Showing posts with label Jethro Tull. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Jethro Tull. Show all posts

Wednesday, June 21, 2023

Concert Review: Martin Barre At The Worthington Country Club

   Martin Barre 2 Concert-A Brief History of Jethro Tull

The Worthington 5 Country Club, Massachusetts

June 18, 2023

https://martinbarre.com/martin-barre-tour/

Nestled in the country along Route 143 off Worthington Road in Massachusetts is the beautiful Golf Links, owned by David and Helen Pollard. It was my distinct pleasure to attend the concert being held there with Martin Barre. For a few reasons: I knew the Pollards very well and had worked for them for five years in the early 2000s. And I had not seen them in 14 years! Secondly, I am very familiar with Martin’s guitar playing with Jethro Tull, covering several of the reissues of their group’s studio recordings over the years, seeing them play live with the band, and providing coverage before he departed on his solo career. With that in mind and being able to see some old friends, I had been anticipating this event for months.

 

We had a beautiful clear blue sky with the sun shining to usher in this rock legend; however, as the night rolled on, it got a bit nippy, and Martin was warming his fingers to keep them agile.

Martin Barre is one of the finest guitar players in the world and has been for many decades. Now in his 70s, he has not lost a step in showcasing his six-string virtuosity. I was to realize this fully last night as he made his way through two lengthy sets. His band consists of Dan Crisp (lead vocals/keyboards), Alan Thomson (bass), and Darby Todd on Drums. The lead singer bares a remarkable resemblance to a younger Phil Collins. That is what I recognized in short order. And besides that, after belting out the first number with authority, he did a complete turnaround. He sang like a young Ian Anderson, including all the facial expressions and mannerisms of the Jethro Tull mastermind and leader, writer, singer, and musician.

 

Another surprise may have been Martin being an accomplished flute player. I had known this, but many in attendance were surprised. The crowd expressed their delight as Martin handled his second instrument quite well. Quite honestly, and even though I still enjoy Jethro Tull to this day, Ian has lost his voice due to age and wear and tear, and nobody ever could replace Martin on guitar. It has not been the same since he left the band.

 

This night I relived the good old days with Martin wailing away and rocking the crowd and Dan Crisp doing a splendid job with each song from the Tull catalog. There are so many outstanding Tull albums and much ground to cover. Martin and his band are tight and did a marvelous job recreating all the music. Even Ian Anderson would be impressed.

 

The first Tull album I got was Warchild back in the day when there were record and CD clubs that no longer exists. It still stands as my favorite album. Now there are many different choices if you are a vinyl enthusiast to choose from. Hearing them play “Warchild,” “Back Door Angels,” and “Sea Lion” was a treat for the ears and senses. And of course, there are many of the favorites that the audience recognized immediately, such as “Bouree,” “My God,” “Thick As A Brick,” and many more, including the all-out rocking encore numbers “Locomotive Breath” and “Teacher.” Martin and the band ended the show on fire, cranking out those two prog rock classics. Fitting, it ended with plenty of fireworks from Martin’s guitar.

 

It was another night for me to remember, and an honor to be able to see the show and report on it. Thank you, David and Helen, for the night that will forever be in my consciousness and for giving this old rocker a smile from the inside out.

 

If you like the beauty of nature and outdoor music, visiting the Worthington Golf Club this summer is a must. Look at what is on tap for the rest of the season and get your tickets here: https://worthingtongolfclub.com/music-concerts-and-events.

 

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck

June 19, 2023

First Set:

Look Into The Sun

Someday The Sun

Cat’s Squirrel

We Used To Know

Serenade To A Cuckoo

Bouree

Sossity

Bass Solo

Back To The Family

Nothing To Say

My God

(chat) Thick As A Brick

Passion Play

Whistler

Black Satin Dancer

Back Door Angels

(chat) Warchild

Sea Lion

 

Set Two:

Acres Wild

Jack Frost

(chat) Under Wraps Acoustic

Under Wraps Electric

Protect And Survive

Watching Me

Fallen On Hard Times

Too Old To Rock & Roll

Slow Marching Band

(chat)
Locomotive Breath

Teacher.

Friday, March 3, 2023

Progressive Rock Review: Jethro Tull-Rok Flote

Release Date: April 21, 2023

Label: Inside Out

Website

Pre-Order Now

Ian Anderson found great interest in exploring his ancestral roots, which turned into the forthcoming Jethro Tull release Rok Flote (Rock Flute), their 23rd album. 

