter, Olafur Arnalds, Nils Frahm and the more electronic / ambient recordings of Brian Eno may offer a reference point by which to enter Erra’s world, but the depth within his recordings is truly original.

Departure Tapes” track list:

1. Dawn Tape [06:15]
2. Previous Tape [01:48]
3. 169th Tape [02:51]
4. Unwound Tape [08:24]
5. Departure Tape [16:51]
6. A Blues For My Father [07:31]

Departure Tapes” will be released on the following formats and is available to pre-order HERE (https://GiancarloErra.lnk.to/DepartureTapes)
• A gatefold LP on oxblood coloured 180g vinyl
• 2-disc CD/DVD with the DVD-A/V including high resolution stereo & 5.1 mix:
DVD-V: stereo 24/48 LPCM lossless mixes, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround, DTS 96/24 5.1 Surround and DVD-A: 5.1 Surround 24/48 LPCM lossless mixes
• Digitally (with digital pre-orders receiving the single “Departure Tape” as an instant download from 22nd April)

Follow Giancarlo Erra:
https://facebook.com/giancarloerramusic
https://twitter.com/giancarloerra
https://www.instagram.com/giancarloerra/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8aXOIiw7HiVfCdZ6r66bKA
https://soundcloud.com/giancarloerra

All artist photography by Caroline Traitler www.carolinetraitler.net
Album artwork by Giancarlo Erra

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, March 3, 2021

RICHARD BARBIERI Shares New Single and Video For “SERPENTINE”

Preview of the Pioneering Artists’ New Solo Album Accompanied by Nightmarish 360 Degree Visual

(photo credit: Carl Glover)

WATCH THE VIDEO FOR “SERPENTINE” HERE

Richard Barbieri has shared a new single “Serpentine” – the first single from his upcoming solo album Under A Spell released on 26th February through Kscope.

Boasting a ground-breaking career that began in the late 70’s with synth-pop visionaries Japan and more recently as a member of influential art-rock band Porcupine Tree, Under A Spell is the first full length solo record from Richard Barbieri since 2017’s Planets + Persona.

The first song to be heard from Under A Spell, “Serpentine” is a winding and expansive six-minute soundscape that weaves through multiple genres and ideas. Complex, calming, engrossing and experimental, “Serpentine” is the perfect primer for Under a Spell – the work of a visionary musician working at his creative height.

The song is accompanied by a new 360 video created by Miles Skarin, allowing the viewer to travel along the floor of a foreboding forest, inspired by a nightmare Richard experienced and explained to the filmmaker.

Barbieri didn’t plan to make an album like Under A Spell, originally intending his fourth solo album to be a direct follow from its predecessor. That record, made in different studios across Europe and heavily incorporating live performances from a range of musicians, was adventurous and bold, showcasing Barbieri’s endlessly inventive song writing and mastery of electronic music. The follow-up would pick up where it left off, journeying further into the expansive terrain he mapped out on the previous record. And then the COVID-19 pandemic hit, and everything changed. “I wrote and recorded it in my studio at home, with all this strangeness going on outside,” says Barbieri of Under A Spell. “It became something completely different: this weird, self-contained dream-state album.”

Barbieri's willingness to constantly redefine his own musical boundaries are never more evident than on the brilliant, hypnotic Under A Spell – the latest milestone on this utterly unique journey.

Richard Barbieri:
Miles Skarin has created an amazing 360 degree video for the track ‘Serpentine’ from my new album ‘Under A Spell.’ It’s based on a vivid nightmare I experienced from the perspective of a snake. He has created this dense forest where past spells and rituals are glimpsed, strange voices are heard and where danger lies ahead. Don’t keep to the path! The track features a masterful bass arrangement from Percy Jones and thehiddenvoices of Lisen Rylander Love and Steve Hogarth.”

You can see the video here.

NOTE: Viewing is recommended in Chrome or Safari and Firefox users may experience difficulties with the 360 elements. A VR headset will greatly improve the experience and we would recommend viewers with VR headsets to use them.

