Showing posts with label Solo Album. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Solo Album. Show all posts

Tuesday, September 13, 2022

Progressive Rock Guitarist Dallas Perkins Releases New Album “Experimental Truth”

Los Angeles, CA – On Dallas Perkins’ latest release “Experimental Truth” his stellar technical proficiency and dexterity are on full display. We are now hearing six-string wisdom come to full fruition. Showcasing a guitarist that is clearly steeped in melody, the music allows us to join the conversation with breathing room, suspense, and brilliantly placed pauses in these layered compositions. Perkins is not just a guitarist with attention grabbing technique, he is a composer reflecting influences spanning centuries of music history absorbed and personalized over decades finally distilled into a singular artistic statement.

Dallas said of “Experimental Truth”: “With this album, I really wanted to grab the listener’s attention with harmonic complexity and melodic simplicity. My hope is that it will satisfy fans of my previous work. But beyond that, my goal was to create a cohesive theme connecting each composition as in the spirit of the concept album. With the absence of lyrical content, I wanted the music to stand on its own and perhaps evoke a visual dimension. In short, I hope to inspire each listener’s imagination to create their own interpretation and imagery.”

Hailing from Pittsburgh, Dallas cites his original six-string inspirations as Jimmy Page, Eddie Van Halen, Steve Howe and Ritchie Blackmore, among other heavyweights from the era. After paying his dues in clubs and festivals, lending his chops to various cover bands and original acts, he headed West.

In Los Angeles, Dallas became a respected member of the emerging wave of technically proficient players as well as an in-demand instructor at famed Hollywood music school Musician’s Institute and National Guitar Summer Workshop.

Taking on a few hired gun gigs, he eventually found himself relocated to the Tampa Bay area of Florida. During that time, he began releasing a series of critically acclaimed instrumental material. His debut release, “Looking Glass,” was hailed by critics in both Guitar World and Guitar for the Practicing Musician magazines. He was quickly recruited into Virgin recording artists Roxx Gang, both in the studio and on the road.

Dallas’ style has continued to evolve and broaden since the release of his self-produced, acclaimed solo CDs, including the breakout smash “Emergent Behavior” and the follow up “Unbecoming.”

Dallas currently performs live with his own solo band throughout Southern California. He is also a staple in the Los Angeles music scene, a sought after touring and session musician and a regular on Hollywood’s promo buzz show, Ultimate Jam Night.

Track List:
1. Beck Street
2. Deus XM
3. Dynamic Equilibrium
4. Mexican Puppets
5. Monolith
6. Intermeshing Spectra
7. Azul
8. In Via Domum
9. Jagwired

Produced by Dallas Perkins
D Mania Records

Listen to the entire album here: https://etpromo.dallasperkins.com/

To purchase:
Amazon Music: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0B6QHMG8Y/ref=dm_ws_sp_ps_dp
Apple Music: https://music.apple.com/us/album/experimental-truth/1635385722
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/4k7tY53Crcp0cToAoGD1NI
Pandora: https://www.pandora.com/artist/dallas-perkins/ARcPh5PjVtt9knm
YouTube Music: https://music.youtube.com/channel/UCLL1dnwQNmn4YVd-hOmiuYA

For more information:
www.DallasPerkins.com
https://www.facebook.com/dalchemy
https://www.instagram.com/dallasdperkins
https://twitter.com/dallasperkins
https://www.youtube.com/dalchemy

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, September 12, 2022

YES Keyboard Legend Tony Kaye Celebrates the Anniversary of His First Solo Album 'End Of Innocence'

Twelve months on from the release of this hauntingly beautiful album, another event is changing our world.

The music is poignant for another host of reasons, showing that Kaye, writing from the heart, speaks for us all when words just cannot express the emotions we all feel when tragedy strikes.

An album 20 years in the making, the first solo work from former YES member Tony Kaye.

Conceived to commemorate the events and the journey that followed the world changing moments of 9/11, End Of Innocence is designed to be listened to in its entirety and to take us on a journey.

Featuring Dani Torchia who Kaye met in the wake of 9/11 has written and performed on the album. Tony Kaye retired from Yes in 1996, and came out of retirement the week following the events of 9/11 and began to write this album, the power of music helped Tony to process the day that became the End Of Innocence.

The album takes you on a journey from the peace of the night before, to the emerging hopeful looking to the future. This album has been interwoven with the growth of their relationship. Today the album throws light and solace following the death of Queen Elizabeth, which changes the landscape of the world for every person whose lives she touched in her 70 year Reign.

The artwork is painted by Roger Dean, the artist best known for his work with YES and Asia. It was created after Roger had heard the music and the images reflect the journey the music takes.

On the 21st Anniversary of 911, a reminder to our leaders to stay vigilant. NEVER FORGET!” - Tony Kaye

End Of Innocence Track Listing:
1. Twinkle Twinkle Little Star/Twilight Time
2. 911 Overture
3. NYC Blues
4. Battle Cry
5. 285 Fulton Street
6. Let’s Roll
7. Tug of War
8. Flight 11
9. Towers Fall
10. Sweetest Dreams
11. Aftermath
12. Heroes
13. The Battle
14. Hope and Triumph
15. Homecoming
16. Ground Zero

Produced by Tony Kaye

All tracks composed by Tony Kaye except “Sweetest Dreams” by Dani Torchia.

Tony Kaye, Spirit of Unicorn Music and Cherry Red Records are donating 10% of all profits from End of Innocence to https://www.garysinisefoundation.org/ The charity supports veterans, defenders and first responders in times of hardship.

About Tony Kaye
Tony Kaye is best known as the original keyboard player with prog legends YES, his Hammond organ giving their groundbreaking The YES Album its most distinctive sound within the YES catalogue. Following his departure from YES in 1971 Kaye was involved with a number of other bands including David Bowie, Badger, Flash and Badfinger before returning to YES for their greatest commercial success 90125 in 1983. Kaye remained with YES for several albums and tours before retiring from the music business in 1996. Following the re-awakening of his musical inspiration in 2001, Kaye accepted an invitation from current YES bassist Billy Sherwood to work on projects which led to the formation of CIRCA, in 2007, and has yielded four albums to date.

Order Tony Kaye End of Innocence here:
https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/tony-kaye-end-of-innocence/
www.yesworld.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, August 1, 2022

Original Crack The Sky Bassist Joe Macre To Release Second Solo Album “The Dream Is Free”

Hot on the heels of his critically acclaimed first solo album. Bassist Joe Macre will be releasing his second album “The Dream Is Free” on August 1st on Cuppa Joe Records. Joe is known as the original bassist for the progressive rock band Crack The Sky best known for achieving “debut album of the year” in Rolling Stone Magazine and still included in the top 50 albums of all time. Joe was a member of Crack The Sky from 1975–1980 and 2004-2009. Joe has also worked with The B. E. Taylor Group, Wild Cherry, King Friday, Jim Croce, David Sanborn, The Brecker Brothers, Marie Osmond, Keith Green, Clint Brown, and others.

In 2018 Joe began work on Joe Mac’s American Garage with the debut album, “Bullet Train” released in 2021 with a cast of musicians and superstars including Grammy Award Artists Oliver Wakeman (Yes), and Andy Timmons (Danger Danger), Robert Schindler (Johnny Nash), Madukwu Chinwah (Erikah Badu), Chris Elliot and Jerry Oxendyne (86 Bullets), Pete Hewllett (Billy Joel), John Palumbo, Rick Witkowski, Bobby Hird and Joey D'Amico (Crack The Sky).

Joe’s latest effort, “The Dream Is Free” was written immediately after the “Bullet Train” release and features him on all instruments and voices, with guest appearances by Crack The Sky’s Rick Witkowski and Al Macre (keys) and solos by Chris Elliott. It’s a collection of 10 songs with Bonus tracks. The first single is a light commercial song entitled “I Need You.”

Says Joe, “‘The Dream Is Free’ album is a reflection on my life experiences as a musician. The Dream Is Free BUT the pain’s sold separately. It takes some talent to get in but there are consequences if you have no idea of the BUSINESS of music. So, I guess it’s a loosely concept album but also a collection that was written during the covid times. I write all the songs and play all the instruments and vocals with the exception of some solos by Chris Elliott, Rick Witkowski and Al Macre. Two incredible soloists and a classical keyboardist who played on a few songs. My former bandmate Rick Witkowski co-wrote two songs with me on this album. My musical inspirations are The Beatles, Yes, Genesis, King Crimson, Strawbs. I grew up playing Funk as a bassist. These early years were filled with Motown, James Brown and anything with a cool rhythm. The context for my songs is positive, giving the listener the chance to explore what I'm saying. Most are based on my musical experiences and years on the road.”