Ian Anderson (Flute, Guitar, Bouzouki, Mandolin, Harmonica, Vocals), Joe Parrish (Guitar), Scott Hammond (Drums and percussion), John O’Hara (Orchestral conductor, piano, keyboards, and accordion), David Goodeier (Bass guitar and double bass) have created a stellar exhibition of prog rock.

 

What starts as an interest turns into a commitment to excellence and the musical journey of yesteryear for Ian and the band. 

 

Ian stated: I am not here to promote the old Norse religion or, indeed, any religion. My own preference is for the ultimate esotericism of Panentheism (the belief or doctrine that God is greater than the universe and includes and interpenetrates it). I see no need for imaginary man-made visual representations of God. No need for symbols, idols, icons, relics and the ritual of prayer to an interventionist god. Problem is, it might make for rather a dull rock music album....

 

Whether you are in sync with the creator of this music or have no opinion, the music and lyrics paint an accurate picture of the subject matter. You even get a taste of some of the Scandinavian dialects. As expected of any Jethro Tull album, the lion’s share of this release moves along and rocks progressively. Superlative flute and guitar lead the way, as the bottom end is a rock-solid foundation for them to remain consistent from start to finish.

 

The movements in each track range from fast-paced to joyous, profound, and outright toe-tapping rhythmic flute passages. Keeping that all in mind, you will not get any bombastic 6 to 8-minute-long tracks, the longest being “Wolf Unchained,” complete with the said wolf baying at the beginning and end of the track and clocking in at an economical 4:58. It is one of the best songs along with “The Navigators,” “Ithavoll,” and “Guardians Watch.” If anything, I was surprised by how quickly each track passed. That did not seem to matter; it made an impact and was completely enjoyable for this long-time fan.

 

Elements of Rok Flote reminded me of some of my favorite JT albums of the 70s (Warchild, Minstrel In The Gallery), particularly with the guitar passages. The flute, as usual, is outstanding and fits like a glove with the rest of the music, serving as the engine that drives this unstoppable locomotive of prog rock. This is one of the essential JT classics that should not be missed!

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-TFOV Founder

March 3, 2023


Tracks:

01. Voluspo

02. Ginnungagap

03. Allfather

04.The Feathered Consort

05. Hammer On Hammer

06. Wolf Unchained

07. The Perfect One

08. Trickster (And The Mistletoe)

09. Cornucopia

10. The Navigators

11. Guardian’s Watch

12. Ithavoll


Tuesday, March 15, 2022

New Jethro Tull Two-Volume Book ‘Spin Me Back Down The Years! A Comprehensive Guide to the History and Pre-History of One of the Greatest Rock Bands of the 1960’s, 70’s and Beyond!’ Now Available

Much to the excitement of Jethro Tull fans worldwide, a new two-volume book ‘Spin Me Back Down The Years! A Comprehensive Guide to the History and Pre-History of One of the Greatest Rock Bands of the 1960’s, 70’s and Beyond!’ written by Pat Kent is now available for pre-order!

As a lifelong Jethro Tull fan I was approached to consider writing a book about the band at a press conference for the dance group Pan’s People in 2014. The publisher at the time was looking for a book of around 200 pages. It didn’t take long to realise that would not be sufficient to tell the story of a band that was soon to span 50 productive years playing around the world and selling well in excess of 60 million records. The book has been a labour of love for the three of us, myself, Charlie Kenney and Erin Ward, dedicated to a band that has provided the soundtrack to our lives.” – Pat Kent, author

Book Editions

The books are unofficial documents containing a fan’s eye view of the history of the band looking at the contributions of the musicians as a collective. They also contain a compendium of memorabilia, photographs and a worldwide discography.

The history covers the pre-Tull days of Ian Anderson, Jeffrey Hammond, John Evans, Barrie Barlow and Glenn Cornick’s involvement in those early lineups in Blackpool of ‘The Blades’ and the 'John Evans Band' through Mick Abrahams and Clive Bunker’s time in and around Luton in ‘McGregor's Engine’; as well as chronicling Martin Barre’s progression through various bands and musical styles in ‘The Noblemen’, ‘The Motivation’, ‘The Penny Peeps’ and ‘Gethsemane’ before fate, chance, luck and talent brought them together in the eventual guise of ‘Jethro Tull’.

The book will be released in three editions, each containing two volumes. The standard edition will be available in hardback and paperback.

Volume One - ‘Spin me back down the years’ - a history of the band as recounted by Pat Kent with contributions from Charlie Kenney, Erin Ward and other fans who detail some of their recollections. Lengthy interviews with Martin Barre and Dee Palmer and further input from Peter John Vetesse, Don Airey, Eddie Jobson, Andy Giddings, Clive Bunker and more.