Under A Spell was released on Kscope on 26th February, on CD, gatefold double black vinyl LP, limited edition gatefold double red vinyl LP (exclusive to the Kscope store) and digitally with pre-orders available HERE (https://RichardBarbieri.lnk.to/UnderASpell)

Follow Richard Barbieri:
https://www.facebook.com/RichardBarbieriOfficial/
https://www.instagram.com/richardbarbieri_music  
http://kscopemusic.com/artists/richard-barbieri

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, March 1, 2021

RICHARD BARBIERI Shares Video For “Flare 2” Taken From His New Solo Album UNDER A SPELL

Richard Barbieri has shared a new visual for “Flare 2” to mark the release of his new solo album UNDER A SPELL through Kscope. Boasting a groundbreaking career that began in the late 70s with synth-pop visionaries Japan and more recently as a member of influential art-rock band Porcupine Tree, UNDER A SPELL is the first full length solo record from Richard Barbieri since 2017’s Planets + Persona.

Taking place over a period of nine minutes, “Flare 2” is a sprawling and evolving soundscape of synths, trumpets and intriguing classical instrumentation. Indicative of the bold and progressive composition and production of Richard’s work on UNDER A SPELL, “Flare 2” now has an equally enthralling visualiser courtesy of animator Matthew Entecott.

WATCH THE ANIMATED VIDEO FOR “FLARE 2” HERE


(Photo credit: Carl Glover)

Released today, UNDER A SPELL was originally intended as Barbieri’s fourth solo album and a direct follow up to its predecessor, 2016’s Planets + Persona. That record, made in different studios across Europe and heavily incorporating live performances from a range of musicians, was adventurous and bold, showcasing Barbieri’s endlessly inventive song writing and mastery of electronic music. The follow-up would pick up where it left off, journeying further into the expansive terrain he mapped out on the previous record. And then the COVID-19 pandemic hit, and everything changed. “I wrote and recorded it in my studio at home, with all this strangeness going on outside,” says Barbieri of UNDER A SPELL. “It became something completely different: this weird, self-contained dream-state album.”

Barbieri's willingness to constantly redefine his own musical boundaries are never more evident than on the brilliant, hypnotic UNDER A SPELL – the latest milestone on this utterly unique journey.

Videos available from UNDER A SPELL:
“Flare 2” - 

“Serpentine” - 

UNDER A SPELL is out now on CD, gatefold double black vinyl LP, limited edition gatefold double red vinyl LP (exclusive to the Kscope store) and digitally available HERE (https://RichardBarbieri.lnk.to/UnderASpell)
(Please note in North America the retail release is 5th March and in Germany 12th March)

Praise for UNDER A SPELL:
Its in Richard Barbieri’s solo work that a gift for painting with sound finds full fruition” – Uncut
Atmospheric, jazz-inflected art-prog” - Classic Pop
a crossover combination between Tangerine Dream’s Zeit and David Bowie’s Low.” – Echoes & Dust

Follow Richard Barbieri:
https://www.facebook.com/RichardBarbieriOfficial/
https://www.instagram.com/richardbarbieri_music  
http://kscopemusic.com/artists/richard-barbieri

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, January 15, 2021

DOWNES BRAIDE ASSOCIATION Launch “Your Heart Will Find The Way” – The Second Track From Upcoming Album 'Halcyon Hymns'

Downes Braide Association (DBA) have announced the release of “Your Heart Will Find The Way” - the second track to be taken from their forthcoming album Halcyon Hymns. Watch the video here: 

Chris Braide says: “Your Heart Will Find The Way has an almost YES like quality of all the songs from Halcyon Hymns I feel, in that it's very up and direct. It’s also a great example of how Geoff and I will sometimes write. Geoff sent me the verse chord progression and the riff and then I added the chorus chord progression and the melody just fell out on top of those two elements. The brooding verse and majestic riff coupled with the uplift of the chorus dictated the lyric which is about listening to your inner voice and trusting your gut instinct to navigate you out of adversity…It’s a positive self-affirmation of a song.”

A few words from Geoff: “It was such a joy to hear the basic idea I sent Chris for ‘Your Heart Will Find A Way’ turn into something of a mini-epic. The masterful development of the rhythm section of Ash & Andy really enhances the track and brings it to life. It has become something of a feature of mine and Chris’s songwriting where the verse (in the minor key) sets the mood of the piece only to climax into an upbeat chorus (in the major). Here is a good example I believe of how we mix pathos with positivity – but ultimately delivering the overall message as one of hope and promise. It could be about a relationship, or indeed about having a belief and confidence in yourself that will eventually succeed. It’s for the listener to relate to and hopefully feel the strength of the message contained within.