Joe Macre’s Award-winning Post Production mixing credits in films include Monster in Law, House of D and Fire Down Below. His “Cuppa Joe Music” Library and Sound Design are chosen for many national spots, including the award-winning Super Bowl Tabasco’s “Mosquito”, Corona’s “Ship in a Bottle”, Nickelodeon, Showtime, Ford, McDonald’s, Corona, Hyundai, and Oprah Winfrey.

Joe was inducted into the board of directors for SPARS (Society of Professional Audio Recording Services) with Leslie Ann Jones, Audio Director at Skywalker Sound, Kevin Mills at Larrabee West Studios, Tim Butler at Chicago Recording (CRC), Jeff Greenberg at The Village Recorder and Steve Davis at Crawford Communications Atlanta. Joe is an active member of AES and the American Federation of Musicians.

Track List:
The Dream Is Free
Tell Me
Ride Or Die
Drop Me Off At The Rainbow
Life In The Theater
These Cool Years
Not Looking Back Tonight
Tomorrow Is Today
Get Up, Crack Down
The Dark Sky Sea

Special thanks to Chris Elliott, Rick Witkowski and Al Macre for their input and contributions.

To purchase:
https://music.apple.com/us/artist/joe-macre/1554759535
https://joemacsamericangarage.bandcamp.com

For more information:
www.joemacre.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUnj3mE99udGF8QHZsDEPCQ
https://open.spotify.com/artist/671oRPBGK1PKkhvfwudawb
https://soundcloud.com/cuppajoemusic

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, May 9, 2022

Bass Virtuoso Clint Bahr Releases New Solo Album “PUZZLEBOX” Feat. Members of King Crimson, YES, Van Der Graaf Generator, Sun Ra and Others!

Bass virtuoso Clint Bahr just released a new solo album “PUZZLEBOX” on Moonjune Records. The album features members of King Crimson, YES, Van Der Graaf Generator, Sun Ra and others!

Clint Bahr’s new band, also named PUZZLEBOX, is a multidimensional “Tabula Rasa” in both compositional and improvisational formats. PUZZLEBOX is a genre-defying global collaboration of artists, a cross-pollination of diverse instruments and talents.

Delightfully blurring both stylistic and structural approaches, the tight-knit unit Bahr has assembled proves as unpredictable as they are adept, articulate and gifted. “PUZZLEBOX” recalls prog in its heyday when albums as uninhibited and off script as King Crimson’s “Lizard” and Captain Beefheart’s “Trout Mask Replica” were celebrated, and the Canterbury renaissance was in full swing. It harkens back to the same “reaching beyond” mentality which defined his seminal NYC-based power trio, TriPod. Brilliantly arranged and produced, Clint Bahr has delivered a multi-faceted, timeless epic ... at such a time as this.

Says Bahr, “I decided to do a ‘solo’ album with friends from the UK and USA. They include former members of King Crimson, Anthony Braxton, Television, Van der Graaf Generator, Sun Ra, Flash, TriPod, Gloria Gaynor, YES, Andromeda, etc. The album is a 50/50 compilation of composed and improvisational pieces. More so, PUZZLEBOX is a recording & touring band with interchanging players from around the world with a core bass and drums section.”


Clint Bahr - Composer/Lyricist
(Vocals, 12/8/4 String Basses, Chapman Stick, Acoustic Guitar, Mandolin, Piano, Harmonium, Mellotron, Theremin, Percussion, etc.)
Formerly of TriPod, Andromeda, Flash, 40 Familys, Menage a Trois, as well as the bass player for Eartha Kitt. He has toured nationally and internationally. Progressive Edge Magazine listed him in their “TOP BASS PLAYER of 2002” list. He has recorded for Columbia Records, MoonJune Records, and various independent labels, and was a recipient of the 2021 NYC Artists Corps Grant.

PUZZLEBOX” Track List
1. Tabula Rasa 1
2. New Design
3. Plate (Improv)
4. Shelter
5. As Tympani Melt In The Greek Heat (Improv)
6. Fall From Grace
7. Belt & Braces
8. Triangles, Circles & Squares (Improv)
9. Oslo
10. Kicking The Wasp’s Nest
11. Lifeguard In The Rain
12. Tabula Rasa 2

Featuring:
Clint Bahr - basses & vocals (TriPod)
Peter Banks - guitar (Yes)
Colin Carter - vocals (Flash)
Marilyn Crispell - piano (Anthony Braxton)
David Cross- violins (King Crimson)
Stephanie Feyne - dialogue (The Dotes)
Billy Ficca - drums (Television)
Dick Griffin - trombone (Sun Ra)
Mike Hough - drums (Flash)
David Jackson - woodwinds (Van der Graaf Generator)
Dan Parkington - sitar & violin (Andromeda)
Jeff Schiller - woodwinds (The Roots)

To purchase:
BANDCAMP: https://clint-bahr-moonjune.bandcamp.com/album/puzzlebox?fbclid
AND also from Website: https://www.puzzlebox.band/

For more information:
https://www.puzzlebox.band/
https://www.facebook.com/ClintBahrPuzzlebox

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, February 11, 2022

Guitarist/Composer Alex Anthony Faide To Release Long Awaited Solo Album “Particles of the Infinite” Featuring King Crimson’s Pat Mastelotto On 7d Media March 18, 2022

AAF plays my guitar parts better than I do.”  - Robert Fripp

Originally from Buenos Aires, Argentina, Guitarist/Composer Alex Anthony Faide has a decades-long international reputation for being the secret weapon in rock recordings, arrangements, and stage productions in Europe and Latin America. Now based in Seattle, WA, Faide will release his long-awaited solo record – “Particles of the Infinite” – a display of guitar pyrotechnics in nine parts, in March 2022 on Trey Gunn’s label 7d Media. Inspired by and developed from concepts found in songs such as King Crimson’s “Fracture” and “Lark’s Tongues in Aspic,” Faide takes the work beyond the stratosphere into the mirror dimension to find something completely his own. In the words of his mentor Robert Fripp, “AAF plays my guitar parts better than I do.”  

Faide spent 2017-19 touring, songwriting, and arranging, with Mexican hard rock heroes Molotov on their MTV Unplugged Show “El Desconecte” and as a sideman for Molotov front man Tito Fuentes’ acclaimed solo record “El Ocaso.” He is currently working on a new project with legendary German producer/songwriter Uwe Fahrenkrog-Petersen, founder and main composer for the band Nena.  

Faide is the co-founder of cherished 3rd wave surf rock band, Los Twang! Marvels, in addition to Los Gauchos Alemanes/Electric Gauchos. He has also worked with artists including Markus Reuter, Namgar, Willie Campins, Crystal Beth, TROOT, Kathy Moore, Tiny Orchestral Moments, Los Primitivos, and Lutz Petersen, among countless others.

Says Alex, “It is difficult to determine the true origin of this work, though it stands undeniably as a tribute to my guitar instructor, life mentor, and friend, Robert Fripp. Ideas and compositions started taking shape in April 2016 in response to a challenge set forth by long-time collaborator and life brother Steve Ball (League of Crafty Guitarists, Electric Gauchos, Prometheus) to come up with my own version of King Crimson’s ‘Fracture’ and ‘Lark’s Tongues in Aspic.’ Mr. Fripp’s writing and guitar work in these monumental pieces strike me as expertly unique blends of influences in contemporary electric guitar repertoire, which inspired me to dive deeply into my own voice and personal practice to accept the challenge issued.

“What sparked my interest the most was the notion of a fierce, heavy rock attitude and sound, executed with pristine precision in a contemporary classical music tradition on an electrified instrument. I am mesmerized by the section of “Fracture” known as “Perpetuum Mobile” and with the guitarist’s capacity to execute intricate parts in an effortless fashion with a triangular plectrum. The challenge to evoke such intricacy seems to me both impossibly fragile and risky.

“Once the embryonic emergence of ‘Particles of the Infinite Parts I through III’ began to take shape, it became clear this was going to be a full-length record and require a full nine parts to complete the body of work I set out to explore. ‘Particles of the Infinite’ sums up 30 years of personal development and research on the guitar, derived and gleaned from direct guitar instruction as part of Guitar Craft, and the live practice of experiencing life as an international touring musician in myriad genres and settings. I traveled almost monthly between Argentina, Mexico, and the US from 2017-2019, developing this work between shows and collaborations, in hotel rooms and airbnb’s, with recordings intermittently in Seattle when the moment allowed.”