Volume Two - Volume Two - ‘The Boy Scout Manual’ - will contain, additional images of rare memorabilia, photographs, many previously unseen, selected from our own collections, as well as from renowned photographers across the years, including, Carl Dunn, Joe Astromowicz, Tom Holsclaw, Chris Fenger and Martin Webb. This volume will also incorporate biographies of some of the key members, and an insight into the post-Tull art work of Jeffrey Hammond along with a comprehensive look at the worldwide singles collection of Charlie Kenney along with other discographies and listings of filmed performances.

The Deluxe Edition

Same as above but it will come in a presentation box housing two 12”x12” volumes along with reproduction handbill, poster, passes and photographic memorabilia. The edition will also contain a vinyl pressing of an acetate belonging to Clive Bunker of a 1968 recording featuring ‘Clive Bunker & Friends’.

The editions are available for pre-order through Gonzo Multimedia via the online Music Glue website now: https://www.musicglue.com/jethro-tull-spin-me-back-down-the-years-by-pat-kent/

For more information:
https://www.spinmebackdowntheyears.com

The Jethro Tull Group

Together we created an online presence known as ‘The Jethro Tull Group’, currently with around 10,000 members on Facebook and other social media platforms. We also set about putting our collections of recorded works, videos and assorted memorabilia together under the group’s associated free online resource at ‘The Boy Scout Manual’. ‘The Jethro Tull Group’ are an independent fan operated group.
www.jethrotullgroup.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, Billy James, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, February 22, 2021

Book: Silent Singing By Ian Anderson

Silent Singing 

The complete collected lyrics with photographs by Ian Anderson

 
For the first time, Jethro Tull founder, singer, songwriter and photographer Ian Anderson has gathered together the complete lyrics from all of the Tull and solo albums in one volume. This deluxe hardback book is illustrated throughout with new, original and previously unpublished photographs taken by Ian to accompany certain lyrics.

Ian has combed through everything from This Was in 1968 to 2021, taking in all of his solo albums and tracks released only on box sets and compilations, to collate more than 300 song lyrics. After listening to original masters, checking notebooks and song sheets, Ian is confident that this book represents the complete, collected lyrics of his more than six decade-long career.

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Iconic Jethro Tull Guitarist Martin Barre Releases New Album Roads Less Travelled


Los Angeles - Martin Barre, best-known as guitarist in Jethro Tull - one of the biggest selling prog bands of all time, releases his new solo album Roads Less Travelled on Cleopatra Records on October 12, 2018.

Barre has developed his own distinctive style within the framework of Jethro Tull, and his instantly recognizable and original sound form the basis of this album. Roads Less Travelled features 11 original tracks by Barre, which reflect the last 50 years of his esteemed musical career.

Reflecting on the tracks & recording of the album, Barre says “I've concentrated on improving my songwriting over the last few years and as a result, I am really pleased with this new CD. Although my playing has a lot of space in the music, I've worked a lot harder on the arrangements and lyrics. My goal is to have a CD that keeps the listener from beginning to end. 'Roads Less Travelled' reflects my belief in taking music somewhere new.”

Barre's solo on Jethro Tull's 1971 hit “Aqualung” has been repeatedly voted as one of the top guitar solos of all time. Barre has been cited as an important influence by many virtuoso players, including Joe Bonamassa, Steve Vai & Jo Satriani and can count the likes of Mark Knopfler and Geddy Lee amongst his many fans.

Track Listing:
1. Lone Wolf
2. Out of Time
3. On My Way
4. Roads Less Travelled
5. Badcore Blues
6. Seattle
7. For No Man
8. (This Is) My Driving Song
9. You Are An Angel
10. Trinity
11. And The Band Played On

While all the songs showcase his exceptional electric guitar, acoustic guitar and mandolin playing, the Martin Barre Band also shine throughout. A long-time resident of Devon, Barre's band features several local musicians: Dan Crisp (vocals), Alan Thomson (bass/fretless bass), Darby Todd (drums), Becca Langsford (vocals/backing vocals), Josiah J (Percussion/Hammond), Aaron Graham (drums), Alex Hart (vocals/backing vocals) Buster Cottam (“stand up” bass).



About Martin Barre

Barre was the guitarist for rock band Jethro Tull from 1969 – 2012. Jethro Tull have sold an estimated 60 million albums worldwide, with 11 gold and 5 platinum albums among them and were described by Rolling Stone as “one of the most commercially successful progressive rock bands.” Barre appeared on all but their debut album during his 33 year stint with Tull and is the longest-serving member after Ian Anderson.