Halcyon Hymns is the fifth DBA collaboration and follows their previous critically-acclaimed studio albums Pictures of You (2012), Suburban Ghosts (2015) and Skyscraper Souls (2017). The duo also released Live In England (2019) recorded at their first ever concert at Trading Boundaries, East Sussex, in 2018.

Here’s the video to the first track that was released in December, “Love Among The Ruins”: 

About Downes Braide Association

Downes Braide Association was formed as a studio-based project by Geoff Downes and Chris Braide and has now produced three studio albums: Pictures Of You (2012), Suburban Ghosts (2015) and Skyscraper Souls (2017) and a live album Live In England (2019). The project draws on Downes’ and Braide’s rich musical heritage to create a delightfully accessible brand of classic rock.

Keyboard wizard Geoff Downes was thrust into the limelight with the worldwide success of “Video Killed The Radio Star” in 1979. The single topped the charts chart in 16 countries for The Buggles duo of Geoff and Trevor Horn (vocals, bass guitar). They briefly joined prog legends YES before Downes became a founder member of the supergroup Asia with YES guitarist Steve Howe, ELP drummer Carl Palmer and the late John Wetton (vocals, bass guitar). The Wetton-Downes composition “Heat Of The Moment” became a world-wide hit in 1982 heralding many years of success for Asia with their FM radio-friendly brand of rock. Downes later rejoined YES in 2011 and remains with the band alongside Steve Howe.

British singer-songwriter-pianist Chris Braide has recently returned to UK shores after many years based in California. He enjoys enormous success writing and producing music for film scores, advertising campaigns and working closely with artists including Sia, Lana Del Rey, Christina Aguilera, Beyonce, Paloma Faith, Britney Spears and Marc Almond.

Downes Braide Association: “Your Heart Will Find A Way” on Halcyon Hymns is released on 15th January 2021 and is now available to order from Cherry Red Records:
CD/DVD https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/downes-braide-association-halcyon-hymns-cd-dvd-edition/
2LP White Vinyl:  https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/downes-braide-association-halcyon-hymns-limited-edition-2lp-white-vinyl/

For more information:
Twitter: @TheRealDBAMusic
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/downesbraide
www.downesbraide.co.uk
www.christopherbraide.com
www.geoffdownes.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

10cc/Godley & Creme Legend Kevin Godley Releases New Video From Forthcoming Solo Album MUSCLE MEMORY

Kevin Godley has released a new video “Expecting a Message” from his highly anticipated forthcoming solo album MUSCLE MEMORY!

“This is as DIY as it gets. No film crew, no editor, no budget. The plan was to make a film, stream of consciousness style, doing everything myself, like I’m recording music. Improvise, throw stuff in and make sense of it later and I did…all except the last bit. I guess it’s a performance film of sorts, all shot within a hundred yard radius of home and, at the risk of this sounding like a commercial, it would’ve been impossible without my iPhone X, Adobe Premier Pro and Wondershare Filmora editing software and two supremely cool apps, GlitchCam and EFEKT. Not sure if it’s the message I was expecting though.” - KG

Watch the video:

MUSCLE MEMORY marks Kevin’s first time fronting a project. His lyricism is cutting, political and provides a mood similar to film dialogue over classic pop lyricism. Gun control, societal unrest, racism and questions regarding political correctness make for some of the most striking lyrical content likely heard on an alternative pop record. This is a dark record from someone not known for dark themes.  

Kevin’s career features numerous exceptional albums and sees him as one of the most important pioneers of the pop music video. MUSCLE MEMORY is a fitting addition to this body of work, offering a provoking, daring new insight into Godley’s creative practice. Tracks from the album will be released in order every two weeks until the album's release on the 17th of December 2020.  

Album track list / release timeline:  

1) Expecting a Message: 16/07/2020
2) The Ghosts of the Living: 30/07/2020
3) Hit the Street: 13/08/2020
4) The Bang Bang Theory: 27/08/2020
5) 5 Minutes Alone: 10/09/2020
6) Cut to the Cat: 24/09/2020
7) One Day: 08/10/2020
8) All Bones are White: 22/10/2020
9) Periscope: 5/11/2020
10) Song of Hate: 19/11/2020
11) Bulletholes in the Sky: 03/12/2020 12) Muscle Memory - CD, Vinyl and Digital: 17/12/2020