The 9 frameworks that make up “Particles of the Infinite” are presented in triptych (Pt. I-III / Pt. IV-VI / Pt. VII – IX) each containing particular techniques (alternate and cross-picking, stamina, release and flow for the left hand, exploration of diminished /symmetric scale relationships, rhythmic displacement & vector harmonization) - and interpretations of various themes, motifs and passages. There are many convergences imprinted in the music, playing style and overall tone.

Says Alex, “Obviously part of the material stands as a tribute to Fripp, however I am always pushing towards my own musical horizon and following the demands of the Muse. I hear it as ‘gold panning’ in musical form. One could arguably call this record “just a fancy collection of chops”…and I would happily agree with that. But I regard these techniques and interpretations as a cross-pollinating and ever-evolving body of work that points to a larger idea in the ever-expanding continuum of the electric guitar. Above all, these techniques are simply a means to an end, the end being the ability to let music speak freely and continually in real time.

“It’s interesting to experience the evolving arc throughout the whole record start to finish, personally it represents a sort of a surprising navigation chart helping me (and hopefully the listener as well) to find a center of gravity amidst the storm. May the Higher Powers grant Us the Patience to endure and the Strength to persevere. As they say: Ad Astra per Aspera.”

photo by Karen Moskowitz

Particles of the Infinite” Track list:
Pt. I (04:06)
Pt. II (04:31)
Pt. III (05:50)
Pt. IV (04:37)
Pt. V (11:05)
Pt. VI (03:18)
Pt. VII (03:38)
Pt. VIII (06:28)
Pt. IX (06:11)

All tracks composed and performed by Alex Anthony Faide on electric guitar and bass.

Guest drummers:
Matt Chamberlain (Pt. I & VI)
Pat Mastelotto (Pt. II)
Alessandro Inolti (Pt.III, IV, V, VII & VIII)

Recorded at SoundVision Studios (Seattle)
Mixed by Jonathan Plum / London Bridge Studios (Seattle)
Mastered by Brian Lucey / Magic Garden Mastering (LA)

Release Date March 18, 2022

To purchase: https://alexanthonyfaide.bandcamp.com/album/particles-of-the-infinite

For more information:
Official website: www.alexanthonyfaide.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/alex.a.faide
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/instrofreak/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/AlexAnthonyFaide

7DMedia: www.7dmedia.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, July 21, 2021

PFM/Aqua Fragile Vocal Legend Bernardo Lanzetti Releases Solo Album “Horizontal Rain”

Featuring Tony Levin, David Cross, David Jackson, Derek Sherinian, Tony Franklin, Jonathan Mover and others!

Conceived and recorded over a few years with outstanding musicians and special guests, Bernardo Lanzettiʼs new work is presented as a collection of musical episodes that sail from Progressive Rock to Vanguard, making port of call at Modern Opera, Art Rock, Rock & Soul and Classix 2 B.

Eight songs in English, two lyrics written by friend Peter Jack Marmot, wordsmith and coach manager between London and Marbella, plus an Italian text for the song “Ero un num Ero”, built on an elementary and random numerical progression as if to point out that the so-called “inspiration”, at times, can only be a fairy tale to deceive the unwary listener.

Without exaggerating or forcibly imposing his vocal range exceeding three octaves, the vocalist makes available the complete range of his voice, including the one processed by his Glovox device and those written for a choir that, in “Different”, move on articulated bars, always different in their division and imperceptibly delusional succession.

In the album, passion, detached nostalgia, fury and irony unfold track after track with a mix of sounds that are as unpredictable as they are effective: David Jackson’s baritone sax replacing the double bass in “Lanzhaiku” or Tony Levin’s unmistakable stick in “Heck Jack”. The pressing guitars of Marco Colombo in “Genial” where not even Andalusia is neglected or those of Andrea Cervetto, excitingly painful in the desperate appeal of “Walk Away”, which finds Tony Franklinʼs precise fretless bass and, in contrast, the hectic synth of Derek Sherinian and the poignant violin of David Cross. Alternating solid and frantic episodes, Jonathan Moverʼs drumming stands out on four strong selected tracks.

With more than 120 songs already published to his credit, Bernardo also celebrates his being an author/composer with this new album where almost everything, including the artwork, is due to his talent and attitude. Including the above mentioned special guests, in all 19 musicians and a choir of 7 from Italy, UK, USA and Spain, numerous sound engineers and the careful and patient work of the producer Dario Mazzoli, make this work precious and unique.

Watch the video forHeck Jack”: 

(*) Alesia Baltach, Cello on 7// Marco Brioschi, Trumpet on 2// Andrea Cervetto, Gtrs, Bass, Keys, Arranger for 2 and 4// Kim Chandler, Backing Vocals on 1 and 2// Marco Colombo, Gtrs on 5 and 8 // David Cross, Violin on 1// Tony Franklin,  Bass on 1// Pier Gonella, Gtrs on 6// Franco Grandoni, Choir conductor ** on 9 // David Jackson, all Saxophones and Flutes on 3//Bernardo Lanzetti: Lead and Backing Vocals, acoustic Gtr, Harmonica, pre production and programming // Tony Levin, Stick on 2// Dario Mazzoli, Bass on 5// Sara Wilma Milani: backing vocals on 3// Carlo Napolitano: Trombone on 2// Jonathan Mover, Drums on 1, 2, 5 and 8// Alex Polipo, Drums on 4// Giancarlo Porro, sax and horn section arrangements on 2// Derek Sherinian, Keys on 1// Pier Vigolini, Keys on 6. (**) Chorus on “Different”: Luisa Baiocco, Federica Bastianelli, Silvia Metelli, Michelle Rainone, Gabriele Santoni, Teo Tiburzi, Gabriele Serano.

Track List:
01-Walk Away
02-Heck Jack
03-Lanzhaiku
04-Time Is King
05-Genial!
06-Conventional
07-Ero un num Ero
08-Horizontal Rain
09-Different

All music and lyrics by B.Lanzetti except 02 and 05, lyrics by P.J.Marmot.

To purchase:
SPOTIFY: https://open.spotify.com/album/0CX7kn753qMkUt7oZDiYxI
iTunes Italy: https://music.apple.com/it/album/1565842423?app=itunes
iTunes USA: https://music.apple.com/com/album/1565842423?app=itunes
iTunes UK: https://music.apple.com/uk/album/1565842423?app=itunes
AMAZON CD & DIGITAL STREAMING & MP3: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B09437RKHK/ref=dm_ws_sp_ps_dp

For more information:
http://bernardolanzetti.blogspot.com/
https://www.facebook.com/BernardoLanzetti

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, July 20, 2021

YES Keyboard Legend Tony Kaye To Release Solo Album “End Of Innocence” - Out September 10, 2021!


20th July 2021: Keyboard legend Tony Kaye announces the release of his debut solo album “End Of Innocence,” on 10th September 2021 on Spirit Of Unicorn Music (distributed via Cherry Red Records) to mark the 20th anniversary of 9/11.   

Having retired from music in 1996, Kaye was moved, by the events of 11th September 2001, to commit his thoughts and feelings to a heartfelt personal musical interpretation.

“End Of Innocence” is a requiem for those who lost their lives and all those touched by the horrific events of 9/11. Primarily orchestral, “End Of Innocence” is a powerful and emotional suite that is both beautiful and sinister, reflecting the dark forces at work that day. It guides the listener through the day and touches on the response, to reach a hope that peace and calm may prevail.

As did many millions, Kaye watched the horrors of 9/11 unfold on his TV screen. “The next day I unpacked my keyboards for the first time in a long time,” Kaye recalls. “I didn’t know what I was going to do. It was one of those things that happened, inspiration on a musical level.”

The suite begins the night before 9/11 but, as Kaye’s wife Dani Torchia sings an innocent lullaby, menacing storms are gathering. The beautiful “9/11 Overture” was the first piece Kaye composed, the following day. “I had no recording equipment, just an 8-track cassette recorder and some of those recordings became what you hear now.”

Kaye continues to create vivid images of New York City life and a vibrancy around The World Trade Centre (285 Fulton Street) before the terror begins and captures the fears of those on the planes, “Flight 11” depicting the conversations stewardesses had with the tower. The track includes a powerful drum solo by Kaye’s friend Jay Schellen (CIRCA, YES) reflecting the struggles onboard.

Following the collapse of the towers, Dani Torchia sings her lament “Sweetest Dreams” and the album looks at the “Aftermath” and the “Heroes” before focusing on the response. “I wanted it, musically, to be about that day,” Kaye says, “but I felt compelled to extend it to deal with the repercussions of what happened. Musically, it was quite challenging to do the battle scene and then the 'Hope And Triumph,' a patriotic anthem and the consequences of war. 'Ground Zero' is the hope for the future, the rebuilding.”