For four decades, Barre's career focused on Jethro Tull but in the 1990s Barre began to perform as a solo artist and has since released 7 solo studio albums. On these recordings, Barre combined rock and guitar-oriented fusion in his sound.

Martin's guitar playing has earned him a high level of respect and recognition; he was voted 25th best solo ever in the USA and 20th best solo ever in the UK for his playing on “Aqualung.” His playing on the album Crest of a Knave earned him a Grammy award in 1988.

In addition to his Jethro Tull and solo work, Martin has worked live with many other artists including: Paul McCartney, Phil Collins, Gary Moore, Jo Bonamassa and Chris Thompson and has shared a stage with such legends as Hendrix, Fleetwood Mac, Pink Floyd and Led Zeppelin.

To purchase:
Buy the CD: https://cleorecs.com/store/shop/martin-barre-roads-less-travelled-cd/
Buy the digital: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/roads-less-travelled/1436785912

Martin Barre's official website: www.Martinbarre.com

Press inquiries: 
Glass Onyon PR
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com


CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com
Facebook @Cleopatrarecords
https://www.facebook.com/CleopatraRecords/
Instagram @cleopatrarecords
https://www.instagram.com/cleopatrarecords/
Twitter @cleopatrarecord
https://twitter.com/cleopatrarecord ;
Youtube @Cleopatrarecords
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCopQ0616Fpfrq8Gt0N-0zOQ
Soundcloud @cleopatra-recs
https://soundcloud.com/cleopatra-recs
Dailymotion @Cleopatrarecords
https://www.dailymotion.com/CleopatraRecords
Vimeo @cleopatrarecords
https://vimeo.com/cleopatrarecords
Spotify  @cleopatra_recs
https://open.spotify.com/user/cleopatra_recs
Linkedin @cleopatra-records
https://www.linkedin.com/company/cleopatra-records

Saturday, November 11, 2017

EXCALIBUR IV - THE DARK AGE OF THE DRAGON The Rock Opera Album Feat. Members of Jethro Tull, Saga, Uriah Heep, Curved Air, Clannad, Supertramp and others! OUT NOW!


EXCALIBUR IV is the widely anticipated fourth NEW STUDIO ALBUM in the Celtic Rock Opera series, following on from the GOLD and PLATINUM selling original trilogy. EXCALIBUR IV was played live in its entirety to 12 ARENAS in Germany in December 2016 and will be touring again in 2018.

Released on Babaika Productions, via Cherry Red Records, the album features appearances by:
Alan Stivell
Michael Sadler (Saga)
Jesse Sibenberg & John Helliwell (Supertramp)
Martin Barre (Jethro Tull)
Moya Brennan (Clannad)
Roberto Tiranti (Labyrinth)
Bernie Shaw (Uriah Heep)
Siobham Owen
Sonja Kristina (Curved Air)
John Kelly (The Kelly Family)
Maite Itoiz (Elfhental)

Excalibur – the legendary rock opera is back!
After a thousand years of imprisonment, Merlin – the wizard – finally escapes from Morgana’s spell. Initially intrigued by the beauty of the new world that he returned to, he soon discovers the decay of knightly and sublime virtues, which once had been so bravely defended by King Arthur’s roundtable. An enraged Merlin casts his biggest spell over this world and brings the mighty dragon to life. A epic return of the legendary Celtic rock opera on to German stages, a new chapter in the saga around the sword Excalibur – this is “EXCALIBUR - The Dark Age Of The Dragon”.

A trailer for the album can be seen here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4rRmUpT3xs

Track List:

1. THE WINGS OF THE DRAGON
2. ALONE
3. STONEHENGE
4. I’M NOT THE ONLY ONE
5. CALLING FOR YOU
6. DON’T BE AFRAID
7. SILVER MOON
8. DREAMERS
9. THE LAST LAMENT OF A FAIRY
10. THE NEW TIMES
11. FORGET YOUR SORROW
12. THE FIFTH SEASON
13. THE PASSION
14. I WILL BE FOR EVER
15. BEHIND THE MIST
16. YOU DON’T KNOW
17. YOU ARE THE SUNSHINE
18. THERE IS SOMEONE
19. DUN AENGUS II

To purchase EXCALIBUR IV:
Amazon CD: http://geni.us/Excal4
iTunes: http://geni.us/Excal4dig

For more information:
Official Excalibur Facebook page: https://en-gb.facebook.com/Excalibur.The.Celtic.Rock.Opera/ ;
Alan Simon's official website: http://www.alansimononline.com/eng.html ;
Excalibur is represented by Daniel Earnshaw of QEDG Management DANIEL@QEDG.CO.UK
Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Photo by Christian Roch