Listening link: https://soundcloud.com/state51/sets/kevin-godley-muscle-memory/s-ZTSMzE2shtH

Kevin Godley social media:
Official website: http://www.kevin-godley.com/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/p/BvcGX_ZgN22/  
Twitter: @kevingodley9

Subscribe to Kevin Godley's mailing list:
https://kevingodley.greedbag.com/subscribe/

For more information please contact The state51 Conspiracy: support@strate51.com  

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Thursday, September 10, 2020

Prog Ensemble DarWin to Release Second Album “Darwin 2: A Frozen War” on November 6, 2020

 


CD, Digital and Double Coloured Eco-Vinyl Gatefold LP with 30cm x 20cm poster


Following the release of critically acclaimed debut album “Origin Of Species” in early 2019, DarWin is set to release the follow up album “Darwin 2: A Frozen War” on the 6th November 2020.


Once more DarWin has assembled a stunning ensemble of musicians. “DarWin II: A Frozen War” continues the core collaboration with Simon Phillips (drums, Toto/The Who/Jeff Beck), Matt Bissonette (Elton John, David Lee Roth, Ringo Starr) and DarWin. Joining them are powerhouse players Billy Sheehan (bass, Mr Big/ Steve Vai/Winery Dogs), Guthrie Govan (guitar, Aristocrats/Asia/Hans Zimmer/Steven Wilson), Greg Howe (guitar, Michael Jackson/Justin Timberlake), Derek Sherinian (keyboards, Dream Theater/Alice Cooper/Black Country Communion) and more…


The second album builds on the themes of “Origin Of Species” - first single “Nightmare Of My Dreams” featured a stunning video centered around the theme of the recent wildfires and filmed in areas of Australia directly affected. The other tracks build on DarWin’s sound - drawing the best elements of progressive rock with a depth of vocal sound scapes and  songwriting. There is a generous amount of guitar shred and heavy grooves on display for the rock faithful who demand athletic performances.


First single, “Nightmare Of My Dreams”, available now, also features a video directed by the legendary Nigel Dick (Guns N’ Roses, Def Leppard) HERE



“At the end of it all, DarWin has saved the concept album as well as the planet.” – Classic Rock review of debut album “Origin Of Species”


The full album tracklisting of “Darwin 2: A Frozen War” is as follows:


1. Nightmare Of My Dreams

2. Future History

3. Eternal Life

4. A Frozen War

5. Another Year


The album is also be available in spectacular Double Coloured Eco-Vinyl Gatefold LP with 30cm x 20cm poster. LP1 will be the standard album tracklisting, as above. LP2 features new interpretations of various songs from the first two albums, highlighting  theorchestral or unplugged performances of the earlier tracks.  They were all mixed and rearranged by mastermind Simon Phillips, and show a more delicate and emotional side to the DarWin recordings.


The full tracklisting for LP2 is as follows


Side A:

1. Escape the Maze (Orchestral)

2. Nightmare of My Dreams (Orchestral)

3. Slowly Melting (Unplugged)

4. Forever (Orchestral)


Side B:

1. One Horizon (Unplugged)

2. Rise (Orchestral)

3. Last Chance (Orchestral)

4. Another Year (Acapella)


DarWin says. “We completed this album under extraordinary circumstances. The writing for the album continued as we wrapped Origin of Species in 2018, and our worlds were turned upside down by wildfires and viral pandemics. We’re grateful to the amazing group of musicians, artists and professionals who participated in this project. Almost no aspect of the creative process was “typical,” with team members spread out around the world, and often under lock down. We had our instruments, our technologies, and a passion for musical creativity. We hope that the emotion and resilience of this time period will come through these recordings.”


“Darwin 2: A Frozen War” was produced by DarWin and Simon Phillips and recorded primarily in Iceland and the USA.


DarWin’s critically acclaimed debut “Origin Of Species ” was the first installment in an epic saga that addresses the challenges of mankind in our coming era. It depicts the role of a changing planet, and the potential, as well as limitations, of technology to help solve mankind’s greatest challenges. A complex project that’s eschews the hollow immediacy of much contemporary art. A story that demands attention and imagination. With music sweeping in scope, at times evoking hard rock virtuoso shredding, alongside grand orchestral compositions, warm harmonies and soaring choruses. A project that is even more relevant in the strange times we live in.


http://www.darwin.is/


For further Information

Duff Battye / Duff Press duff@duffpress.co.uk + 44 (0)7904 385308


Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, August 21, 2020

Prog Ensemble DarWin Release New Video “Nightmare Of My Dreams” from Forthcoming Album “DarWin 2: A Frozen War”


DarWin's new single, “Nightmare Of My Dreams” from forthcoming Album “DarWin 2: A Frozen War”features a video directed by the legendary Nigel Dick (Guns N’ Roses, Def Leppard).