The artwork for the album has been created by Roger Dean, known for his work with YES and ASIA, powerful imagery reflecting the journey the music takes.

End Of Innocence” Track Listing:
1. Twinkle Twinkle Little Star/Twilight Time
2. 911 Overture
3. NYC Blues
4. Battle Cry
5. 285 Fulton Street
6. Let’s Roll
7. Tug of War
8. Flight 11
9. Towers Fall
10. Sweetest Dreams
11. Aftermath
12. Heroes
13. The Battle
14. Hope and Triumph
15. Homecoming
16. Ground Zero

Produced by Tony Kaye

All tracks composed by Tony Kaye except “Sweetest Dreams” by Dani Torchia.

Tony Kaye, Spirit of Unicorn Music and Cherry Red Records are donating 10% of all profits from “End of Innocence” to https://www.garysinisefoundation.org/ The charity supports veterans, defenders and first responders in times of hardship.

About Tony Kaye
Tony Kaye is best known as the original keyboard player with prog legends YES, his Hammond organ giving their groundbreaking “The YES Album” it’s most distinctive sound within the YES catalogue. Following his departure from YES in 1971 Kaye was involved with a number of other bands including David Bowie, Badger, Flash and Badfinger before returning to YES for their greatest commercial success “90125” in 1983. Kaye remained with YES for several albums and tours before retiring from the music business in 1996.  

Following the re-awakening of his musical inspiration in 2001, Kaye accepted an invitation from current YES bassist Billy Sherwood to work on projects which led to the formation of CIRCA, in 2007, and has yielded four albums to date.

Tony Kaye – “End of Innocence”
Released on 10th September  through Spirit of Unicorn Music Formats: Standard CD Jewel case

Pre-order here: https://www.cherryred.co.uk/product/tony-kaye-end-of-innocence/
www.yesworld.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, May 10, 2021

Italian Composer, Multi-instrumentalist & Visual Artist Giancarlo Erra Returns With Spellbinding New Album “Departure Tapes”

First single & video for track “Departure Tape” premiered

UK based Italian composer, multi-instrumentalist and visual artist Giancarlo Erra will release his new album “Departure Tapes” on July 2, 2021 through Kscope.

“Departure Tapes” is an album consisting of 6 contemplative recordings, written while travelling between the UK and Italy. The majority of these 6 tracks were improvised in the studio by Erra, so for the most part, are totally unique and hold a sincerity which cannot be replicated. It is the follow up to 2019’s acclaimed album “Ends I-VII”, with the new recordings reflecting what has been an extremely difficult year for Giancarlo, with the loss of his father to cancer. Erra comments “In 2019 my first solo album was just being released, and I already had the view that I wanted to be more experimental with the second one, but no precise idea how at that point. Then my father suddenly got ill with cancer, and everything changed.”

Erra, having had a fractured and conflicted relationship with his father since his early teenage years found a way to turn this distressing time into a cathartic experience, “He left when I was 14 and since then he wasn't really part of my life. Then I received the news of his terminal illness and somehow, I found myself in a situation where I was taking care of this man, someone who I have been distanced from for so long.  During this period, I realized it had become a time for both of us to come to terms with many things. I wanted to get closure, but a positive one, for him and for me, and I think he was the same even though he maybe didn't know it; this was hard but at the same time 'healing' and in a painful twist, it was possibly the most close and positive few months I had with him since I was a small child.” He explains the influence this had on him creatively “It's the first album I have created without realizing I was actually writing it, as it is so intrinsically linked to one of the hardest and yet more healing parts of my life. The end result is the most experimental, and at times, the darkest material I have ever written, without compromise or set plan. It contains all the elements of my music in a very unconscious free flowing way.”

WATCH THE VIDEO FOR THE NEW SINGLE “DEPARTURE TAPE” HERE

The first single to be taken from the new album is the extremely poignant and personal “Departure Tape” with the video dedicated to Erra’s father, he explains “This track was written I think when I came back from my first visit to Italy to see my father after he had been diagnosed. It really just began as a live experiment - born and finished within one afternoon. I remember I didn't really want to do anything; I was exhausted and down, but then, when I started playing the track took shape. I discovered there was much more going on inside my head that needed to be faced. For me, music has always been the only way I can do that, and from this introspection ‘Departure Tape’ was born. It's almost like a free subconscious stream of thoughts and feelings while recording everything that was happening.”

Giancarlo Erra began his musical career in 2005 with one man studio project Nosound. 2008 saw him signing with Kscope and released a string of albums under the Nosound banner before recording his debut solo “Ends I-VII”. “Departure Tapes” sees Erra play and record every instrument himself along with taking on full production responsibilities at his own studio (https://widescreen.studio).
Max Richter, Olafur Arnalds, Nils Frahm and the more electronic / ambient recordings of Brian Eno may offer a reference point by which to enter Erra’s world, but the depth within his recordings is truly original.

Departure Tapes” track list:

1. Dawn Tape [06:15]
2. Previous Tape [01:48]
3. 169th Tape [02:51]
4. Unwound Tape [08:24]
5. Departure Tape [16:51]
6. A Blues For My Father [07:31]

Departure Tapes” will be released on the following formats and is available to pre-order HERE (https://GiancarloErra.lnk.to/DepartureTapes)
• A gatefold LP on oxblood coloured 180g vinyl
• 2-disc CD/DVD with the DVD-A/V including high resolution stereo & 5.1 mix:
DVD-V: stereo 24/48 LPCM lossless mixes, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround, DTS 96/24 5.1 Surround and DVD-A: 5.1 Surround 24/48 LPCM lossless mixes
• Digitally (with digital pre-orders receiving the single “Departure Tape” as an instant download from 22nd April)

Follow Giancarlo Erra:
https://facebook.com/giancarloerramusic
https://twitter.com/giancarloerra
https://www.instagram.com/giancarloerra/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC8aXOIiw7HiVfCdZ6r66bKA
https://soundcloud.com/giancarloerra

All artist photography by Caroline Traitler www.carolinetraitler.net
Album artwork by Giancarlo Erra

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Slightly Stoopid’s Drummer RYMO Releases New Solo Album “Kinetic” Out Now!

WITH FEATURED GUESTS TONY LEVIN, MARTY SCHWARTZ, PAUL WOLSTENCROFT, TOM GRIESGRABER, AND FARZAM SALAMI

Slightly Stoopid drummer Rymo (Ryan Moran) has released his new solo album “Kinetic” out now on all digital platforms here via Controlled Substance Sound Labs. Featured guests include progressive rock legend Tony Levin (Peter Gabriel, ABWH, Pink Floyd, King Crimson), YouTube guitar sensation Marty Schwartz, Tom Griesgraber, Paul Wolstencroft (Slightly Stoopid), and film composer Farzam Salami. The album “Kinetic” arrives on the heels of his two singles “Kinetic” and “Skooby Snax” previously released this Spring.

“‘Kinetic’ represents some of the many influences and musical genres that I enjoy. Most of the songs were written and refined in a studio setting over a period of time. I was fortunate to have a bunch of great guests join me and add their talent to this project.” - Rymo

Rymo’s bandmates from Slightly Stoopid, OG, Dela, Paulie and AG all contributed to the album, playing multiple parts on songs and solos. Farzam Salami contributed tasteful Middle Eastern percussion and stringed instruments on several tracks. Tom Griesgraber helped record, produce, perform and engineer the album. The entire album was recorded at his studio with the exception of a few guest artists that recorded remotely.

This album is a sonic journey. The music touches down in various sounding regions around the globe and takes the listener on a ride.” - Rymo

KINETIC TRACK LISTING
1. Symmetry 7 (feat. Farzam Salami)
2. Kinetic (feat. Paul Wolstencroft, Tom Griesgraber)
3. Palindrome
4. Spy Theme (feat. Tony Levin)
5. Bembé Rumba
6. Skooby Snax (feat. Marty Schwartz)
7. Mr. Roboto Visits The Outback
8. Nebula
9. Influx (feat. Marty Schwartz)
10. Megalodon
11. Cubism
12. Changó
13. Symmetry 5
14. Hearin’ Everywhere (feat. Paul Wolstencroft)
15. Didg-y-tar (feat. Farzam Salami)
16. Dream Flight

Kinetic” is available everywhere on all digital platforms here: (https://cssl.fanlink.to/rymo-kinetic)

For more information: https://rymodrums.com/.

photo by Sterling Munksgard

ABOUT RYMO:
Born in San Francisco and raised in San Rafael, Ryan was bitten by the music bug shortly after his 10th birthday. He had two older sisters that provided a wide range of listening opportunities. One sister was full on punk rock and the other, a Deadhead. Sprinkle in generous amounts of 80’s top 40 radio and you have Ryan’s musical recipe. As far as early influences go, Ryan chooses Led Zeppelin and their drummer, John Bonham and Rush’s Neil Peart as particularly influential.