Watch the video HERE


“I started working on this (Nightmare Of My Dreams) shortly after we finished the first ‘Origin of Species’ album. Our drummer Simon Phillips, his home burnt down in a tragic wildfire, and we had been thinking a lot about all the themes of the first album dealing with climate change. Those events actually affected our own lives very directly. I’d been working on some ideas for this song and one night it all seemed to come together. The video was shot in Australia, where we wanted to shoot in an area that had been affected by wildfires and climate change. We really want this song to be a tribute to those dealing with the challenges of wildfires around the world. We hope that people can think about the dangers facing many parts of the world and the challenges of the families who have to get their lives back together after these events.” - DarWin

Following the release of debut album “Origin Of Species” in early 2019, DarWin has now released a new single, “Nightmare Of My Dreams”.

The epic 7 plus minute “Nightmare Of My Dreams” builds on the themes set out by DarWin on “Origin Of Species”. The video directed by Nigel Dick (Guns N Roses/Band Aid/Def Leppard/Britney Spears) showcases the talents playing on the track - Guthrie Govan (guitar, Aristocrats/Asia/Hans Zimmer/Steven Wilson), Simon Phillips (drums, Toto/The Who/Jeff Beck), Matt Bissonette (Elton John, David Lee Roth, Ringo Starr) and Billy Sheehan (bass, Mr Big/ Steve Vai/Winery Dogs).

Of the 400 plus videos Nigel Dick has directed this is the first video he has directed remotely. The shoots took place in LA, Nashville, Iceland and Australia - with Nigel himself being in Colorado. Nigel provided the Australian crew with a 27 page storyboard to follow for the shoot in the Blue Mountains, Australia, an area that had been ravaged by fire at the end of 2019. Ironically the fire blistered landscape had begun to grow back green shoots when they filmed, so they had to hide those. Nigel also had to use a real family as actors so that they could work around social distancing. And for the final shot the teddy bear had to be flown across the world to be filmed beforehand had to be quarantined before coming out of its box. A curious tale for these curious times…

Once more DarWin has assembled a stunning ensemble of musicians. “DarWin II: A Frozen War” continues the core collaboration with Simon Phillips, Matt Bissonette and DarWin. Joining them are powerhouse players Billy Sheehan, Guthrie Govan, Greg Howe (guitar, Michael Jackson/Justin Timberlake), Derek Sherinian (keyboards, Dream Theater/Alice Cooper/Black Country Communion) and more…

“Darwin 2: A Frozen War” was produced by DarWin and Simon Phillips and recorded primarily in Iceland and the USA. The “DarWin 2: A Frozen War” album will be released later in 2020.

DarWin’s critically acclaimed debut “Origin Of Species ” was the first installment in an epic saga that addresses the challenges of mankind in our coming era.  It depicts the role of a changing planet, and the potential, as well as limitations, of technology to help solve mankind’s greatest challenges. A complex project that’s eschews the hollow immediacy of much contemporary art. A story that demands attention and imagination. With music sweeping in scope, at times evoking hard rock virtuoso shredding, alongside grand orchestral compositions, warm harmonies and soaring choruses. A project that is even more relevant in the strange times we live in.

“At the end of it all, DarWin has saved the concept album as well as the planet.” – Classic Rock review of debut album “Origin Of Species”

“…a smorgasbord of styles, dripping in YES pomp, melodic pop and riffy modern day rock” – Prog Magazine review of debut album “Origin Of Species”

http://www.darwin.is/

For further Information
Duff Battye / Duff Press duff@duffpress.co.uk + 44 (0)7904 385308

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Thursday, July 23, 2020

NYC Power Trio OGD To Release First Single From Forthcoming Debut Album "The Big Game" Produced By Drum Legend Jerry Marotta


“Young Love” is the first single from NYC based power trio OGD from their forthcoming debut album “The Big Game” produced by master drummer Jerry Marotta (Peter Gabriel, Paul McCartney, John Mayer). The band features Derek Olivero (Guitar, Lead Vocals), Bobby Gavin (Drums, Vocals), and Dave De Ranieri (Bass, Vocals). The band recorded the album in upstate New York at Dreamland Recording Studios. Famed album cover designer Hugh Syme (Rush, Aerosmith, Dream Theater) was recruited to create a package for the CD and vinyl harking back to the pre-digital days of rock-n-roll including a 20-page booklet of Hugh’s art.

The video was produced by Doug Hatley inspired by the album artwork from legendary artist Hugh Syme. Watch the video for “Young Love” here:


Hailing from the ashes of Outland, Olivero and DeRanieri joined forces with Gavin to form OGD creating modern day rock with shades of Rush, Kiss, and even Clutch. “The Big Game” features 10 original compositions co-written by Olivero, Gavin, DeRanieri. The album was mixed by Michael Cozzi who’s worked his sonic magic on releases from Phil Keaggy, Tony Levin, Deep Energy Orchestra, and Security Project, his band with Jerry, Trey Gunn and Happy Rhodes. The album was mastered by world-class mastering engineer Chris Athens with the vinyl cut by Chris Muth.

Get ready to join the game when the album drops on August 25 with a full vinyl package set to release later in the year.

“I was so impressed by the prog-level energy and complexity and how it coexists wonderfully with the accessible and ‘radio-friendly’ aspects of the song structure. ‘The Big Game’... some really big music ... great playing, arrangements, and lead vocal .... and a world class sound overall! And no wonder — with the masterful production by maestro Jerry Marotta and his team!” - Hugh Syme  

Says Derek, “Writing music for me is about a feeling or mood brought on by past or current life events. It could be from a memory, walking away from something or someone, a deserted highway, experiencing unknown, going into the wild, the universe and what is out there or a scene from a movie. Something that sticks out and strikes a chord in me. I'm always exploring and wondering where does the path lead. Most of the songs were written based on life experiences. The meaning is left up to the listeners interpretation. Always searching, The Journey continues with our first studio Album ‘The Big Game’ recorded at Dreamland studios NY. Produced by the legendary Jerry Marotta.”

Says Dave, “I’m thrilled with the OGD album. It was amazing to work with Jerry Marotta who I listened to and admired for so many years. We all did our best to do justice to these songs. I love albums you want to hear without skipping a song. I think we achieved that with ‘The Big Game.’ The album artwork is beautiful. The cover draws you in, and the images inside reflect each song. Hugh Syme did stellar work and that is yet another thrill, as I’ve been admiring his work on all my Rush album covers for years. Now he’s done our album!”

Says Bobby, “We all have added our mark on the music and it shows drive, passion, creativity and anything to anyone with an ear to listen too. There is something for everyone to enjoy and get down with the momentum and drive of OGD.”

The thing that always gets to me when I’m listening to music is sincerity. Neil Young has it. Bruce Springsteen has it. Otis Redding. Steely Dan, Aretha Franklin. Sinatra. The Band. The Beatles. You get it. As time goes by I find it harder and harder to buy into what music is selling these days. It’s fake, manufactured, constructed etc … When Derek Olivero, Bobby Gavin and Dave De Ranieri contacted me looking for a space upstate to set up and jam I sold them on Dreamland Studios which I’ve been running for about 12 years. Large Church built in the late 1800’s. Big sound. Big acoustics. I greet them at the Church entrance and say hi. Okay … he’s gotta be from Brooklyn. This ones gotta be from the Bronx and the 3rd guy sounds either Queens or Brooklyn. They set themselves up. Bobby Gavins drums sound like cannons! Derek’s guitar is screaming at me. Slapping me in the face. Daring me to utter a single sound. Dave Da Ranieri's Bass is enabling me to forego my next colonoscopy. Okay, these guys know how their instruments are supposed to sound. Check. I’m all ears now. They start rocking it. I hear lyrics like ‘Innocence Ran’ next up ‘The Word’ The freaking Word!!! How brazen is that! Does Derek Olivero actually think he knows what ‘The Word’ is? That’s badass if you ask me. Then ‘Setting Sun’ ‘Out In The West’ ‘Scary Night’ ‘Unknown’ and finally … ‘Young Love’ I get my engineer to start rolling tape. Let’s record some of this stuff and listen back later to see if I wasn’t imagining what I’d heard. In the end I told them they had to let me make the record for them and we had to record it at Dreamland with a few guitar overdubs done at Jersville Studios. My studio in my house.