Inspired by his High School music teacher, Mark Peabody, Ryan continued his pursuit of knowledge by earning a scholarship to the Berklee College of Music in 1993 for their 5 week Summer program. There he met musicians from all over the U.S. His continuing education led him to apply to several different colleges, but San Diego State University had all the right factors. Ryan attended SDSU beginning in late 1994 until 2000, when he earned his BA in Music. Since his graduation, he has continued his pursuit of the groove, which has led to involvement in several projects.

Ryan Moran has been a full-time member of the stylistically diverse band, Slightly Stoopid since 2003 and has recorded 7 albums with the band. They have toured internationally, and shared the stage with many legendary artists. Described by themselves as “a fusion of funk, rock, reggae and ska with hip-hop, metal and punk,” Slightly Stoopid gives Ryan a wide palette to paint his percussive contributions. “It’s been an incredible ride…We have done things I could only have dreamed of as a kid.” The band has all types of content on every major social media channel, and has achieved many landmark goals, such as headlining a sold-out show at Red Rocks Amphitheater in Colorado, 10 years in a row.

In the studio, Moran has contributed to over 40 albums playing drums primarily, but also vibraphone, piano, didgeridoo, and world percussion. He has worked with various producers in a wide range of styles and projects. This has led him to recording studios all across the U.S., from sessions in New York City to Circle House in Ft. Lauderdale, FL, to the legendary Sound City in Hollywood, CA.

In addition to his performing and recording credits Ryan is also an educator, being active in giving lessons as a private teacher both online and in person. His YouTube channel ‘rymostoopid’ has over 60 drum lessons posted and has over a million views. Ryan has also been involved in The Rios Music Project, a private music school in Carlsbad, CA. In the past, he has also taught at the A.R.T.S. music non-profit organization, also in San Diego. He has appeared several times at Notes for Notes music non-profit organization in Nashville, TN and Santa Barbara, CA.

In August of 2015 Moran was featured in DRUM! Magazine and was also included in the book, “Sticks ‘N’ Skins” by Jules Follett.

Some of Rymo’s personal influences include John Bonham, Danny Carey, Dennis Chambers, Vinnie Colaiuta, Tony Williams, Elvin Jones, Stewart Copeland, Peter Erskine, David Garibaldi, Neil Peart, Simon Phillips, Thomas Pridgen, Steve Smith, and many more.

Slightly Stoopid has performed live with many guest artists, ranging from Snoop Dogg and Chali 2na to Barrington Levy, Don Carlos and Stephen Marley, to Fishbone’s Angelo Moore and Dumpstaphunk’s Ian and Ivan Neville, to name just a few.

OFFICIAL WEBSITES:
Website: https://rymodrums.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Rymodrums
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RyMo76  
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/rymostoopid/
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/6NZVIVrjl7TLOQ2Ysshc36
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfrhEdAB9vBmkPOCEOqa71A

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, April 28, 2021

Legendary Violinist Darryl Way to Release “Destinations 2” on Spirit of Unicorn Music, May 28th 2021

“Destinations 2” is a follow up to his critically acclaimed album “Destinations”, which was voted number 3 in Goldmine Magazine’s top 100 albums of 2020. Prog Rock said of this album: “This is ‘Guitar Hero’ as arch-melody maker, putting his chops in service of each song’s mood. This is an artist searching for and finding a fresh way to express his unquestionable talent.”

Talking about his new album Darryl says:

Like ‘Destinations’, ‘Destinations 2’ sets out to take the listener on a journey to far off and exotic locations, something that in reality is very difficult for us to do at the moment. These tracks are journeys of the mind and are my interpretation of the atmosphere's and music of each different location, from Sun Baked Mexico to Bohemian Budapest.  

Set mostly in a ‘Rock’ format, the tracks are tempered by my new found love of playing the Guitar and my continuing love for playing the Violin. So the pieces themselves lean towards genres where the Guitar and Violin are features of that particular style. However, when the music needs to be more expansive, I have not been able to resist orchestrating it for full orchestra, giving the piece more cinematic depth.

As this music is essentially ‘Program Music’, I've also included in the sleeve notes of this album my descriptions of the pieces. As with works like Vivaldi’s ‘Four Seasons’ and Berlioz’s ‘Symphonie Fantastique’, it's sometimes helpful for the listener to know what the composer’s original intentions were.

Having said that, I’m just as happy for the listener to make up their own stories for the music.

Finally, I hope you enjoy this album as much as I did creating it.”

Darryl Way. 2021

To pre-order Darryl WaysDestinations 2”: https://geni.us/DWdestination2

Watch excerpts from Darryl Way's “Destinations 2”: 

Darryl Way’s official website: www.darrylway.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Thursday, April 22, 2021

Laura Meade of Prog Ensemble IZZ to Release New Solo Album 'The Most Dangerous Woman in America' on May 21, 2021

Laura Meade’s new studio album, The Most Dangerous Woman in America, due on May 21, 2021 on Doone Records, marks Meade’s follow up to her solo debut, 2018’s Remedium and 2019’s Don’t Panic with New York progressive rock septet IZZ.

The Most Dangerous Woman in America, co-written with IZZ bandmate John Galgano between March and December of 2020, explores the story of a woman whose voice was silenced and whose story was all but forgotten by her own country.

“As we wrote the music and lyrics for this album, John and I realized that the concept and story that inspired us was not just the story of one woman, but also the story of all of those who stay true to themselves regardless of the cost,” says Meade.

“There have been so many people throughout history – many of them women – who stand up for themselves, stand up for what they believe in, and experience great pain and suffering for doing so, their memories and voices lost along the way to gossip and rumor. I hope that this album, in some small way, honors and gives voice to the forgotten.”

From the pulsing forward-momentum of “Leaving” to the majesty of “Iconoclast” to the mystery and passion of “Forgive Me,” The Most Dangerous Woman in America explores the sincerity, emotion, and authenticity that so often lie beyond the gossip and sensationalism of fame and celebrity.

“This album was written to honor the forgotten: those whose stories remain untold, whose lives have been neutralized by those with unchecked power,” says Meade.

Meade’s new album features the songs “Burned at the Stake” and the title track, both available on April 23, 2021 for purchase by pre-ordering the full album at izzmusic.bandcamp.com and for streaming on Spotify.

Meade is joined on the album by IZZ members Tom Galgano (Keyboards, Production), Brian Coralian (V-Drums), John Galgano (Bass).

Laura Meade’s The Most Dangerous Woman in America is available for pre-order now on the IZZ Bandcamp page: izzmusic.bandcamp.com (download) and will be available for streaming on all platforms on May 21, 2021. CD and Vinyl versions of the album are also available for pre-order now.

Watch the video for “Burned at the Stake” here: 

Track Listing:
1.   On the Shores of the Seine
2.   Leaving
3.   Burned at the Stake
4.   Iconoclast
5.   End of the Road in Hollywood
6.   Doesn’t Change a Thing
7.   The Most Dangerous Woman in America
8.   The Shape of Shock
9.   Forgive Me
10. Tell Me, Love

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

For all other inquiries, contact Doone Records at: info@doonerecords.com
izzmusic.bandcamp.com
www.laurameademusic.com
www.facebook.com/laurameademusic
Twitter and Instagram: @laurameademusic

Monday, March 22, 2021

Alberto Rigoni’s “For The Love Of Bass” Features All-Star Bass Player Line-up

Out on April 2nd - preorder available!

Featuring Nathan East, Leland Sklar, Michael Manring, Tony Franklin, Doug Wimbish, Adam Nitti, Lars Lehmann, Cody Wright, Mohini Dey, David Pastorius

Alberto Rigoni's “For The Love of Bass,” simply put, it’s bass heaven.

After the success of his latest prog rock album “Odd Times,” Italian bassist & composer Alberto Rigoni (BAD As, Natural Born Machine, The Italians, Vivaldi Metal Project), now releases his 10th solo album. As the title suggests, the instrumentation is exclusively electric bass, spanning ambient, fusion, jazz and new age styles.