 I love the record we made. I love these maniacs. We are now lifelong friends and the record is finally about to hit the airwaves. ‘The Big Game’  watch for the videos. Seek out the music. I mean what I say …

Sincerely,
Jerry Marotta



OGD:
Derek Olivero - Guitar, Lead Vocals
Bobby Gavin - Drums, Vocals
Dave De Ranieri - Bass, Vocals

“Young Love”
Written by Olivero, Gavin, DeRanieri
Audio Produced by Jerry Marotta
Video Production and Animation by Doug Hatley
Band Video by Jerry Marotta
Album Cover Artwork, Direction, and Illustrations by Hugh Syme
Audio Recorded at Dreamland Recording Studios in West Hurley, NY
Additional Recording at Jersville Studios in Woodstock, NY
Audio Engineer - Ken Helmlinger
Assistant Engineer - Ariel Shafir
Mixed by Michael Cozzi at Moscozzi Studio in Seattle, Washington
Mastered by Chris Athens for Chris Athens Masters in Austin, Texas
Band Photography - Natalie De Gennaro & Francis X DeGennaro
Strategic Liaison - A.J. Chippero

To purchase:
https://ogdband.bandcamp.com

For more information:
https://ogdband.com/home
https://www.facebook.com/ogdband
https://www.instagram.com/ogdmusic/
https://twitter.com/ogdmusic
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmrYE5i3fcjNuIGtO5vra3Q

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, July 15, 2020

Gentle Giant Reunite Virtually For First Time In 4 Decades For New Video Along With Members of King Crimson, Yes and More!


Prog Legends Gentle Giant reunite for new version of “Proclamation” premiered by PROG Magazine

The classic Gentle Giant line-up have reunited for the first time since 1980 for a unique new video. Pieced together over the last few months, it’s a brand new performance of “Proclamation” (originally from the band’s 1974 album “The Power & The Glory”) including appearances from Gentle Giant alumni Derek, Ray and Phil Shulman, Gary Green, Kerry Minnear, John Weathers and Malcolm Mortimore. There are also guest appearances by numerous notable musicians including Jakko Jakszyk (King Crimson), Billy Sherwood (YES), Lee Pomeroy (ELO/Steve Hackett), Dan Reed (Dan Reed Network), Richard Hilton (Chic) and Mikey Heppner (Priestess).

Watch the video:
https://www.loudersound.com/news/gentle-giant-premiere-fan-video-of-proclamation?fbclid=IwAR2U8vsVwxFedxF0od-nHqFusazMoCZZuhhPhMV3sZOgJ-OxES2_qKIg3Jo


“This terrible pandemic is being felt all over the world and with everyone being stuck at home, I figured now would be the perfect time to bring positivity out in the world, bring everyone together and celebrate our love of music and Gentle Giant,” explains Noah Shulman, son of Derek and mastermind behind this project tp Dom Lawson of PROG Magazine. “Over the years I was always amazed with how many people were filming their renditions of Gentle Giant tracks from all over the world on an array of instruments. So that sparked the idea of wanting to see them all in one place, blending sounds and instruments into a single track.”

Directed and edited by Noah Shulman and mixed by his uncle Ray, the video is likely to be remembered most for the momentous reuniting of the real Gentle Giant, albeit only briefly and via to the wonders of remote communication. Seeing that the band have never seemed likely to reform, this is a significant and exciting moment for Gentle Giant fans everywhere. Says Noah, “It’s a sort of thank you from the band to the fans.”

For more information:
Twitter: @GGIANTMUSIC
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gentlegiantband/
Instagram: @gentlegiantband

Press inquiries (North America): Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, June 5, 2020

Nick D'Virgilio Releases New Video & Single "Money (That’s What I Want)" From Forthcoming Album "Invisible"


Album special guests include Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater) / Paul Gilbert (Mr Big, Racer X) / Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel) / Carl Verheyen (Supertramp) / Rick Nielsen (Cheap Trick) / Jonas Reingold (The Flower Kings / Steve Hackett) / Jem Godfrey (Frost*) and more 

A distinctive cover version of “Money (That’s What I Want)” has been made available as the second single from Invisible, the forthcoming new solo album by the American drummer, vocalist and multi-instrumentalist Nick D'Virgilio (NDV). The first ever hit on the Tamla Motown label in 1959 has seen notable covers in the past by the likes of The Beatles and The Flying Lizards, with NDV stating: “I've always liked this song, with the original version by Barrett Strong being my favorite. I wanted my take on it to be dark and brooding with a cinematic sound, so I came up with a way to build an end with chords that kept climbing until a nice climax, while parts for orchestra were arranged that built a great sound on top. One of my favorite parts of the song is when I'm whispering a bunch of slang terms for money. I sang the whole song like a person that is going a little crazy and that section was a perfect fit.”