“It has been really challenging but the special guests contributed some gorgeous playing and we are all proud of the result,” says Alberto. “For The Love of Bass” is an all-star bassists album featuring some of the best players anywhere: Nathan East, Leland Sklar, Michael Manring, Tony Franklin, Doug Wimbish, Adam Nitti, Lars Lehmann, Cody Wright, Mohini Dey, David Pastorius,

Are you ready to face a new bass experience?!

Watch Alberto Rigoni's new video for “Masked Souls” feat. Nathan East & Michael Manring: 



To purchase Alberto Rigoni's “For The Love of Bass” (Digipack CD & Digital): http://albertorigoni.bandcamp.com

Other distributors: Disk Union (Japan), MVD (USA), Burning Shed (UK), Plastic Head (UK), Digital Platforms (Apple Music, Spotify etc.)

Tracklist:
1. Drops of Memories (feat. Tony Franklin)
2. In the Loop (feat. David Pastorius)
3. Dreamers (feat. Michael Manring)
4. Alone in the Dark (feat. Doug Wimbish)
5. Paranoia (feat. Cody Wright)
6. The Maze (feat. Mohini Dey)
7. Masked Souls (feat. Nathan East & Michael Manring)
8. Social Distortion (feat. Adam Nitti)
9. Mad World bass cover (feat. Leland Sklar)
10. Killers (feat. Lars Lehmann)
11. Misirlou bass cover (feat. Lars Lehmann)
12. Lost (feat. Adam Nitti)

Biography

Born in 1981, Alberto Rigoni is an Italian bass player and composer, internationally known for his career as a solo artist and as a member of the metal band BAD As, The Italians, Natural Born Machines  Lady & THE BASS,  co-producer of the Vivaldi Metal Project and member of progressive rock band TwinSpirits (no more active).

Between 2008 and 2020 Alberto has released worldwide 9 solo album (Something Different, Rebirth, Three Wise Monkeys, Overloaded, BASSORAMA, Duality, EvoRevolution, Prog Injection, Odd Times), spanning from progressive rock metal to fusion. His albums also featured legendary musicians such as Kevin Moore (ex Dream Theater), Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree, King Crimson), Marco Minnemann (the Aristocrats), Göran Edman (ex Yngwie Malmsteen), Michael Manring and many others.

Alberto has been featured on the cover of magazines such as Bass Magazine (Japan), Bass Musician Magazine (USA), Bajos Y Bajistas (Spain), Basistas (Poland), TOP BASS (Poland). Moreover, in March 2015 the prestigious Bass Guitar Magazine (UK) released Alberto’s CD anthology called “Into THE BASS.”

Alberto has also recorded for several international artists such as Italian pop singer Alexia and he is also playing bass for Canadian rock singer and songwriter Kim Bingham (ex-Nelly Furtado) and The Italians, sharing stages with artists such as Alan Parson, Suzanne Vega, Jørn Lande, Paul Gilbert, Vinnie Moore and others.

In 2016 founded a new metal band called BADASS (now called BAD As) which released three albums (More Pain More Gain, Midnight Curse and Crucified Society.

On December 15th 2017, Rigoni together with bassist Jeff Hughell (Six Feet Under) released a new studio project called Bassists Alliance. The first album “Crush” featured top notch bassists such as Michael Manring, Adam Nitti, Steve di Giorgio, Colin Edwin, Mark Mitchell, Scott Reeder, Dmitry Lisenko, Brandino BassMaster, Ryan Martini, Leonid Maksimov, Tony Grey.

In 2019 founded a new AOR band called “Natural Born Machine” featuring famous Pink Cream 69 singer David Readman. Their debut album “Human” was released on February 19th 2021 by Pride and Joy Music.

Currently he is also collaborating with famous producer Hiro Furuya (Elton John, Eric Clapton, etc.) as session bassist.

His tenth album “For The Love of Bass” feat. all star bassists such as Nathan East, Lee Sklar, Michael Manring, Doug Wimbish and many others will be released on April 2nd 2021.


For more information:
http://www.albertorigoni.net
http://www.facebook.com/albertorigonimusic
http://albertorigoni.bandcamp.com
http://www.youtube.com/albertorigoni
http://www.twitter.com/albertorigoni
http://www.vivaldimetalproject.com
http://www.badas.rocks
http://www.theitaliansband.com
http://bassistsallianceproject.bandcamp.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, February 23, 2021

Estonian Guitarist Robert Jürjendal Releases Fourth Solo Album “Water Finds a Way” on NEWdOG Records

One can take the album WATER FINDS THE WAY as a coded story. Instrumental music has the power of imagination. It doesn't say directly, the hidden meaning behind the title may be something else. I call this ‘coded.’ It carries a secret which I can't open up to the end. I’m sure that a sensitive listener will find his/her own way into this complex world of music and art.” – Robert Jürjendal, Aaviku Farmstead Studio, Estonia

“Water Finds A Way” continues the colorful guitar/effects-based conception that Jürjendal began with his previous three solo efforts. With rich harmonies and melody lines, his musical language takes influence from the particular guitars and effects he uses. A graduate of Robert Fripp’s Crafty Guitar School, Jürjendal became a member of Toyah Wilcox’s band as well.

On the new album, Robert plays his new custom-built electric guitar - a fully equipped system containing a Sustainer pickup which gives a life for the long-sustained notes. Using a guitar synth (though it's hard to recognize) mixed with natural guitar sounds creating a unique hybrid.  

Robert’s previous release, “Simple Past” (Strangiato Records, 2016) was more rock-oriented, featuring one of the best Estonian drummers, Andrus Lillepea. “On Water Finds A Way” Robert doesn't use drums, except some percussion played /programmed by himself. WFAW is also a “family-affair,” as Robert’s wife, Signe, joins him for background vocals and there are beautiful themes and improvisations played on cello by Robert's son Anti Jürjendal.

For the first time on one of his solo albums, Jürjendal requested a track from an outside composer, Venezuelan synthesist Miguel Noya. Noya contributes Grey and Blue. The two had previously collaborated on the 2019 NEWdOG album, “The Power of Distance,” as well as (with Paul Godwin) “Samliku” (NEWdOG 2018). They are also members of the new international ensemble project from Eternal Return “Once Only,” due out February 23, 2021 on NEWdOG.

Photo by Kaupo Kikkas

ABOUT ROBERT JÜRJENDAL
Robert Jürjendal is an Estonian guitarist and composer, studied classical guitar and composition (Anti Marguste) at Tallinn Georg Ots Music School. During 1992-1997 he participated in Robert Fripp Guitar Craft Courses. Robert has composed for classical and contemporary guitar, cembalo, mixed ensembles, choirs; documentaries, art exhibitions and theater, across genres from folk to post-rock to ambient-jazz. With more than 50 albums, his recordings and performances include: Tõnis Mägi, Riho Sibul, Celia Roose, Kaido Kirikmäe, Weekend Guitar Trio, Fragile, UMA, Markus Reuter, Tim Bowness, Jan Bang, Colin Edwin, Arve Henriksen, Jon Durant, Paul Godwin & Miguel Noya, Five Seasons, Vox Clamantis, Estonian Philharmonic Choir, Ellerhein Girls Choir etc.

Press inquiries:
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com

About NEWdOG Records
NEWdOG Records releases fresh musical works by career ambient, progressive, post-rock, dream-pop and experimental artists from Europe, North and South America. Founded as a home for progressive ambient in the mid-'90s in San Francisco, the label found critical acclaim and a distribution home with Dave Allen's World Domination Records (WEA). Now available through Burning Shed worldwide.

For more information:
www.newdogrecords.com
Facebook @newdogrecords
https://www.facebook.com/Newdogrecords/
Instagram @newdogrecords
https://www.instagram.com/newdogrecords/
Bandcamp for Robert Jürjendal
https://robertjyrjendal1.bandcamp.com/
Soundcloud @newdogrecords
https://soundcloud.com/newdogrecords
Spotify @newdogrecords
https://open.spotify.com/user/newdogrecords

Monday, November 30, 2020

Lucifer’s Friend Guitarist Peter Hesslein Releases New Solo Album of Guitar Instrumentals Called 'Night Drive' – Out Now!

In the 50th Anniversary year of Lucifer’s Friend, the band’s guitarist Peter Hesslein has completed this new studio album of rock instrumentals called Night Drive.

Lucifer’s Friend reformed in 2015 and since then has recorded new studio albums and played concerts and high-profile festivals.

This new studio album is Peter Hesslein’s first solo album and will be popular with fans and guitarists alike.  The album has been released on Lucifer’s Records via Cherry Red.

Speaking about the album, Peter Hesslein said: “I dedicate this album to all artists who work at night, as their normal working hours, but then have to drive home.”

Track list:
1. TURN THE RADIO ON
2. SLOW DOWN A BIT
3. FEELING HUNGRY
4. LOOKING AT THE MOON
5. LONG WAY TO GO
6. BLINDED BY THE LIGHTS
7. WINDING ROAD
8. CLOSE TO MIDNIGHT
9. GETTING TIRED
10. TIME FOR COFFEE
11. A BEAUTIFUL NIGHT
12. EXIT THE HIGHWAY
13. CROSSING THE BRIDGE
14. HOME AGAIN
15. FALLING ASLEEP

To purchase:
Amazon CD: https://geni.us/NightDriveCD
iTunes: https://geni.us/NightDriveiTunes
Spotify: https://geni.us/NightDriveSpotify
HDtracks: https://geni.us/NightDriveHD  

Peter Hesslein’s official Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Lucifersfriendph/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, August 17, 2020

Instrumentalist Elliot Nelson’s Debut Album “As He Now Appears” Pushes Music to the Brink of Sonic Creativity!


A blend of musical genres from electronic, jazz, ambient classical to experimental rock

Elliot Nelson is a British born instrumental solo artist, composer and producer from the north of England. Son of Be-Bop Deluxe frontman ‘Bill Nelson’, Elliot has grown up his entire life surrounded by music and creativity. His sound blends and bends musical genres from electronic, jazz, experimental rock, folk and classical. Pushing his music to the brink of sonic creativity in his debut album “As He Now Appears”. A journey taking you through warping ethereal melodies into the depths of dark and atmospheric soundscapes.

Says Elliot, “‘As He Now Appears’ is centered around the experiences we have in life which evolve and change us into who we are now. I used to observe how people around me changed in particular situations, around different people or different environments. I think it shows how susceptible we are as humans to everything, it’s like a cycle of change but somehow we always return to the same point, with more life under our belt.”

Elliot has played guitar and drums in numerous British underground bands in the past, namely ‘Honeytone Cody’, where he also collaborated in a joint writing venture with his sister Elle Nelson. The band quickly became one of the most popular underground bands in Britain, receiving airplay from John Peel, a remixed track by BBC Radio One DJ Kissy Sellout and a photoshoot with Mick Rock for a ‘Tommy Hilfger’ clothing range. Honeytone Cody disbanded in mid 2015 after 16 years.

From 2017-18, Elliot went on to form an avant garde musical project under the guise of ‘The Wolf and The Ape’, again another musical endeavour which received high praise from critics and musicians alike.

The Wolf and The Ape solely produced music for old silent films which included a 1920’s art film by Dziga Vertov, “A Man with a Movie Camera” and also Lottie Reininger’s short animation, “Cinderella”.

Now Elliot is releasing his first instrumental solo album, “As He Now Appears”, which encompasses an eclectic mix of music, using jazz, classical, folk, electronica to alternative rock. From track to track, it shows no bias to one particular genre. Stretching and pulling the music to sculpture an emotional narrative about the transition of time, change and life.

Says Elliot, “The album was incidental, instead of using something such as a journal or diary, I would use my music to express a certain point of time or event that would be happening in my life, I guess I used a similar motif to Sergei Prokofiev’s ‘Peter and The Wolf’, I would use a particular instrument to represent a person or creature within the narrative of what I was feeling, or an event I was experiencing. It was recorded over a course of 2-3 years, mainly using a laptop equipped with Ableton Live using various acoustic and electric instruments. The drums were recorded in old industrial mills in West Yorkshire, I’d either use a guide guitar or play against a drone or a sample of some sort. It would be all instinctive to how I felt, once the tracks took upon a certain emotional shape, everything else fell into place.”



Tracks:

1. As He Now Appears
2. Crusade of The Marionettes
3. Land of The Forgotten
4. Cats and Otherwise
5. Pierrot
6. Internally Set to Zero
7. The Ethereal Ballon
8. God's Pythons
9. From The Blonde to The Beast
10. The Black Dot
11. Beach Waltz

All music written, performed and produced by Elliot Nelson
Mastered by John Spence
Illustration and design by Elle Nelson

To purchase:
Bandcamp link: https://elliot8.bandcamp.com/releases
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/user-885623981

Social Media
Instagram: as_he_now_appears
Facebook: @elliot.as.he.now.appears
Twitter: @ElliotNelson19

Youtube channel
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeia8HSu3u6xo4BmkJ8dYFg?view_as=subscriber

Youtube Videos 
The Wolf and The Ape, 'Cinderella':


The Wolf and The Ape, 'A Man with a Movie Camera':


Honeytone Cody, 'White Queen':


Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

Drummer Dave Schoepke To Release Second Solo Drum Album "Tessellated Resonance" Aug 5, 2020


“Dave is a wonderful musician, extremely diligent and caring. He is musical, sympathetic to others around him and he listens!!!” -Martin Barre

Drummer Dave Schoepke, best known for his work with Jethro Tull legend Martin Barre, as well as The Willy Porter Band, will be releasing his second solo drum album “Tessellated Resonance” on August 5, 2020. The album comes on the heels of his critically acclaimed debut album from last year “Drums On Low.”

Dave Schoepke discusses “Tessellated Resonance”:

The prep for this album was driven by the quest to find my rhythmic connection to the environment, devoid of the trappings of my modern-day musical influences.

The story behind this album is not how I was able to connect those dots but rather how at this time the answer I was searching for ultimately eluded me. Instead, I found a greater sense of how I want my music to evolve, but right now that content isn’t informed by what I hoped it would be. I discovered new ways to approach my instrument and have a better concept of how to shape my music going forward than when I started this process. So, what didn’t I find?

I logged over thirty hours of field recordings of nature, traffic and other sounds from the environment in an attempt to capture content both natural and manmade, but not directly musical per se. In that regard, are there connections we are missing when we create music today? Are the modes of approach so inhibiting that we miss things that are more innate or are these just my perceptions and am I overthinking it?

Through this adventure I searched for sounds that spoke to me rhythmically and what I hoped would inspire new directions and concepts of approach. I was inspired by much of what I had recorded, and it brought forth higher degrees of introspection I had not tapped into the way that I envisioned I would.

The next element of sounds I was striving for came from recording my six-month-old son’s first syllabic attempts and rhythmic strikes with his hands and feet. I was curious to see if he would land upon any rhythmic patterns or cycles that might be settled in his DNA. While I wasn’t able to mine that content directly for this album, I still feel there is a way to get there and that the limitations are on my end…can I find a way to make a connection that can be reflected in a logical, musical way? That question still remains.

My attempts to record rhythmic connections to the environment became much more challenging than expected. I noticed that whenever I tried to get a recording of nature unimpeded without human intrusions, I was unsuccessful every time. I found it very difficult to get away from humans or human-made sounds, even with recording in a rural area. Unfortunately, I had finished recording the album when the Covid 19 Pandemic started, but I was able to stand outside and listen to nature with no humans or traffic sounds interfering. However, it was early March and still very cold in the upper Midwest, which in turn kept nature pretty quiet so I still couldn’t get any decent field recordings! The realization that it took a pandemic to bring down the din of humanity was pretty alarming to me. Even with my failed attempts, I still feel that through my research and exploration, I was inspired in other ways; I found some new ideas rhythmically, melodically, and thematically. All of which are a progression from where I was with “Drums On Low.”

I recorded over forty pieces of music on a diverse array of percussive setups ranging from a full range of just Roto Toms, to an expanded 1970’s Ludwig Vistalite kit, and traditional wood four and five-piece configurations. I also created some extreme kit setups made entirely of frame drums and micro percussion. However, the most unique variation was a bass drum with six snare drum ensemble. For this album, I spent a considerable amount of time shaping the melodic structure of the pieces and also searching for different combinations. Different tuning combinations set the pieces apart from one another while maintaining some unity.

All of the songs were recorded live with a modest recording setup with minimal mic’ing. For the recording, only seven channels were used, and no overdubbing or editing is done on the album. Songs like ‘Earth Calls,’ ‘Shorn,’ and ‘Voices Welcome’ show the diversity and drama that Roto Toms can project when interesting intervals are discovered. The six-snare drum array on the song ‘Currents,’ deploys a preponderance of snare content but maintaining a strong melodically driven concept. Other pieces like ‘Loomfixer’ and ‘Beyond The Slanting Surfaces,’ utilize traditional drum set pieces but focus on a centered melodic theme. ‘Nemophilist’ deploys a subtle melody subservient to the gorgeous interplay of birds from deep in the woods and devoid of human intrusion. (Finally!)