In regard to how the song fits into the narrative flow of Invisible, he explains: “Lyrically, the words fit perfectly. The song comes at the point in the story where the protagonist has decided to leave his dead end job and venture out into the world to try and discover the meaning of his life. He wanders into a shop and sees the person behind the counter looking dishevelled and depressed, prompting him to ask 'is everything OK? Why are you here? If it's that bad, why don’t you go home?' Those questions prompt the response that they need money. They are stuck in life’s trap just like him, and he swiftly realizes that he is not alone in feeling alone.”



Invisible is the second solo album by the California born but Indiana based NDV and comes almost two decades after his debut solo offering. He describes his new record as “a collection of songs that make up the story of a man who is unhappy with where his life has ended up. He finally decides to take the scary step of leaving everything behind so he can go and find the meaning of his life.” He continues: “Throughout my career I have been in many different places. Over time the word 'invisible' kept coming to mind and it got me thinking of people that truly have the hardest jobs in the world, or no job at all. The outliers. The ones we all take for granted. The ones we will never know but if they were not there then our lives would not be the nearly the same. Over time I amassed lyric and song ideas with the idea of writing a concept record on the subject.”

Keen to establish that “this is not your typical drummer record,” NDV states that “'Invisible’ is a rock album with various musical flavors thrown in because the songs were formed with the story in mind. A classical prelude that uses various themes from the whole piece sets the stage. From there comes a mellow ballad outlining the story and then it is on to the adventures of the central character. The main thing making this record did for me was to reaffirm my strong belief that we are all here for something. We all have a purpose.”

With the recording process split between the legendary Abbey Road Studios in London (including full string and brass sections) and the world class Sweetwater Studios in Fort Wayne, Indiana, Invisible boasts star turns from luminaries such as guitarists Paul Gilbert (Mr. Big, Racer X), Rick Nielsen (Cheap Trick) and Carl Verheyen (Supertramp), bassists Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel) and Jonas Reingold (The Flower Kings, Steve Hackett), plus keyboard players Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater) and Jem Godfrey (Frost*).

NDV's debut solo album, Karma (2001), had appeared midway through his tenure with US progressive rock titans Spock's Beard, with whom he started out as drummer upon their inception in the early 1990's before taking on additional lead singer and live frontman duties in 2002 for four studio albums prior to his departure in 2011. At the time, this was partly in order to continue touring as drummer, singer and assistant bandleader with Cirque du Soleil, with whom he played over 1400 shows over a five year period until 2014. He has also been the drummer with the award winning UK band Big Big Train since 2007 and performed with world renowned acts such as Genesis (appearing on the Calling All Stations album) and Tears For Fears (with whom he toured for over a decade).

Upon ending his stint with Cirque du Soleil, NDV relocated to Fort Wayne to become the face of the drum division of world leading music technology and instrument retailer Sweetwater Sound, explaining that “it has exploded and I have had the opportunity to meet a lot of interesting people while building new lifelong relationships. I've also had the chance to play on so much great drum gear – it is Disneyland in that regard! Many of my old bands and music compatriots have been there to record or do workshops, which is icing on the cake.”

The release of Invisible now begins yet another fascinating chapter in NDV's multi-faceted career, which he concludes “has taken many twists and turns. I have been able to live out some major musical fantasies, seeing some of the highest highs as well as some of the lowest lows. It has been a wild ride that is not over yet!”

A full biography of Nick D’Virgilio can be downloaded here: bit.ly/3cJvX9N

NICK D’VIRGILIO (NDV) : photography by Erick Anderson (eafoto)

Nick D'Virgilio's Invisible will be released on June 26, 2020.



To purchase: 
www.nickdvirgilio.com/shop/
burningshed.com/store/english-electric-recordings/nick-dvirgilio_invisible_cd

For more information: nickdvirgilio.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com