In the end, the release of ‘Tessellated Resonance’ marks the continuation of the ongoing dream to create solo drum music. I feel like through continued introspection, research and study, I will be able to follow the path that I am firmly set upon to connect to the world around me.

Dave Schoepke



Bio

Dave Schoepke is an accomplished drummer from the Greater Milwaukee area. He has been the drummer for The Willy Porter Band since 2002 with three acclaimed albums with Willy. In addition to recording and touring he has numerous television and radio appearances.

Dave has had the pleasure of working with the Legendary Jethro Tull guitarist Martin Barre. Dave toured with Martin’s band in 2017 and briefly in 2018. He appears on his “Live At The Factory Underground” album released in 2019.

His project, “Drums On Low,” has received acclaimed reviews from Modern Drummer, Recording Magazine, and numerous global on-line music critics. The 400th issue of Recording Magazine includes a multi-page feature of Dave’s process of writing and recording “Drums On Low.”

Dave is currently a full-time member and songwriter of the Milwaukee based Soul-Blues group Tweed. The band’s original take on the genre has made a strong impact internationally with numerous tours in Europe and consistent tour dates in the U.S. with strong radio airplay in the US and Europe.

Dave also heads up the improvisational recording project, Blank Radio, and is the chief engineer and curator of hundreds of sessions with musicians that help emphasize the energy to create free flowing music in real time. Additionally, he is an extremely busy session musician with over 50 albums to his credit. These albums cut across all genres of music. He has also done dozens of instructional CD’s for the Hal Leonard Corporation.

Dave has done dozens of clinics and educational based symposiums with legendary artists Ed Thigpen, Paul Wertico, Dom Famularo, Greg Bissonette, Ernie Adams, and Carmine Appice. He maintains a busy schedule of teaching, touring, clinics, and sessions, and is always striving to evolve in every facet of his music making.

Here’s what the press has said about Dave Schoepke’s debut album “Drums On Low”:

“This percussive music possesses and honesty and immediacy that emphasize the full resonant tones of the drums. Each piece explores its own set of ideas and themes, developing and building a sound world while providing both continuity and diversity.” - Martin Patmos, Modern Drummer March 2020

“‘Drums On Low’ is a drums-only affair that runs a spectrum from hypnotic tribalism to musique concrete and the avant-garde, with nods to modern jazz, rock, and orchestral moments in between. Many of the tracks have a distinct melodic voice highlighting the harmonic richness and depth of each drum” - Paul Vnuk, Recording Magazine Jan 2020

“Often as mysterious as a contemporary classical record that looks to push the boundaries, there have been some solo bass and solo sax records that intrigue and infuriate, sometimes both at the same time but this just drums along with an amazing amount of variety coming from a solo drum set. For the real purist.” - The Midwest Record July 2019

“Dave Schoepke continues to bring in international praise for his recent solo release ‘Drums On Low.’ I recommend this album for initiates to drum / percussion sounds or anyone looking to discover this through a particular and calm album. It is quite pleasant and relaxing to listen to.” -Music In Belgium May 2020

What’s next…

In support of “Tessellated Resonance,” Dave will be performing ongoing Facebook Live and YouTube shows showcasing the new and old music and when the pandemic eases up US Midwest and East Coast tours are planned as well as Europe. In November Dave will be releasing downloadable bonus tracks and bundles with the album through the German label Djummi Records http://www.djummi-records.de/

To purchase: www.daveschoepke.com



For more information:
www.daveschoepke.com
https://www.facebook.com/daveschoepkemusic/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvVkqTMVgF6NG2mzxtGNanw
https://www.instagram.com/drumsonlow/
https://twitter.com/daveschoepke?lang=en

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, June 5, 2020

Nick D'Virgilio Releases New Video & Single "Money (That’s What I Want)" From Forthcoming Album "Invisible"


Album special guests include Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater) / Paul Gilbert (Mr Big, Racer X) / Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel) / Carl Verheyen (Supertramp) / Rick Nielsen (Cheap Trick) / Jonas Reingold (The Flower Kings / Steve Hackett) / Jem Godfrey (Frost*) and more 

A distinctive cover version of “Money (That’s What I Want)” has been made available as the second single from Invisible, the forthcoming new solo album by the American drummer, vocalist and multi-instrumentalist Nick D'Virgilio (NDV). The first ever hit on the Tamla Motown label in 1959 has seen notable covers in the past by the likes of The Beatles and The Flying Lizards, with NDV stating: “I've always liked this song, with the original version by Barrett Strong being my favorite. I wanted my take on it to be dark and brooding with a cinematic sound, so I came up with a way to build an end with chords that kept climbing until a nice climax, while parts for orchestra were arranged that built a great sound on top. One of my favorite parts of the song is when I'm whispering a bunch of slang terms for money. I sang the whole song like a person that is going a little crazy and that section was a perfect fit.”

In regard to how the song fits into the narrative flow of Invisible, he explains: “Lyrically, the words fit perfectly. The song comes at the point in the story where the protagonist has decided to leave his dead end job and venture out into the world to try and discover the meaning of his life. He wanders into a shop and sees the person behind the counter looking dishevelled and depressed, prompting him to ask 'is everything OK? Why are you here? If it's that bad, why don’t you go home?' Those questions prompt the response that they need money. They are stuck in life’s trap just like him, and he swiftly realizes that he is not alone in feeling alone.”



Invisible is the second solo album by the California born but Indiana based NDV and comes almost two decades after his debut solo offering. He describes his new record as “a collection of songs that make up the story of a man who is unhappy with where his life has ended up. He finally decides to take the scary step of leaving everything behind so he can go and find the meaning of his life.” He continues: “Throughout my career I have been in many different places. Over time the word 'invisible' kept coming to mind and it got me thinking of people that truly have the hardest jobs in the world, or no job at all. The outliers. The ones we all take for granted. The ones we will never know but if they were not there then our lives would not be the nearly the same. Over time I amassed lyric and song ideas with the idea of writing a concept record on the subject.”

Keen to establish that “this is not your typical drummer record,” NDV states that “'Invisible’ is a rock album with various musical flavors thrown in because the songs were formed with the story in mind. A classical prelude that uses various themes from the whole piece sets the stage. From there comes a mellow ballad outlining the story and then it is on to the adventures of the central character. The main thing making this record did for me was to reaffirm my strong belief that we are all here for something. We all have a purpose.”

With the recording process split between the legendary Abbey Road Studios in London (including full string and brass sections) and the world class Sweetwater Studios in Fort Wayne, Indiana, Invisible boasts star turns from luminaries such as guitarists Paul Gilbert (Mr. Big, Racer X), Rick Nielsen (Cheap Trick) and Carl Verheyen (Supertramp), bassists Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel) and Jonas Reingold (The Flower Kings, Steve Hackett), plus keyboard players Jordan Rudess (Dream Theater) and Jem Godfrey (Frost*).

NDV's debut solo album, Karma (2001), had appeared midway through his tenure with US progressive rock titans Spock's Beard, with whom he started out as drummer upon their inception in the early 1990's before taking on additional lead singer and live frontman duties in 2002 for four studio albums prior to his departure in 2011. At the time, this was partly in order to continue touring as drummer, singer and assistant bandleader with Cirque du Soleil, with whom he played over 1400 shows over a five year period until 2014. He has also been the drummer with the award winning UK band Big Big Train since 2007 and performed with world renowned acts such as Genesis (appearing on the Calling All Stations album) and Tears For Fears (with whom he toured for over a decade).

Upon ending his stint with Cirque du Soleil, NDV relocated to Fort Wayne to become the face of the drum division of world leading music technology and instrument retailer Sweetwater Sound, explaining that “it has exploded and I have had the opportunity to meet a lot of interesting people while building new lifelong relationships. I've also had the chance to play on so much great drum gear – it is Disneyland in that regard! Many of my old bands and music compatriots have been there to record or do workshops, which is icing on the cake.”

The release of Invisible now begins yet another fascinating chapter in NDV's multi-faceted career, which he concludes “has taken many twists and turns. I have been able to live out some major musical fantasies, seeing some of the highest highs as well as some of the lowest lows. It has been a wild ride that is not over yet!”

A full biography of Nick D’Virgilio can be downloaded here: bit.ly/3cJvX9N

NICK D’VIRGILIO (NDV) : photography by Erick Anderson (eafoto)

Nick D'Virgilio's Invisible will be released on June 26, 2020.



To purchase: 
www.nickdvirgilio.com/shop/
burningshed.com/store/english-electric-recordings/nick-dvirgilio_invisible_cd

For more information: nickdvirgilio.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com